We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“At home in Indiana” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Bloomington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“At home in Indiana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is our favorite place to stay when visiting our family in Bloomington. It's always very comfortable, extremely clean and a convenient location. The free breakfast is great - always a nice variety of choices. Linda and the rest of the staff are very welcoming and friendly - they just make you feel good about staying here. A great value!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank revtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
We sincerely appreciate your continued loyalty to our hotel, and thank you for sharing your experience with others. We were pleased to see how much you enjoy the hot breakfast in the morning, as well as the friendly and professional service that you encounter.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    60
    20
    10
    7
See reviews for
139
43
13
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We were in town for a NYE wedding! Our stay was wonderful! We had Great service, a very clean room, they served great food (both evening meal and breakfast.). We love the staff!!! We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 901Dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel when in town for a wedding over the New Year's holiday and for sharing your experience with others.
We were very pleased to see how much you enjoyed the accommodations as well as the service that you received.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed @ this property for one night. In town for a wedding. We had eaten dinner early the evening and I was looking forward to the hot breakfast. Got down to the breakfast area only to find the hostess sitting @ a table sleeping! There were two biscuits in the warmer that were as hard as a rock, the decaf coffee was ice cold (assuming it was brewed the day before), and they were out of the other coffee. There were about 8 guests in the area. Finally after a group of people walked in she got up, but by that time, we had to leave. i didn't want to wake her for fear of her being embarrassed. All in all the hotel was very clean, rooms were well appointed and the front desk staff very friendly. The free computer with internet was all "jacked up" and wouldn't work.. I would give it a 5, except for "sleeping beauty", and the non functioning "free" computer.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor. Very quiet., although the hotel didn't seem very full.
See more room tips
Green Features: Not sure what this statement means. We did recycle our towels
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bike1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
I would like to sincerely apologize for the recent experience you had at our Holiday Inn Express. We take our guest feedback very seriously, please be assured that the entire staff has read your comments, and that daily one on one training is taking place to ensure this type of incident is never repeated. We appreciate you noting that the hotel was very clean and comfortable and the staff very friendly.
We hope that you will consider staying with us again when you travel to the Bloomington area.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

This location along w/ Linda and the entire staff was VERY accommodating to my particular situation. It is a very well-kept facility, and the extra comps come in nicely when you are doing weekly travel, as I do. I was not wanton of anything. GREAT PLACE TO STAY!

Room Tip: Just check in and let these folks do the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you very much for choosing our Holiday Inn Express when in Bloomington recently for a week long stay, and for taking the time to share your experience with others. Linda and the entire staff were pleased to see how much you enjoyed your accommodations, the free hot breakfast in the morning, as well as the evening manager's reception.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granger, Indiana
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Check in was a breeze, they already had our keys assigned. We stayed on the 5th floor at the end with a Jacuzzi tub. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. Hubby used the tub he said it was nice. The only downfall we had was when someone above us used their tub when the water was filling it up it was quite loud. But of course that stopped when the tub was full.

Would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColieandJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments after your recent stay with us. We were very pleased to see that you enjoyed the easy check-in process, as well as the Jacuzzi tub in your suite. We hope to continue to be your hotel of choice in the Bloomington area.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

GREAT staff!! Clean rooms and located within walking distance to good restaurants; I recommend Texas Roadhouse and you can get a discount card at the front desk. Dee puts on an awesome breakfast- she was very helpful !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JENIFER757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments, and for sharing your recent experience at our Holiday Inn Express, Bloomington with others. Dee was very pleased to see that you enjoyed the free hot breakfast as well as the customer service that you received.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owensboro
Level Contributor
132 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Nice sized, Clean, Comfortable, 2 Queen bed room. We had a late arrival and the beds were wonderful. Also a positive comment for the house cleaning staff. I think this is the first time housekeeping did not knock at the door when the do not disturb sign was out. Made for a good nights sleep. Thanks !!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments, we were pleased to see that you found the hotel to be both clean and comfortable, and that you enjoyed a good night's sleep.
We hope to see you again very soon.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Bloomington
Holiday Inn Bloomington
#8 of 24 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington Indiana
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
#2 of 24 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington
1.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#6 of 24 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Bloomington
Comfort Inn Bloomington
#9 of 24 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bloomington

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bloomington
Address: 117 S Franklin Road, Bloomington, IN 47404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bloomington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#8 Family Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bloomington 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bloomington.The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is located just minutes from Indiana University and downtown Bloomington, Indiana. Travelers visiting the Bloomington Antique Mall, Convention Center, Lake Monroe, Brown County, Bloomington Sportsplex and Oliver Winery will all find the Holiday Inn Express an ideal location. Nearby businesses include Cook Inc., Otis Elevator, Bloomington Hospital, MPRI and Crane Naval Warfare Center. The award winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 102 rooms, including 32 suites and an exclusive Priorirty Club floor. Each room is equipped with microwave & refrigerator,32 inch flat screen television, coffeemaker, spacious guest bathrooms with granite counter tops, 400 thread count sheets and pillow-top mattresses and much, much more! Featured amenities include Express Start hot breakfast, complimentary Light Dinner (Monday - Thursday), private business center, fitness center, indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi rooms. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is the ideal choice for corporate travelers, families and Hoosier fans visiting Indiana University. Everything you expect, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Holiday Inn Bloomington
Bloomington Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing