We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultra friendly staff, clean, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Long weekend stay, very clean room. Refrigerator, microwave, sink, clean bathroom. Slight smoking odor in non smoking room was a bit of an inconvenience. Would stay here again. Breakfast was tasty and the hours were convenient. I enjoyed the fitness room and quick checkout was perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canter2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you very much for your kind comments, and for sharing your recent experience at our hotel with others. We were very pleased to see how much you enjoyed the free hot breakfast in the morning, the comfortable clean accommodations as well as the friendly service that you received. We hope to be your hotel of choice in the area.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Bloomington
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is a great value hotel. The lobby was very clean, professional, and up-to-date. We got a room that had a jacuzzi in it, and this was a great decision. The jacuzzi was very large and relaxing. Bath room was clean and well maintained. TV was nice and the cable reception quality was perfect. Breakfast was very good. It had a typical range of breakfast food. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boilerqwerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your glowing recommendation of our Holiday Inn Express in Bloomington, we sincerely appreciate you sharing your experience there with others. We were very happy to see how much you enjoyed the Jacuzzi suite, the breakfast in the morning as well as the service that you received. We hope to see you again very soon.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

As a parent of an IU Senior, I felt compelled to write this review in order to help out future parents. When we first visited Bloomington I was shocked at the rates that Bloomington hotels charge when there is anything going on, such as Parents' Weekend, Little 500 weekend, and graduation weekend - 2 to 3 times what they charge for a normal weekend. Many of them require a 2 or 3 night minimum, and they are full up to a year in advance.

We have stayed in several different hotels over the years while visiting our son, and this hotel has become our favorite for several reasons.

LOCATION - Although not on campus like some of the others, it's very easy to get to, and has ample parking. And there are occasions (Little 500 to be sure) when being on campus is not a benefit.

VALUE - Although expensive during certain times of the year, it still has proven to be cheaper than some of the other hotels. When we've been there at off times, it was very reasonable. Unlike some of the other hotels, we've only had to make non-refundable reservations once - for the upcoming graduation weekend. And although there's not a full sit down breakfast, the buffet they have is included, and is very good.

ROOMS - The rooms are very nice and big. Even with two queens and a sofa sleeper, there is plenty of space and we never feel crowded. I especially like that there is a refrigerator and small bar in the room. The housekeepers seem to do a pretty good job, but it could be better. I'm kind of a clean freak though, so I tend to be tough on that issue.

SERVICE - The staff are very kind and helpful. They have gone out of their way several times for us and that means a lot to me. When I've called, they're always extremely courteous and do whatever they can to help out. They've even called me to see if I need anything when I've had a late arrival.

Overall, I would say this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachlover1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you very much for your continued loyalty to our hotel as your child attended Indiana University- Congratulations to you and your family on the graduation!!! We were very pleased to see your comments, and to know that you have enjoyed the accommodations as well as the service that you have received over the last 4 years. We hope that should you travel to the area in the future, you will continue to stay with us.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Having stayed in many HI Express hotels over the years, I can say, with no reservations, that the Bloomington facility, conveniently located just off the Highway 37 ByPass, is one of the best of a chain that maintains pretty high standards. The staff is friendly and professional; the property is clean and well-maintained, inside and out; the rooms are spacious and well furnished; and the dining area is truly exceptional with its warm furnishings and high ceiling. Restaurants are within walking distance and downtown and the Indiana University campus us but an easy 5 to 10 minute drive. The breakfast is as good or better than any you'll find at an HI Express, on the occasions I was a guest, very decent light meals are served complimentary on week nights, including wine and beer. I was really stunned to see Stella Artois in the ice bucket !! Enjoy the great IH Express bedding !! Be sure to say hi to Linda, the night auditor.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delzville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your glowing comments of our hotel after your recent stay with us. We were so pleased to see how much you enjoy the accommodations, the free breakfast and Manager's Reception, as well as the customer service that you received. We look forward to your next visit.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/ Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is one of the nicest and cleanest hotels that I have stayed in. I would recommend it to anybody. Some people have called me a "hotel snob" because I am picky about where I stay. This gets the "thumbs up" from me. They keep it so nice and clean that it feels like it is brand new. The breakfast is great and the coffee is good too! Top Notch hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments, we sincerely appreciate you sharing your recent experience at our hotel with others.
We look forward to being your hotel of choice in the area.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I usually stay at HIE and this one stands out. They have a nice managers mingle at night with free food and drinks. Plus they refunded me a night since I ended up leaving early even though I prepaid. This hotel is right by the highway and only 5 min drive from downtown Bloomington. Will stay here again when I come back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ziltacular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you very much for your kind comments, we were pleased to see how much you enjoyed our hotel location, the accommodations as well as the complimentary Manager's Reception in the evenings. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

When I travel, I don't intend to spend all that much time in my hotel room. It should be a relaxing space to come back to at the end of the day where you can get a good night sleep and recharge. That is exactly what I got out of this hotel. The staff was friendly and inviting the second we walked in the door. The hotel itself looks newly decorated, was incredibly clean, had a FABULOUS shower (seriously, I would stay there again just for the shower), and comfortable beds. The walls were thick enough that I didn't hear traffic or other guests. The free internet was fast, and the complimentary breakfast was good. I would stay here again in a heartbeat, and will definitely recommend it to anyone needing a hotel in Bloomington!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meghan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

We were so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay, from the service that you received to the shower that you enjoyed after a long day. We thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel with others, and look forward to your next visit.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington Indiana
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
#4 of 24 in Bloomington
620 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Bloomington
Holiday Inn Bloomington
#8 of 24 in Bloomington
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington
1.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#1 of 24 in Bloomington
238 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Bloomington
Comfort Inn Bloomington
#9 of 24 in Bloomington
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bloomington

Address: 117 S Franklin Rd, Bloomington, IN 47404-5296
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bloomington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#8 Family Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range: £100 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bloomington 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bloomington.The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is located just minutes from Indiana University and downtown Bloomington, Indiana. Travelers visiting the Bloomington Antique Mall, Convention Center, Lake Monroe, Brown County, Bloomington Sportsplex and Oliver Winery will all find the Holiday Inn Express an ideal location. Nearby businesses include Cook Inc., Otis Elevator, Bloomington Hospital, MPRI and Crane Naval Warfare Center. The award winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 102 rooms, including 32 suites and an exclusive Priorirty Club floor. Each room is equipped with microwave & refrigerator,32 inch flat screen television, coffeemaker, spacious guest bathrooms with granite counter tops, 400 thread count sheets and pillow-top mattresses and much, much more! Featured amenities include Express Start hot breakfast, complimentary Light Dinner (Monday - Thursday), private business center, fitness center, indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi rooms. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is the ideal choice for corporate travelers, families and Hoosier fans visiting Indiana University. Everything you expect, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Holiday Inn Bloomington
Bloomington Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing