We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Trip To Lake Monroe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Winter Trip To Lake Monroe”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Wonderful, quite, winter experience. Winter time is beautiful at Lake Monroe, Sitting on my balcony watching the birds and even an eagle fly by, almost a surreal experience. The rooms were very clean, bed were comfortable, staff was excellent.
It was a nice chance to get away from the hustle and bustle of life.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug T, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a great review.
FourWinds is the only “Resort” in Bloomington and the views over Lake Monroe are wonderful as you stated.
We do participate in an event called Eagle watch and it is amazing. Each year the state and FourWinds put on the event and eagle watching is done with the help of both organizations. Check it out and I am sure you will enjoy it.
We do thank you for staying with us and look forward to your return.
Safe travels to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    137
    51
    25
    19
See reviews for
280
166
14
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leo, IN
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

It is a great resort with friendly and courteous employees. The restaurants had good food reasonably priced and gracious servers and host. We went in mid October, so the beach was deserted and that made the parking lot a wonderful runway for powered paragliding. Monroe lake is huge and beautiful in the evening and gorgeous in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indiana_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug T, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a great review.
FourWinds is the only “Resort” in Bloomington and the views over Lake Monroe are wonderful as you stated.
Chef Paul is doing a fabulous job at both our restaurants and he will appreciate hearing your comments.
We do thank you for staying with us and look forward to your return.
The lake is a wonderful place for paragliding and we look forward to seeing you do this again. We of course have all types of boats to rent including jet skis, ski boats, party boats with slides, fishing boats and many more.
Safe travels to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We held our company Christmas Party at Four Winds in December and we had an amazing time. Mecca Walker helped coordinate the event and she truly did a wonderful job balancing our requests- the food was delicious, the resort and staff was welcoming and the view was beautiful. This was the best party we have had in several years! Everyone was very pleased. The ballroom is the perfect size- everyone was able to sit for dinner and mingle through the night.

Though Four Winds is minutes from my home, I felt like I was on vacation at a far away resort. The hotel is beautiful, clean and cozy. I can't wait to bring my family back this summer and enjoy the lake!

Room Tip: I would choose a lake view room on the 2nd floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesxann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug T, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a great review.
FourWinds is the only “Resort” in Bloomington and the views over Lake Monroe are wonderful as you stated.
Chef Paul is doing a fabulous job at both our restaurants and he will appreciate hearing your comments.
We do thank you for staying with us and look forward to your return with your family this summer. We have so much to offer with boat rentals, tennis, nature trails, golf and just so much fun with all the lake activities.
Safe travels to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I recently attended a Christmas party at the Fourwinds and it was nothing like I had anticipated. The rooms were beautiful! They were very spacious and the beds were very comfortable. And even though I stayed in the middle of December, the view of the lake was still outstanding. The wonderful kitchen staff, led by head chef Mr. Poor served us a delicious full course meal and the lovely bar manager kept us happy with tasty drinks all night. I will definitely be coming back to stay again!!

Room Tip: Choose a lake side suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug T, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a great review.
FourWinds is the only “Resort” in Bloomington and the views over Lake Monroe are wonderful as you stated.
Chef Paul is doing a fabulous job at both our restaurants and he will appreciate hearing your comments.
We do thank you for staying with us and look forward to your return.
Safe travels to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

I came to the fourwinds to celebrate the new year. I had such an amazing time. the food was amazing. The music was really good. it was such a good time. Mecca did a great job keeping everything running smoothly. I will definitely be visiting the fourwinds a lot more in 2014. You guys seriously know how to take care of your guests! Keep up your hard work! You guys rocked it tonight!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug T, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Thank you very much for bringing in the New Year at the FourWinds. We did plan a big party and it appears all did have a lot of fun.
We do appreciate you recognizing the hard work our associates are doing. Nobody is perfect but we will continue to try.
We very much look forward to your return and if there is anything we can do to improve your next stay please do not hesitate to ask.
Safe travels and happy New Year!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This was our first stay at Fourwinds Resort & Marina. I had never heard of the resort prior to this stay. I had bid on a free one-night stay as part of a silent auction for the Tri-State MS Association and all I can say is that I am glad I won that night's stay....what a fabulous resort. We definitely will return and tell others about it! From the greeting when we entered the hotel all the way through to check out we felt so welcomed. The room was very spacious and clean and the view of the lake was so beautiful. We also visited the Windjammer Bar & Grill which is located inside the hotel. The bartenders were fantastic and whipped up some wonderful signature drinks for us! Rosemary, our bartender, truly went above and beyond, we felt like family during our stay. You must try the pizza at Windjammer it was fabulous. They use REAL parmesean cheese! Our entire stay was excellent and we would return over and over again.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a lakeside room, it would be worth the additional cost. The view is absolutely br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginislandchick23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug T, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Wow…that is great you bid on us for a great cause and had a great time.
Thank you very much for the kind words and wonderful review. We will be sure to share this with our staff.
Our promise to you is; we will meet or exceed your expectations on any future returns and we hope to see you soon.
All the best to you and your family and we hope your travels are safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marthasville, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My wife and I have stay at Fourwinds three or four times a year on those occasions when we visit our grandchildren who live nearby. The biggest plus for us is the location on a lake in a park. Beautiful views. The facilities themselves are very nice, the staff is excellent. The one time our room heater needed some attention the maintenance people were very prompt and efficient. We eaten in then grill on two occasions and then food was quite good.

Room Tip: The rooms over looking the lake are worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug T, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Thank you very much for the great review of our resort.
We really do appreciate your loyalty to our property when you visit your grandchildren.
We will continue to make the FourWinds a great value and wonderful resort for you to enjoy on your returns.
Safe travels to you and your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloomington
10.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington Indiana
10.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
#3 of 24 in Bloomington
598 reviews
10.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#5 of 24 in Bloomington
203 reviews
18.0 mi away
Brown County Inn
Brown County Inn
#2 of 7 in Nashville
337 reviews
12.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Bloomington
Holiday Inn Bloomington
#8 of 24 in Bloomington
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina

Property: Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina
Address: 9301 S Fairfax Rd, Lake Monroe, Bloomington, IN 47401-8962
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#5 Business Hotel in Bloomington
#6 Family Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina, located on beautiful Lake Monroe, in the Fairfax State Recreation Area, Bloomington, Indana, offers a year-round, lakeside get-away, for families, business travelers, groups, and visitors to Southern Indiana. Just 15 minutes from the Bloomington business district and Indiana University, Fourwinds is a wonderful alternative, to a more "traditional" hotel experience. Breathtaking lake views from most rooms, with walk-out patios and balconies, in a relaxed setting. The Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina will be your favorite "Staycation Destination". Boat Rentals, transient slips, Corporate Meeting space, Wedding Venues, an indoor/outdoor heated pool, mini-golf and hiking trails are just a few of the amenities that await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fourwinds Lakeside Inn & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fourwinds Resort And Marina Hotel Bloomington
Fourwinds Hotel Bloomington
Fourwinds Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing