We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place but no hospital discount” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Bloomington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Bloomington
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Fulton, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place but no hospital discount”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The room was clean and the bed comfy. The college makes it noisier with people coming and going in the night. We had family in the hospital and they don't have any hospital rate. The breakfast was a bit on the skimpy side unless you paid for your breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry V, General Manager at Courtyard Bloomington, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Trish,

Thank you for staying with us for your trip to Bloomington. We understand it must have been a difficult time. I am glad you found the bed comfy and room clean! While we were offering a continental breakfast for a few days during our restaurant training, I can now say our Courtyard Bistro is open for breakfast and dinner! I hope you come back and try the great food!

Warm regards,

Barry Volkers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    56
    69
    20
    5
See reviews for
66
29
21
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have stayed at this Courtyard several times when I have driven my son back to Indiana University or picked him up and they never fail to impress me! Everytime I walk in the door I am greated by a friendly person who is ready and happy to check me in. The rooms are alway clean and the beds are very comfortable. I enjoy the breakfast buffet the next morning that is just delicious and the servers are always friendly and there with more coffee or juice (which I can get my self at the buffet, but they are always more than happy to do it for me. I have stayed her for 3 years now and it's never let me down.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amykramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry V, General Manager at Courtyard Bloomington, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Ms. Kramer,

Thank you very much for your great response. I am very happy that we have continued to provide a great experience over the years. With our new Bistro and Starbucks. we look forward to offering you that great service for years to come.

See you soon!

Barry Volkers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
323 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 582 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Visiting IU, and it was really convenient, but... currently undergoing remodel, bare floors & dust. Paper-thin walls, drunks whooping it up in the halls after last call, and stark, featureless rooms leave much to be desired. Take my word for it, it's worth a few bucks to find a nicer place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry V, General Manager at Courtyard Bloomington, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Bob,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Courtyard Marriott Bloomington! We appreciate your insight. I am very sorry for the status of the elevator area, we know this is a very heavily trafficked area and it does not look great as of right now. As you stated, we are currently updating the property and occasionally our progress can affect the stay of our esteemed guest. I hope that you are able to come back when all is finished and see what great work was done. As far as the noise is concerned, we unfortunately can not prevent guests from being discourteous, but we can implement new strategies to increase our response times and ensure a quiet area for all of our guests. Thank you for bringing these items to my attention as we continually strive to offer a better product for our guests.

Regards,

Barry Volkers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here when we came for a college tour of IU. The location is on a main street about a 10 minute walk to Kirkwood Ave. which is the heart of downtown Bloomington where a slew of restaurants are located. You can walk to the campus (which we did) but it will take about 20 minutes to get to the Sample Gate on Campus. From there you'll do a lot of walking on campus if you don't have a car or want to take the campus bus, so be prepared.
The hotel is decent. We found it to be clean - the room we stayed in was very large with two double beds and a separate sink area outside the bathroom. The acoustics in the room were not great. We could hear someone going to the bathroom above us every time they used it and we could hear conversations in an adjacent room.
There is a gym which is a small room with two treadmills, elliptical machine and a bunch of dumb bells. Not much but the equipment was all in very good shape.
The staff were all very helpful and friendly.
Since our daughter will be attending IU starting in the fall, we'll be visiting Bloomington many times and I wouldn't hesitate to stay in this Courtyard by Marriott when we come back.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry V, General Manager at Courtyard Bloomington, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Gary,

Thank you for your thoughtful response. We appreciated the opportunity to serve you and congratulate your daughter on getting accepted into Indiana University! I am glad the weather allowed for you to walk to campus, enjoy the nice scenery, and come back to a clean room! We are certainly working on any type of noise issues and understand how this can negatively impact a stay. However, I am sure you will love our new Starbucks and Bistro when you return!

Warm regards,

Barry Volkers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster, New York
Level Contributor
179 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here many times as my son is now in I.U.s doctorate program. Not much had happened other than wear and tear.... but the new lobby renovation shows promise of improvments to the dated rooms, bedding, mechanicals and finishes.

Staff has been great and accommodating: moved us to a new room with a fridge for 84 year old mom's meds....brought us shampoos in the morning as we only had lotions stocked in the room.

I wish they could shut up the loud talkers talking at 3am...or those running in the hallway one floor up at 3:30am.

I'm sure this hotel will surely get back to the 4 or 5 star rating we are used too with the Marriott brand.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry V, General Manager at Courtyard Bloomington, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Steve,

I appreciate your understanding of our progress towards a better hotel! We are very close to being all the way complete; I am sure your return trip will be 5 star! As you had stated, we were able to accommodate your request to switch rooms- we were very happy to do so! When you come back in the near future just give us a call and we will have all these items waiting for you. Have a great week.

Thank you~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
176 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for the first time in March. I was attending a meeting at the convention. It was a great choice. The staff were friendly and apologetic for the renovations. It didn't bother me. The room was spacious and clean! Breakfast was also great! I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ellada H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry V, General Manager at Courtyard Bloomington, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Ellada,
Thank you! We appreciate your understanding of our current "facelift!" We look forward to hosting you on your return trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

I should caveat this review with the fact that the hotel appeared to be going through renovations when I stayed there in early April 2014.

This was my first time traveling to Bloomington so I can't say for sure how it compares to other hotels, but I'm sure you can do better for your money. Woke up early as I was in town for work. There was no hot water, which apparently was common among other guests, no water running to toilet so it wouldn't flush, and a towel rack was falling off the wall.

I'd look to stay elsewhere if traveling there in the near future.

The location was good and so was the service. Maybe this place will be better once renovations are completed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry V, General Manager at Courtyard Bloomington, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Justin,

Thank you for your response. You are absolutely correct, it is awful to not be able to take a hot shower. There was some work that got done nearby which left our water unable to recirculate properly resulting in the water issue. This has all been corrected and adjusted! If you are coming back to Bloomington in the near future, please reach out to me and I will help you through the reservation process and ensure you a better return trip. Thank you for your understanding!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bloomington hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington Indiana
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
#2 of 24 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#6 of 24 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Bloomington
Holiday Inn Bloomington
#8 of 24 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Bloomington
Comfort Inn Bloomington
#9 of 24 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Bloomington

Property: Courtyard Bloomington
Address: 310 S. College Avenue, Bloomington, IN 47403-1509
Region: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Bloomington 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Marriott, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Bloomington Courtyard
Bloomington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing