We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and outstanding location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Outstanding service from an exceptionally friendly and gracious staff. We had problems with the TV which didn't work correctly, but they went to all lengths to fix it and make us happy. Good food, good fitness room. Great location right on the downtown square in Bloomington, a wonderful town in which to live and to visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Dawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeCampbell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We were happy to hear you had such a great time in Bloomington! Our whole team strives to be friendly and helpful and I'm glad to see your experience was a good one. We look forward to your next visit!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 668 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We were there for auditions at the Jacobs School at IU. Arrived during a snow storm so dining options for dinner were limited. The hotel restaurant is mediocre, mostly fried food. Breakfast was served in the same place but with one missing wait staff member, tables were not cleaned, service was awful and food terrible. Day 2, we called for room service: no answer. Called the front desk for 30 minutes - NO ANSWER! For 30 minutes! The same day, housekeeping barged into the room at 9 am without shouting out "housekeeping" ahead of time - i was in the shower!! Upon departure for the day at 11 am, I told the cleaner we were going for the day if she wanted to clean the room. Upon our return at 6 pm the room had not been cleaned. I called the front desk to say we were going to dinner, so please service the room, give us towels and especially toilet paper. Imagine my frustration upon our return at 9 to find no toilet paper! And since the room hadn't really been serviced there was no coffee or tea for our next day. To give good points: staff was very friendly and they let us checkout at 2 pm on our last day since our audition was late in the day. I would definitely not stay there again though and cannot recommend it. In general, just overall sloppy service.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank lmandm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeCampbell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for writing. We clearly blew it that day and you were "front and center" to witness it. I am sorry. We dissappointed you several times during your visit from what you've described. The snow storm did result in a few of our associates not being able to come in as scheduled and that clearly had a impact on our guests and your stay in particular. We should have handled it better. I have had a chance to speak with our restaurant manager and our housekeeping manager since your stay to find out where the breakdowns occurred and how we can keep this from happening again. We would like the opportunity to make it right and hope you will give us another chance at some point in the future to show that this was the exception and not the norm. This is not what we expect of ourselves and clearly not what our guests should expect. Bloomington is a great college town and we hope this event during the storm doesn't keep you from returning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This HGI was recently refreshed, and it shows. All the common areas are nice and well-maintained, and the room furnishings are in great shape. The location cannot be beat, with many shops in restaurants within a couple blocks in downtown Bloomington. Technically, the campus is within walking distance, too, but not in the sub-zero, icy temperatures that I experienced.

I stayed with the bed & breakfast package for just a few dollars more than the standard rate, and it was well worth it—the combination cooked-to-order hot food & cold buffet in attached Coaches restaurant was fast and excellent. I also ordered room service for dinner one night, and was very impressed with both the quality and the low cost (same costs as dining in at the restaurant itself, with only a minimal delivery charge).

Parking was $6 per night, which seemed reasonable given the downtown location. I appreciated the ease of using the in-and-out privileges. I didn't use the fitness facilities, but they appeared to be clean and well-maintained.

All-in-all, it was a very solid stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeCampbell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel! We were happy to hear you found our staff friendly and helpful and the facilities clean and comfortable. We are very excited about the new look that we have due to the recent renovation of our lobby, guest rooms, and public areas. The new lobby really has opened up the area and allows for so much more potential for gathering the group or enjoying a drink. We are glad you stayed with us and we hope to see you again very soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The staff was so nice and helpful. They left a small welcome package for us which we found after returning to the hotel from dinner. Inside there was a handwritten note. I had not slept well that night as I had been driving for 10 hours. When I asked for a late checkout because of that they were so concerned that there might have been a problem with the room or bed.They accommodated my request with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeCampbell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for rating us so highly! We love being a part of downtown Bloomington and we hope you enjoyed your visit to town. It was our pleasure taking care of you and we hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

While this is the nicest hotel in Bloomington, IN, it is is dire need of attention. The staff is friendly but the property is beginning to show it's age an wear. Great location to downtown restaurants and the University.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeCampbell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Thank you for taking time to review our property. I was glad to see you ranked our service staff as friendly and helpful as well as rating us as the best hotel in Bloomington and we'll work hard to keep this the same. We are very excited to tell you that we just completed a complete renovation of all our guestrooms, lobby, meeting rooms and public areas! All our rooms now feature a completely new look and feel. The lobby space has been doubled and has a much more contemporary feel with mulitiple seating areas. We would love to have you back with us again soon to see the changes we've made!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My husband and I recently attended an IU basketball game in Bloomington, IN and did an overnight at HGI. Couldn't ask for a more enjoyable stay. Great location; beautiful, spotless hotel; awesome staff! Can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeCampbell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for your encouraging words! We appreicate you taking the time to review our hotel. We love being a part of downtown Bloomington and we're glad your visit was both comfortable and enjoyable. We are looking forward to your next visit. Go Hoosiers!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We were attending a wedding and one of the recommended hotels was this one. At check-in I asked if there was a King room available. Since there had been some cancellations due to the weather, there was and we were given it at the same rate. However the room key was not properly programmed so when we got to the room it didn't work. However, the front desk staff quickly reprogrammed it. Later that evening we found a handwritten note of apology and a coupon for breakfast for two because of our inconvenience. We think that was exceptional service. The hotel is undergoing some renovation, but we didn't find any issues with it. The bar/restaurant also had good service. We would stay there again and recommend it to anyone visiting the city. It is also close to shops and other restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Inreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeCampbell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for reviewing our hotel! We are happy to see you found our facilities clean and our staff friendly and helpful. We strive to ensure that any issues that might arise are resolved before a guest is ever impacted. It was good to hear that you felt the staff handled the issue well. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington Indiana
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#1 of 24 in Bloomington
314 reviews
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Bloomington
Courtyard Bloomington
#14 of 24 in Bloomington
240 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Bloomington
Hampton Inn Bloomington
#10 of 24 in Bloomington
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington

Address: 245 N College Ave, Bloomington, IN 47404-3949
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bloomington
#3 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#6 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range: £86 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington is located in the heart of downtown, within walking distance to a variety of boutiques and shops, and just a short drive to Lake Monroe, Brown County State Park, and Nashville Indiana - a historic artist colony. It is also perfect for parents visiting Indiana University. Guest rooms offer complimentary high-speed Internet Access, large work stations, marble bathrooms, and flat screen TVs. The property also features pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Hilton Bloomington
Bloomington Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing