We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love meat and spices you are at the right place”
Review of Kozi's

Kozi's
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Melissia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$39
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The African Experience in Athens : Rib Eyes, Chakalakas, Burgers 'n Pitas
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“If you love meat and spices you are at the right place”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Fantastic atmosphere, incredible staff and service in general, amazing food. A bit pricy BUT well worth it. We took two meat plates ribeye and chakalaka, two glasses of wine and a salad, and payed 50€. We didn't manage to clean our plates....I recommend it to anyone who loves meat and spices and are willing to spend a bit more for a culinary experience

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Capritsioza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    202
    60
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“For the appearance only”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We visited Kozis driven by previous reviews and hype in Greek food magazines and websites,however at the end do the visit I can't understand what's the hype for. The place is a very typical simple crowded restaurant with nothing particular worth mentioning. Similarly service is average, with an attitude of "get it done quickly to serve others". As for the food well, we had the kozi salad which was supposed to have rocket (there were less than three leaves of rocket in it), a grilled cheese (nothing special for a price of I think sth like 7e) and 2 ribeyes. The meat was of average quality (it doesn't come sliced as in most meat restaurants) full of spices covering its actual taste, greasy and overall not something of a taste you can't cook at home. The thing about this restaurant is that it offers really big portions of good that photograph well but when you actually taste it, well you kind of regret the 60euros paid for the above meal. I wouldn't recommend it as there is far better competition in town for meat lovers and in better value for money.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ath84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deurne, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant overall”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Kozi is the place to be for meat lovers!
Amazing quality meat from the local (Greek) farmers very well prepared and the sizes are big.
The ambiance in the restaurant is great. Customers are a mix from urban chic to alternative and business dinners.
The prices are very reasonable, especially considering the quality of the food.
With nice garnishing and the potato slices are spiced with an excellent spicy mix from South Africa.
I have eaten in more than 50 restaurants in Athens, I take time to review Kozi because it is great!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank simonjo1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just Unique!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I first went to Kozi's after a couple of South Aftican friends told me it was the only place in Athens where they had found really good, tasty, juicy meat. They were right! If I were to have to pick the best place to go to in all of Athens it would definitely be Kozi's. And not just for the amazing steaks and meat (rib-eye is the best!) Salads are delicious - I recommend the spinach and prosciutto salad or the coleslaw. Proper coleslaw - not drowned in mayonnaise as most other places serve it. Starters are delicious too - portobello mushroom, lightly fried cheese with honey mmmmmmm! The service is impeccable - fast, friendly and quick to notice anything you might need. The atmosphere is friendly and joyful. One is immediately made to feel at home - even if it's the first time you go! I have been now several times and on different occasions. Lunch with girlfriends, dinner with family, weekdays, weekends. Every time has been special. They don't take reservations so if you go in the evening after 8 or Sunday lunch be prepared to wait a bit. But even if you have to wait, its definitely worth it! Thank you Kozi's - it's always a treat when we come to you!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

I had heard a lot of good things about this restaurant and I have to say that whatever you might hear does not do it justice.
The food is exceptional, the waiters are nice and attentive. The whole atmosphere is pleasant.
Bear in mind that you have to go early because they do not take reservations, a drawback and an advantage at the same time.
Finally, I cannot mention enough how great the food is. A friend of mine described it as the meal you want to have before you die. I must agree that it is the best meal I have had.

Helpful?
2 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kozi's also viewed

 
Cholargos, Athens
Melissia, Athens
 
Agios Dimitrios, Athens
 

Been to Kozi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing