We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2012

I recently stayed at the Four Winds for the third time over a weekend with family. The moment I walked in, the pleasant and friendly staff started my stay off right! I booked the deluxe suite and we took full advantage of the great amenities. Like always, our room was spotless, and fully supplied. Since there were a few of us staying in the suite, I had to ask for a few extra towels, dishes, and silverware. A quick call to the front desk solved that issue, and they promptly delivered everything to the room. The renovations just keep getting better and better, and management is still doing a top notch job. This is such a great place for a family getaway year round!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Candice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, Manager at Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

We are so happy that you returned and enjoyed another great stay. It is our goal to offer consistency each time you visit us. Likewise, we hope our unique features such as our location on the shores of beautiful Lake Monroe, our completely renovated rooms, the new deluxe suites(the largest in Bloomington), our amenities such as boat rentals, 2 full-service restaurants, private beach, marina promenade, and mini-golf will bring you and your family back season after season.

Thanks again for your stay and we look forward to your return.

Michael Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (797)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

792 - 797 of 797 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2012

What a place to go to experience true customer service, stayed here this last weekend and was greeted with a warm sincere smile the moment we walked in the door. Loved the brand new rooms and the newly renovated pool. The rooms were very spacious comparing to most hotel rooms with an incredible view of Lake Monroe. It was so nice to walk through the halls and be greeted by the hotel employees as most hotels do not even acknowledge you as a guest. We will definitely stay at Fourwinds in the future. Would love to return in the summer to enjoy their outdoor entertainment.

Room Tip: Definitely get a lakeside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug T, Public Relations Manager at Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

On behalf of myself, and our team, we thank you for your kind works and great review. We have undergone a major renovation and in the future we will still be adding more new and exciting things to the resort. We look forward to your return where I promise you will continue to great service and a wonderful experience. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

After numerous stays at the Four Winds, we put up with dirty rooms, foul odors and horrible food because it's the only place to stay if you're boating on the lake all weekend. The hotel has undergone a nice renovation, which made us feel excited things were finally looking up. Instead, we stayed in a renovated room and had items stolen from our luggage while we were down unloading our boat. My Kindle, cover, light and charger were stolen from our LOCKED room. I wasn't surprised when staff told me that no one had turned it in. The person who stole it then had the nerve to access my account and deregister it from my account so they could register it to their own. Amazon has now turned it into a useless piece of plastic, so the thief still loses in the end... But the staff and management's lack of concern about the issue made me realize you can out lipstick on a pig and it's still a pig. The Four Winds is still plagued by terrible management and service. Beware.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Queeniekel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fourwindsresort, Director of Sales at Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

The management and entire team at Fourwinds Resort and Marina are very disappointed that you had problems during your stay. We have been, and are continuing to, renovate our beautiful lakeside resort to bring a more upscale experience to our guests. We deeply apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We use extensive measures to ensure the safety and security of our guests and guest rooms. The moment any problem or concern regarding security or any breach thereof is brought to our attention, it is taken very seriously and investigated to the fullest extent by upper management. Our records can track access to guest rooms and the system is very secure. We encourage you to contact us immediately if this matter was not fully settled. The safety and comfort of our guests is our top priority. Management is very appreciative of the feedback you have given because it allows us to enhance our guest experience and grow as a team. We hope that you will return to the Fourwinds in the future and allow us to demonstrate our commitment to excellence in service.

Sincerely,
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Stayed here late Sept while visiting son at IU. Booked their top deluxe suite with fireplace/full kitchen. Concerns: very minimally outfitted. Nice looking but cheap uncomfortable furniture. Fireplace appeared to have no controls/front desk did not know how to work it or if it worked at all. For a unit that sleeps 4-kitchen only had 3 of everything - 3 glasses, mugs, etc. NO kitchen linens papertowel/hot pads. Front desk staff said we were to use the 3 towels in the bath for the kitchen as well. Bath walls paper thin-can hear EVERYTHING from rooms above/ below. Had lakeview - very lovely but did not distract from dirty toilet and dust on everything - you could write your name in. daily housekeeping consists of them taking out the dirty towels and replacing with new. Bedding for sofa bed was dirty and stained - like someone "used" it and housekeeping just re-folded it and put it back in the bag. No visible FIRE/Smoke alarms or sprinkler system in either of the two sleeping areas inside the unit. Front desk staff did not know why - just said if there is a fire, there are alarms in the hallway. Balcony has lovely view of the lake but IS NOT private - has half partitions on either end so BE Sure to lock your slider as anyone could go right under the partition and enter any number of units while you are away.
We paid their TOP price even though hotel was barely filled that weekend and no special IU events or games going on. Pool is outdoor/cool concept - but the heater was broken the entire time so no one would use it. Overall, felt like they are bankrolling future renovations with overly high prices they are charging for what they offer now. Cleanliness and safety should be their first priorities. Friendly front desk staff but didn't seem to be anyone who knew the answers to any of these concerns. The reply was always" that's the way THEY have it for now." whoever THEY are. Fantastic potential and beautiful reno so far but they need to pull it together before we could ever recommend at this price. $379.00 a night.

Room Tip: Choose a lakeside view room. The "garden view" is a view of an old parking lot with cars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonevoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fourwindsresort, Director of Sales at Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

On behalf of Management and the entire team at Fourwinds, I apologize that your stay was less than expected. We have been, and are continuing to, renovate our facility and strive to offer our guests the very best experience. All comments and concerns are read and taken very seriously by Management. Idenitfying and correcting areas in which our service is less than absolutely perfect is always a priority. When concerns are brought to our attention, our staff is trained to go above and beyond to make it right. Additional utensils could have been gladly delivered directly to your door by calling the front desk from your room phone. In response to your comments on cleanliness, we are glad to have this brought to our attention. Cleanliness of our guest rooms is of the utmost importance to us. Due to the renovations, dust is an issue that should have been better controlled and we do apologize.We are very appreciative of your feedback and also your understanding in allowing us the opportunity to fix any issues when they occur. Part of the beauty of Fourwinds Resort and Marina is that we are not a "chain hotel"! We hope that you will return to the Fourwinds in the future and allow us to demonstrate our commitment and ability to be the best "stay-cation destination."

Best Wishes,
Fourwinds Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank srbsmn80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony S, General Manager at Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank TNY79800811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony S, General Manager at Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
11 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#1 of 24 in Bloomington
316 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington Indiana
10.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
#4 of 24 in Bloomington
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington
12.4 mi away
Cascades Inn
Cascades Inn
#17 of 24 in Bloomington
48 reviews
12 mi away
Comfort Inn Bloomington
Comfort Inn Bloomington
#9 of 24 in Bloomington
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina

Address: 9301 S Fairfax Rd, Lake Monroe, Bloomington, IN 47401-8962
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bloomington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#5 Business Hotel in Bloomington
#6 Family Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range: £71 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina, located on beautiful Lake Monroe, in the Fairfax State Recreation Area, Bloomington, Indana, offers a year-round, lakeside get-away, for families, business travelers, groups, and visitors to Southern Indiana. Just 15 minutes from the Bloomington business district and Indiana University, Fourwinds is a wonderful alternative, to a more "traditional" hotel experience. Breathtaking lake views from most rooms, with walk-out patios and balconies, in a relaxed setting. The Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina will be your favorite "Staycation Destination". Boat Rentals, transient slips, Corporate Meeting space, Wedding Venues, an indoor/outdoor heated pool, mini-golf and hiking trails are just a few of the amenities that await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fourwinds Resort And Marina Hotel Bloomington
Fourwinds Hotel Bloomington
Fourwinds Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing