We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great staff!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We spent three nights here for our family reunion recently and the hotel could not have been more accommodating. The staff was friendly, helpful, and always available. The rooms were well accented and comfortable. The hotel's breakfast offerings were some of the best quality we've had for a mid priced budget chain. I would recommend this hotel again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the parking area are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JefffromSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for selecting our hotel when in town for a family reunion, we sincerely appreciate your sharing your experience at our hotel with others. We were very pleased to see how much you enjoyed the stay, and hope to see you again very soon.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    64
    20
    10
    7
See reviews for
147
43
15
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pataskala, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Normally stay at another brand of inn, butthis Holiday Inn Express was more convient and at a good price. Room was super clean and had a fresh scent. Had no problem with noise. Staff very friendly. Breakfast were excellent. Breakfast area was always very clean Food was plentiful, fresh, and hot. Pat S. did a fantastic job of managing the entire breakfast area by herself.

Room Tip: Even room 206 near the elevators was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack_Lyon15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you very much for your glowing comments, in particular your mention of the service received from Pat in the breakfast area. We were happy to see how much you enjoyed your stay, and hope that you will always choose the Holiday Inn Express brand for your future stays.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Very friendly staff who did everything possible to make our stay excellent. I was very impressed by "Alexis," who was helpful and friendly to everyone!

I stayed for four nights at this location, while I was visiting for a family reunion. The location provided easy access to the highway, and there were many shops and restaurants in the area.

I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a clean, comfortable, and convenient place to stay in Bloomington!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
It was very rewarding to read your comments after your recent four night stay with us, in particular your comments regarding the service that you received. We strive to exceed our guest's expectations, we were pleased to see that we did that during your stay. We hope to see you again very soon.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped here overnight on our way somewhere. The room was clean (decor a bit outdated). We had a microwave, coffee maker, and mini fridge. The hotel has a pool and a small fitness center. The fitness center had everything you need for a basic workout but was a bit messy and needed some housekeeping. The hotel offers a hot breakfast, eggs, potatoes, toast, pastries, coffee, juices, cereal and more. Overall it was a pleasant stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cynthia101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
We were very pleased to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found everything that you were looking for from the free hot breakfast, to the indoor pool and fitness center. We thank you for sharing your recent experience there with others.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We spent one very comfortable, quiet night here while visiting our daughter. The room appeared to be recently and quite tastefully decorated; the king-sized bed was super-comfortable and the black-out curtains insured that the parking lot lights did not bother us. Clean, friendly and the person at the front desk was welcoming and pleasant. We will be back in Bloomington later this month and we've already made a reservation to stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zana17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
How pleased we were to see that you have already made future reservations at our hotel, we sincerely appreciate your loyalty. We thank you very much for your comments, and for sharing your experience at our hotel with others. See you again soon!!

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage,Indiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel 7/2/2014 through 7/3/2014 for IU college orientation. The hotel was very accomodating for our late check in. The front desk staff was very helpful, signing us up for IHG honors on the spot. The rooms were very clean, well stocked and there were no issues that we found.

Our only knock was the incredibly bright parking lot lights (I guess they have to put them somewhere!) that shined in our window all night. My wife took some exception to odd placement of the jacuzzi (directly across from the bed, with no wall or divider to provide privacy). Other than that, we had a restful night sleep, and typical, yet fresh, hotel breakfast.

We'd definitely stay here for our future trips to IU!

Room Tip: Room 220 has a jacuzzi, as long as you don't need privacy to use it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtuomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your orientation stay. We were very pleased to see how much you enjoyed your stay and happy to see that you are now IHG rewards members. We hope to be your hotel of choice during the next four years.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We recently took our teen-age kids to Holiday Inn Express. We typically stay there every time we come to Bloomington - great location, friendly and helpful service, hot breakfast and evening wine and food, and a nice pool and hot tub. But on this trip, I rode the elevator with a maid and found out something wonderful about this hotel I never knew. I told the maid we really appreciated everything all of the staff did to make this a lovely stay, and in our conversation she mentioned that this hotel is more detail-oriented than anywhere else she had worked as a maid, because at Holiday Inn Express they have to lift up the mattresses and dust between them and the box springs! Wow! As someone with a lot of allergies, this was welcome news! Thanks, service staff!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor, just extra-quiet up there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fun4Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments, we were very happy to see how pleased you were with the housekeeping procedures at our hotel. We strive to provide clean, comfortable accommodations and service that exceeds our guest's expectations. We hope to see you again very soon.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Bloomington
Holiday Inn Bloomington
#8 of 24 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington Indiana
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
#2 of 24 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#6 of 24 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Bloomington
Comfort Inn Bloomington
#9 of 24 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bloomington

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bloomington
Address: 117 S Franklin Rd, Bloomington, IN 47404-5296
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bloomington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#8 Family Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bloomington 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bloomington.The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is located just minutes from Indiana University and downtown Bloomington, Indiana. Travelers visiting the Bloomington Antique Mall, Convention Center, Lake Monroe, Brown County, Bloomington Sportsplex and Oliver Winery will all find the Holiday Inn Express an ideal location. Nearby businesses include Cook Inc., Otis Elevator, Bloomington Hospital, MPRI and Crane Naval Warfare Center. The award winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 102 rooms, including 32 suites and an exclusive Priorirty Club floor. Each room is equipped with microwave & refrigerator,32 inch flat screen television, coffeemaker, spacious guest bathrooms with granite counter tops, 400 thread count sheets and pillow-top mattresses and much, much more! Featured amenities include Express Start hot breakfast, complimentary Light Dinner (Monday - Thursday), private business center, fitness center, indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi rooms. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is the ideal choice for corporate travelers, families and Hoosier fans visiting Indiana University. Everything you expect, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Holiday Inn Bloomington
Bloomington Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing