We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort & Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Canton, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Resort & Retreat”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Beautiful facility in state park on all sports Lake Monroe. Just a short drive south of Bloomington the Four Winds has all facilties for entertaining your family at an affordable price. Our family brought our boat and dog and enjoyed boating, fishing, beach swimming, hanging out at the pool, and dining in the bar and restaurant. Biking, hiking, and nature are at the door step. The staff very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 700KAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug T, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing.
Your great review is shared with all our staff and they appreciate your kind words too.

The FourWinds Resort and Marina is the "only" Bloomington accommodations with so many great amenities that you mentioned

Safe travels to you and your family and we look forward to your return when you visit Bloomington again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    139
    53
    25
    22
See reviews for
293
175
14
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Our children were in town for a football game, and we needed a place for them to stay. We live very close to the Marina and it was a very convenient drive for them. The hotel has undergone a total renovation, and the place is beautiful. The rooms are well done and updated and were extremely clean. The bedding was very, very comfortable. The staff was welcoming and friendly. The grounds are beautiful, and the lake view from the very large balcony was stunning. I cannot say enough nice things about the stay. We will definitely use the Fourwinds Resort over and over again!

Room Tip: Spend the few extra dollars for the lake view room (it is well worth it)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juj61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug T, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
We agree with you....FourWinds is a wonderful place to stay. Thank you very much for the kind words.

As you mentioned we have completely renovated, your review and most all others also are appreciating the change. We are not perfect so if there is anything we can do on any stay with us please let us know.

Safe travels to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We were in Bloomington for an IU Basketball game. It was a bit of a drive, but the online special was too tempting to pass up! We arrived very late, but had no trouble checking in. The lobby is gorgeous, our room was immaculate with an outstanding view overlooking the marina. The pool was one of the best hotel pools we have encountered. We are planning a return trip in the summer to take advantage of the lake and boat rentals, but I highly recommend a fall or winter trip!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iugirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug T, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review, we sincerely appreciate it.

Your kind words and positive feedback on the resort is also appreciated. In the summer the water activities are great and we look forward to your return. We are very glad you enjoyed our indoor heated pool while the weather is cold.

We will try and earn your business each and every time you visit. If there is ever anything we can do to improve your next stay please don’t hesitate to ask.

Safe travels to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2013

My family and i recently stayed in Bloomington for a look at IU for our oldest daughter. My husband loves the water so we gave this lakeside property a try.
The staff was wonderfula and the checkin girl was very helpful. Unfortunately the weather was not very conudive for much outside but the indoor pool is beautiful and has fabulous views of the lake.
The rooms are all new and really nice, we got a great deal for a hotel this nice. They are running a winter special that I would recomend to everybody. It only took ten minutes to get to downtown bloomington from the resort.
We did not eat in the restaurants but we did have breakfast and it was a good value with a very nice selection.
We did not get a lakeside room but if we come back (if my daughter goes to IU) then we will get lakeside accomodations, the views are really spectacularI.
I would reccomend this hotel and it would be amazing in the summer.

Room Tip: Get a lakeside room for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alice h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug T, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review, we sincerely appreciate it.

Your kind words and positive feedback on the resort is also appreciated.

We will try and earn your business each and every time you visit. If there is ever anything we can do to improve your next stay please don’t hesitate to ask.

Safe travels to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelbyville, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I guess this place had a poor reputation a while back, but when I visited the desk staff informed me they were under new management and had undertaken a slew of improvements at the resort, and it definitely shows. The rooms featuring unique, naturalistic designs that I've never seen in a hotel before. The ground level rooms had sliding doors that open onto patio areas where you can look out over the lake, which would be fantastic in the summer. We were here during the winter, but it was still a very pleasant stay. The off season price is unbeatable for such a nice hotel. It was a great place to stay for a couple of days while we were visiting nearby Bloomington. Everything was very clean, and the staff members were friendly and helpful. I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jdclark42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug T, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you very much for your great review.
The resort has been around since the 70’s and it had gotten very tired.
A complete renovation was done recently and this is what you are enjoying.
The FourWinds does offer a very unique experience not found anywhere in Bloomington with all the amenities the property has to offer.
Safe travels to you and your family and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Delaware
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Nice people, beautiful views, fun activities for the kids & relaxing. You can enjoys a fun filled day on the lake or a relaxing afternoon on the beach or by the beautifully remolded pool. The waterfalls on the property also add to its charm.

Room Tip: The lake side rooms have beautiful views and overlook the propery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug T, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing.
Your great review is shared with all our staff and they appreciate your kind words too.
We are very glad you had a wonderful stay and using our property for your accommodations.
We are the only property with so many amenities in the Bloomington area including of course our beach, all located on the shores of beautiful Lake Monroe.
Safe travels to you and your family and we look forward to your return when you visit Bloomington again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

After a long, busy weekend at IU family weekend, it was nice coming back to a clean room at the Fourwinds resort. The service ladies at the front desk, who I think were Kelsey and Sarah, were very pleasant, which is a rarity in Bloomington hotels, and were more than happy to help us with anything we needed. Kathy was also very helpful and pleasant when I asked her for towels for my husband and I. I will definitely be planning another stay the next time we visit our daughter.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous12343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug T, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing.
Your great review is shared with all our staff and they appreciate your kind words too.
We are very glad you had a wonderful weekend with IU and using our property for your accommodations.
Safe travels to you and your family and we look forward to your return when you visit Bloomington again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloomington
10.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington Indiana
10.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
#4 of 24 in Bloomington
610 reviews
18.0 mi away
Brown County Inn
Brown County Inn
#2 of 7 in Nashville
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington
11.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#1 of 24 in Bloomington
219 reviews
12.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Bloomington
Comfort Inn Bloomington
#9 of 24 in Bloomington
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina

Property: Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina
Address: 9301 S Fairfax Rd, Lake Monroe, Bloomington, IN 47401-8962
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#5 Business Hotel in Bloomington
#6 Family Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina, located on beautiful Lake Monroe, in the Fairfax State Recreation Area, Bloomington, Indana, offers a year-round, lakeside get-away, for families, business travelers, groups, and visitors to Southern Indiana. Just 15 minutes from the Bloomington business district and Indiana University, Fourwinds is a wonderful alternative, to a more "traditional" hotel experience. Breathtaking lake views from most rooms, with walk-out patios and balconies, in a relaxed setting. The Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina will be your favorite "Staycation Destination". Boat Rentals, transient slips, Corporate Meeting space, Wedding Venues, an indoor/outdoor heated pool, mini-golf and hiking trails are just a few of the amenities that await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fourwinds Resort And Marina Hotel Bloomington
Fourwinds Hotel Bloomington
Fourwinds Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing