We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snowy retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scottish Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Bremen B&B and Inns
Heyworth, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Snowy retreat”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This trip was very rewarding. Our room was super, very large and very clean. The dinner at the home of the Amish couple, was excellent! It was fun taking a ride in the buggy and getting to experience the Amish life, even for just a couple hours. Although we never were able to meet Homer, Brenda and I found we had so much in common. Our plans are to go back again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the antique room. Very lovely, spacious and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gemini6849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    6
    1
    8
    3
See reviews for
28
74
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The Scottish Bed & Breakfast in Bremen, IN is a spacious, private home out in the beautiful Amish countryside. The rooms, but for one, are all on the ground floor. (And all rooms, but one, have sleep number beds!) One room, with a king bed, even has its own patio and Brenda, the owner, will serve a private breakfast there, if you wish. Breakfast includes many homemade goodies and is SUMPTUOUS. In addition, there is a beautiful, INDOOR pool - breakfast may be taken poolside, also.

The Inn is perhaps 45 minutes in any direction to the major towns with Amish attractions - Goshen, Shipshewana, Nappanee, etc... very easy to use the Inn as the hub of your wheel as you venture out on day trips.

The Inn also offers in-room massages by a local, certified massage therapist, as well as a special evening of dinner and horse & buggy ride with a local Amish couple at their farm. They are gracious and open in talking with you and answering all your questions about themselves and Amish life.

Also available at the Inn is the wonderful 2-disc CD for The Heritage Trail (an audio CD that takes you on a circular route throughout the Amish countryside and towns, while narrating the history of where you are driving).

We couldn't have been happier with our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkawrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

the place was lovely and relaxing, but my problems was with the water coming out of the bathroom faucet had a sewer smell and the towels was ridiculous rough. And I think there should bottles of water in each room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monique g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda53, Owner at Scottish Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Just to clarify, our tap water in the guestrooms comes from a well and we have a water softener that was checked recently. According to their findings everything was normal. We both went to their guestroom and smelled the water and neither of us thought that there was an odor from the faucet water. We offer bottled water, and soft drinks for the guests to purchase at a minimal cost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Our room was fantastic. Very large and clean. The bed was super comfortable and had expensive, high quality sheets. Loved the bed! Stayed in the Antique Room which was very nicely decorated. The bath was beautiful and the shower was large and very clean. Breakfasts were delicious. Really enjoyed the dinner at the Amish family farm. Very nicely done. We hope to go again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrews, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I picked this bed and breakfast because of the pool, and when we got there it was not working.
It would have been nice to know this before hand. When we ask for some to be taking off for the pool we were informed that it was not their fault the pool did not work and we should not expect everything to be working. Food was ok, plates looked pretty but the food didn't always taste the best. The host was not a people person. I would not stay again, I was very disappointed. I think the web site talked it up more then it is. We loved the Amish buggy ride and meal was the best part of are trip. It was worth going on.

Room Tip: King room was a nice room, but when we went to use the private entrance to the pool room the door wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grice2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City Center, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Our room was beautiful.

The pool was not working when we got there. I wish we would have been warned, we would have rescheduled.

Food was just average.

The host does not come across as warm. Odd combination for bed and breakfast host. She did warm up the longer we were there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy123454321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Was a very comfortable place to stay. We enjoyed stay and felt at home. I was personally a little disappointed when my wife asked for glass of orange juice before breakfast so she could take her pills and she had to: wait till breakfast, it was the start of our anniversary day. But our king room was very clean and beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bradfordshawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda53, Owner at Scottish Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
They were such a sweet couple celebrating their anniversary at our B&B in the King Suite with the King bed, private patio and whirlpool tub. I am so happy I was able to find an Amish couple (after calling several) to prepare a home cooked Amish dinner and give them a buggy ride. I knew they would enjoy that experience. Before breakfast is served I focus on not burn their breakfast, since I am the only one in the kitchen preparing it each morning. I hope they celebrate their anniversary with us next year and stay two nights instead of one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bremen
9.1 mi away
The Inn at Amish Acres
The Inn at Amish Acres
#1 of 2 in Nappanee
131 reviews
8.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 6 in Plymouth
48 reviews
23.0 mi away
Brook Pointe Inn
Brook Pointe Inn
#2 of 2 in Syracuse
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Swan Lake Resort
Swan Lake Resort
#1 of 6 in Plymouth
140 reviews
8.7 mi away
Days Inn Plymouth
Days Inn Plymouth
#5 of 6 in Plymouth
155 reviews
17.5 mi away
Morris Inn
Morris Inn
#1 of 30 in South Bend
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scottish Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottish Bed & Breakfast

Property: Scottish Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2180 Miami Trl, Bremen, IN 46506-9670
Region: United States > Indiana > Bremen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bremen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scottish Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant Bed and Breakfast is located on two acres in "Amish Country" with antiques and a modern flair throughout. Features a gourmet breakfast each morning, private bathrooms, an indoor heated pool, individual breakfast dining outside on the garden patio, four(4)guestrooms with king/queen select comfort number beds, fireplaces, plush robes, 32" flat screen TVs w/DVD in each room, whirlpool tub, European soaps, climate control for heating/AC, FREE WiFi, FREE parking, close to University of Notre Dame, Culver Military Academy, Amish Acres, Potato Creek State Park and major highways. Small Dogs WELCOME! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Scottish Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing