We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For the money, fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomington
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“For the money, fantastic”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

For the rate, this Inn was clean, modern, and equipped with a friendly staff. Not located in a 'cute ' part of bloomington but a mere 5 minute drive to Kirkwood (historic shopping/food
district). I would refer a friend here and say this Marriott product is a great value. We skipped the breakfast in the AM but it had a what appeared to be a nice offer.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fountainsquareguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomington, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for the positive feedback you provided. We are happy to know that your experience here at our Hotel was as expected. We work hard to provide clean, comfortable accommodations to our guest everytime they choose to stay with us. We look forward to having you as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    59
    25
    13
    6
See reviews for
62
22
10
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I got a great deal on the rate & needed one more stay for the year to put us at the Marriott gold rewards level - however my husband was less than thrilled about this stay. I believe the gal I talked to said the hotel is nearly 20 years old and due for a renovation this year... REALLY needs it! Lobby shabby, entrance small and no automatic doors (hard w/ luggage & kids), elevators dirty, pool smells HORRIBLE (our 13 year old wouldn't even get in), no hot tub, several folks smoking with doors open instead of going outside, no hot tub (it has been removed), stains on curtains & carpets, vents in bathrooms are covered in dust & guck (easy to clean, so why so dirty?) and overall just really disappointing... One of the worst Fairfield's I've stayed in. However, I would like to compliment the front desk staff - both the gals I encountered were very nice & professional. Also, the location was great but that's it. Wanted to say something on way out but they had two folks ahead of me working out some payment details for folks staying there whose homes were flooded so didn't want to wait forever.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronandAsh2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomington, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We use the feedback that we receive to improve our Hotel by training and re-training our cleaning/maintenance staff. We are glad that you had a positive experience with the front desk staff and know if you decide to return you will find improvements compared to your last visit as updates are scheduled for our Hotel and guest rooms in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed with my Mom for christmas visit with family. The staff was excellent and very helpful. Easy access from highways and convenient to restaurants and shopping. Our room was very clean and adequate. Would recommend this location.

Room Tip: If on first floor, pool next to center lobby. Ask to stay in either wing away from center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomington, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
We are glad you had a positive experience at our Hotel while visiting family over the Holidays.
We look forward to you coming back to stay with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Regardless of the pictures, or even what the person over the phone says, this place does NOT HAVE A HOT TUB!

The ONLY 2 reasons we picked this place is for pet friendly, and the picture of the hot tub. I am under the weather and not feeling good so I wanted the hot tub to clear my head - fortunately there is a bar not too far away!

False advertising hurts companies like this without them ever knowing.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomington, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
You are correct, we do not have a Hot Tub and we have worked hard to change/update many of our websites that may have information listed improperly, since the removal of the Hot Tub in 2013. Thank you for the feedback that you have provided, but please know that we would not intentionally mis-direct anyone into telling them that we have an amenity that we do not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel for the first time this week, 1 night on business. Hotel is located in nice area. Checking was easy and clerk was friendly & efficient. Lobby area was clean - pool area is directly next to lobby area with windows into pool area from lobby.

This is an older hotel that has been refurbished (not remodeled). The furnishings of the hotel were all up to date and nice looking. Entrance to lobby area from either side of hotel was not the best and rather cumbersome. Instead of having automatic sliding doors, you had 2 single doors that you had to physically open to get from the outside to lobby. This is not very traveler friendly when you have your arms/hands full and toting luggage. If you don't have at least 1 free hand to pull the doors open, you must set your stuff down to get into the hotel.

Once in my room, it appeared clean and furnished nicely. Since this is an older hotel, there is no actual enclosed closet. Just a small open area to hang things in the small sink area. The bath/toilet area is also very small. If you were using the restroom, the door would hit your knees if the door was opened or closed while seated.

Finally here is where my issue with this hotel came. As I was seated at the desk, I turned to look out the window and immediately saw multiple stains all over the curtain hanging next to the desk. There is no way that anyone cleaning the room could miss those. At that point I gave the room a more through inspection. I pulled each pillow out of it's case and protector and the first pillow I checked, I found a small blood stain on it. The rest of the pillows and bedding were fine. Needless to say that pillow did not make it back onto the bed while I was there.

Upon checking out, the general manager happened to be standing at the front desk along with a front desk clerk. I mentioned these 2 cleaning issues to them. The general manager never said one word to me, did not apologize or anything. For this, I give the general manager of the hotel an F. Without acknowledging a guest's issue while standing directly in front of him, he failed big time. The desk clerk did apologize to me and ask if awarding my frequent guest account with extra points would make up for the problem. I told her that would be fine. However, 4 days later and no points have been awarded to my account. Looks like she failed to follow thru with what she had offered to me, since she did not do it immediately.

Directly across the street from this hotel is a restaurant called Chedders. I walked over for dinner and was very impressed. Food & service was very good. Decor of place was nice too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomington, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for the feedback you provided about your experience. We use all feedback as a chance to make positive changes in the hotel, reviewing policies, and updating our procedures.
I remember walking into the situation described and since the Guest Experience Manager had already apologized and was offering the rewards points, I felt she was handeling the situation very well. I did make a comment to the guest that the situation with the pillow should not have happened and that I would speak to the Housekeeping staff about it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
182 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

I suppose if all one can truly complain about is the absence of a spare blanket and bruised bananas at breakfast it's a good stay. I was particularly impressed by the morning staff...attentive and genuinely cheerful. This is a cookie cutter chain, but they do their best to stand above the rest.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ditzyredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomington, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your guest experience while staying here with us, please book your next reservation with us and we will make sure your room is clean and fresh and your breakfast experience is something to write home about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Room was clean and the rest of the hotel appeared to be well kept. The room (king) seemed a bit small, but it was OK for one person. The location was great...easy to get to and very close to restaurants and shopping. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greg h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomington, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your experience. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington
1.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#6 of 24 in Bloomington
183 reviews
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Bloomington
TownePlace Suites Bloomington
#14 of 24 in Bloomington
191 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington Indiana
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Bloomington
Comfort Inn Bloomington
#9 of 24 in Bloomington
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomington

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomington
Address: 120 S Fairfield Dr, Bloomington, IN 47404-5242 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Bloomington)
Region: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites Marriott Bloomington, IN is ideally located just off of I-69 (SR 37), close to Indiana University and downtown Bloomington. Fairfield Inn & Suites is minutes from Cook Medical, Baxter, General Electric, Rogers Group, IU Health, Otis Elevator, and Monroe Hospital. General Motors, NSWC Crane Naval Base and Boston Scientific are also located nearby. The hotel is close to a number of events including IU Football, IU Basketball, Little 500, Lotus Festival and Hilly Hundred. Enjoy shopping nearby and restaurants within walking distance. Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomington offers a complimentary hot breakfast daily, complimentary wireless internet, a heated indoor pool, and 24-hour fitness center. We invite you to come experience this wonderful hotel for yourself! At the Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomington, you're our #1 priority. We promise you'll be satisfied, or we'll make it right. That's our commitment to you. Ask us about The Fairfield 100% Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Fairfield Bloomington
Bloomington Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing