We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home Away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scottish Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Bremen B&B and Inns
Merrillville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Home Away from Home”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

My husband and I stood at the Scottish Bed and Breakfast while celebrating our 10th Wedding Anniversary. The King Room was perfect! It provided us all we could have needed. Homer and Brenda were very hospitable, friendly and informative. Brenda is a great cook! We recommend signing up for the 1/2 hour massage with Fran...she is AWESOME! We also recommend signing up for the Amish Dinner and Buggy ride with Emery and Betsy...they are the sweetest, nicest of people...not to mention the best cook. Potato Creek State Park is close by and there is so much to do there as well. We enjoyed our stay to the fullest!

Room Tip: The King Room has everything you could possibly need!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel and Gary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    6
    1
    8
    3
See reviews for
28
72
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gsw2006
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My husband and I stayed at Scottish Bed & Breakfast in the Antique Room this past weekend, and couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay.

Homer and Brenda were perfectly hospitable and offered us the warmest welcome. Although they weclomed us to come and go around the home and to spend private time as we wished, we spent the majority of our time talking with them because they were so personable, humorous, and great to talk with.

Their home manages to be both beautiful and comfortable and we walked away feeling as though we'd been at a "home away from home." From the moment we arrived, we felt so comfortably settled in a place that provided a wonderful home base for exploring the area. Homer and Brenda have shown a grand amount of attention to detail and we discovered so many "extras" that we couldn't have forseen.

One of those extras was the peaceful tenor of the home. It was a very serene environment; from it's quiet country setting outdoors to the gentle warmth that permeated the interior of the home.

Another of those extras was the culinary talent and creativity that went into food preparation. Brenda is an excellent chef and the couple makes a wonderful team hosting/serving meals. The breakfast was so beautiful on the plate, we hardly wanted to touch it. The food, by the way, tasted as good as it looked.

All around the home are simple reminders that the hosts thought of their guests and did everything they could to assure that their stay was comfortable.

Homer and Brenda also graciously shared ideas and their expertise about things we could do in their neck of the woods, as well as some historical tidbits about the area.

All in all, we really couldn't have asked for better... or more. Staying at the Scottish B&B made our trip extra special.

Thank you, Homer and Brenda, for a wonderful stay in your beautiful home. - Gary & Sharen

Room Tip: We think all of the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsw2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My wife and I were in the area for a funeral and needed a nice place to stay for the night. Scottish fit the bill perfectly. We had a lovely room with a king sized bed, a huge bathroom with whirlpool tub and a great shower. Brenda and Homer were wonderful hosts, from the tour of the home when we first arrived, to helpful info on restaurants. Our room had a very nice patio with a swing where we were able to sit and look at the stars to relax a little after our hectic travels. The swimming pool looked very nice, and made us wish we'd brought our swimsuits. Because the funeral was in the morning, we had to get up and going a bit early. My wife had contacted Brenda ahead of time, and she was very accommodating with an earlier breakfast. The food was incredible. We left well rested and fed, and wishing we had been able to stay under happier circumstances. We definitely want to find the time to go back and spend a couple of nights there, enjoying the lovely grounds and great hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SludgeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austintown, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The host and hostess of this B&B are wonderful, and kind. We stayed a few days with them and it was wonderful! Brenda is an amazing cook and was very helpful with info for the area. We were able to take our furbaby Jonas and he stayed there at the b&b in our room with us. This was to us one of the nicest places we have stayed.

Room Tip: We used the Green room. It was great for the money. The bathroom was just down the hall but we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbalogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

My husband and I were in Breman for the funeral of a dear brother in law. But our "Green Room" experience made the loss seem a little bit easier. Brenda is an excellent chef, and when she says 9:am, buddy you had better be there, my husband knows.(don't get you dander in an uproar,Brenda) We loved meeting "Mia" the newest addition to the family. We would definetly stay again, and have already given friends the name and address of this beautiful B&B.

Room Tip: Bring a flashlight, Its dark!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesse C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda53, Owner at Scottish Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Judi and Jesse, Homer and I hope to see you again at a better time in your lives and we are happy we could ease your sorrow of your loss of your loved one. You don't need a flash light, the stars and moon at night are beautiful and shine brightly. Glad you enjoyed my breakfast egg souffle, but it sure does not stay full for long after it comes out of the oven. Thank you so much for your kind review and sharing us with your friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal Lake, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our special time at the Scottish Bed & Breakfast. The hospitality was wonderful and the breakfasts were delicious. We will never forget the experience of sharing a meal with an Amish family. Homer and Brenda are excellent innkeepers. They have thought of everything to make guests feel comfortable.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Antique Room which was beautiful. The Sleep Number bed was a special treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We paid this place through living social deal worth $285.00 for 2 nights. Unfortunately we have our baby with us and Brenda, the owner upon arrival told us that we have to leave the place because an infant is not allowed. If it wasnt busy she can accomodate us but clearly it wasnt because our car is the 3rd one that is park outside. No other signs that it was busy. It was already late at night and very cold. The place is situated in the middle of nowhere, dark and no commercials nearby. We asked if we can just have bread and soup before we go since its included in the package , she said they no longer serve food. We pleaded if we can schedule another week to stay but she said our voucher is about to expire that week so we can no longer use it. I told her that the value that we paid is good until Sept of 2012. She said in a very rude and disrespectful way " I don't care what the voucher state, I'm the owner so I make the rules and final say!" I asked her if we can then just refund the money and she said no. It's very clear that the owner is very unaccomodating, no consideration whatsoever. This is far the first time that we have been treated this bad. We went to search for another hotel in the middle of the night since we can no longer able to travel back home with our baby who catched a cold and cough after that night. It was indeed a horrible way of welcoming a guest that is in fact already paid them in full! She doesn't care because it's paid already. What a waste of money. If you see the place it was just a house plain and simple. Even if she will give us the opportunity to stay there, we would still feel the same with the way she talk. She maltreated us like a dog that needs to get out of their house. We didn't even have a chance to sit and rest even for 5 mins. I hope that money that they took from us and the treatment we received will come back to their business thousand fold. It happened a month ago but we still can't forget that worst place and people.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maliciously
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda53, Owner at Scottish Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
A couple had purchased a "Living Social 55% off Deal" from Living Social September 2011. The voucher was an "Amish Experience" from the Scottish Bed and Breakfast. On the voucher it states for two adults over 21 years old. When the lady called and made the reservation by phone to the Innkeeper for February 2012, never mentioned she had an infant child or asked if she could bring the infant child. It states clearly on our website that we can accommodate children 12 and above (we do not have a crib, nor we are not child proof here at the B&B). When I mentioned to this couple at check-in when they were entering with a stroller that it states on our website no children under 12, the man said "I saw that on your website, but thought you would make an exception for us." I said, "I cannot allow an infant child due to all four (4) guestrooms being reserved this weekend and I have to consider the other guests noise control level". No one has an idea how much a baby will cry while out of their regular environment. I offered to call the closest Holiday Inn Express (10 minutes away) for them and mentioned local restaurants (we do not have a restaurant at the B&B) only a mile away in downtown Bremen, if they were hungry. The man said "No, we will find our own hotel." They chose to violate our policy. I am sorry they did not call me before they left home that night to ask if we could accommodate their infant child. It would have saved them gas and driving time and they could have rescheduled when they had a babysitter. We were looking forward to meeting this couple and sharing "Amish Country" with them. We wanted them to have a wonderful experience as we want all our guests to relax and enjoy a stress-free weekend sitting beside the indoor pool or exploring "Amish Country".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bremen
11.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#17 of 29 in South Bend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Inn at Amish Acres
The Inn at Amish Acres
#1 of 2 in Nappanee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
19.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Swan Lake Resort
Swan Lake Resort
#1 of 6 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
8.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 6 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
17.5 mi away
Morris Inn
Morris Inn
#1 of 29 in South Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scottish Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottish Bed & Breakfast

Property: Scottish Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2180 Miami Trl, Bremen, IN 46506-9670
Region: United States > Indiana > Bremen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bremen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scottish Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant Bed and Breakfast is located on two acres in "Amish Country" with antiques and a modern flair throughout. Features a gourmet breakfast each morning, private bathrooms, an indoor heated pool, individual breakfast dining outside on the garden patio, four(4)guestrooms with king/queen select comfort number beds, fireplaces, plush robes, 32" flat screen TVs w/DVD in each room, whirlpool tub, European soaps, climate control for heating/AC, FREE WiFi, FREE parking, close to University of Notre Dame, Culver Military Academy, Amish Acres, Potato Creek State Park and major highways. Small Dogs WELCOME! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Scottish Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing