We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Buffet”
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Paleo Faliro
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Our excursion from the Royal Princess stopped here for lunch after visiting the Temple of Poseidon & before visiting The Parthenon. The buffet lunch was very good. Several vegetable dishes, three meat dishes, breads, red & white wine, excellent dessert table, soft drinks...all was included in the excursion cost. Very clean rest rooms. Staff was great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grady A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear Mr. Grady A.,

Thank you for your nice comments regarding the buffet lunch you had in our hotel. We are also pleased to read that you were satisfied with the cleanliness of our rest rooms and the service offered by our staff.

We sincerely hope that you’ll choose Metropolitan Hotel on your next trip to Athens in order to enjoy our warm hospitality.

Yours Sincerely,

George Papazoglou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (845)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

382 - 388 of 845 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

I stayed in this hotel as it was booked for me by business partners. The room was good but the matrasses I found too hard. The breakfast buffet was very good with a good choice and variety of food etc. The main drawback was the prices for drinks in the lobby bar: they charge €6,50 for a beer. For dining you will find many restaurants in the neighbourhood. Wifi is free in the lobby, so you will find many people surfing the web but not ordering anything. Later in the evening the lobby bar is empty.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed in this hotel as part of a travel package. The service in the hotel was great - we arrived several hours after we were supposed to and the staff was helpful in getting our bags to the room and getting the air conditioning running while we went off to an orientation meeting. The breakfast buffet was wonderful - many choices of eggs, fruit, yogurt, breads....the list goes on. The hotel offers a shuttle that will take you to nearby Placa and has regular pick up times from there back to the hotel as well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanst57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Mrs. susanst57,

We thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback of your recent stay at the Metropolitan Hotel.

We were pleased to read that you were satisfied with the service provided by our staff, the choices in the breakfast buffet and the free shuttle bus service to the city centre.

Once again thank you for your nice comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

George Papazoglou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The hotel was very comfortable, we slept well in the beds and the room was quiet. It was difficult to imagine that we were in a a big hotel in a noisy city as the sound proofing was excellent. Additionally the air conditioning system, which was needed due to very high temperatures in Athens during our stay, was extremely efficient and kept the room very pleasant. There was plenty of storage space in the room and there was easy access to the roof top pool. All the staff we came across were very pleasant and wished to assist wherever possible. The provision of a free bus service into Athens was a great bonus and used by us to catch connecting transport when we left. The area is a lovely suburb of Athens giving you easy access to the coast as well as the city. I would have scored 5 but there were no tea making facilities in the room. However, there was a fridge so water could be stored and kept cold. The purpose of the trip was to visit family, however the hotel was so pleasant we felt as if we had been on holiday as well. Thanks to all.

Room Tip: There is a walkway near the hotel that takes you down to the sea - about an hours stroll but very pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joaniemac59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Mr. Joaniemac59,

Thank you for staying at the Metropolitan Hotel while in Athens. We do appreciate the time taken to review our property at tripadvisor.com.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found our hotel comfortable, the room spacious and the staff pleasant and helpful. It was also nice to read your comments about the free shuttle bus service to the city centre and the location of the hotel.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to the METROPOLITAN Hotel on your next trip to Athens.

Yours Sincerely,

George Papazoglou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Hotel has everything you need.
Great service, from reception to bell boys to maids...everyone wanted to make sure you were looked after.

The hotel is a bit outside the city, however, they have a free shuttle that travels to the main core each hour!

All in all, a good hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sassiejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Mr. Sassiejones,

We do appreciate the time taken to review Metropolitan Hotel, Athens.

We are pleased to read that you were satisfied with the “great” service provided by our staff and the free shuttle bus service to the city centre.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future where once again you may enjoy our warm hospitality.

Yours Sincerely,

George Papazoglou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Never again, 3 nights (as part of a tour) in this hotel on the hardest beds i have ever experienced in a Hotel, i meant to inspect to see what sort of granite they had used but didnt want to waste any more time. The hotel is well away from the main part of Athens although they have a shuttle bus which runs on a regular scedule, the prices in the bistro where expensive so we ate out as much as possible. Had a swim in the roof top pool which had a lifeguard and supplied towels but the water looked rather grim so didnt hang around. Staff were very busy but quite helpfull, all in all probably would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask if they have a soft bed otherwise stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiPaulNewPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Mr Kiwi,
Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your experience during your recent stay in our hotel.
We truly appreciate your positive comments for our staff since we constantly invest on the human factor that makes the difference, but we regret that we did not meet all your expectations.
Concerning the bed mattresses, we offer our guests a choice of anatomic or softer mattresses. Unfortunately, if we knew about your special requirements during your stay we would have taken corrective actions. We were surprised with the comment for the swimming pool, since we apply strict procedure and test the water twice a day to ensure safety and hygiene for our guests.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we sincerely hope you reconsider your opinion about us and give us the pleasure to welcome you back at the Metropolitan on your next trip to Athens.

Yours sincerely,
George Papazoglou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

A good hotel, with a decent if unspectacular room and pleasant service.

I ate on the 8th floor Terrace bistro - arriving late, I wanted a light bite before going to bed, and the "snack" meat offer seemed like a plan. It was about 17 euro and I though t would be a nice plate of nibble type meat. Wrong. Essentially I was presented with a heaving plate of (beautifully cooked) protein. I'm a big bloke, but even I couldnt finish it - great value, but could have served four.

Breakfast good, varied and plentiful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoCarpets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Mr.TwoCarpets,

Thank you very much for your feedback concerning your stay at Metropolitan hotel Athens.
We are pleased to read that you found our hotel good, the room decent, the service offered pleasant and the breakfast varied and plentiful.
Your comment regarding the size of our snack portion has been taken under serious consideration.
Once again we thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

George Papazoglou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paleo Faliro
1.1 mi away
Coral Hotel Athens
Coral Hotel Athens
#2 of 4 in Paleo Faliro
530 reviews
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Athenaeum
0.1 mi away
Nestorion Hotel
Nestorion Hotel
#4 of 4 in Paleo Faliro
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Athens Atrium Hotel & Suites
1.6 mi away
Poseidon Athens Hotel
Poseidon Athens Hotel
#1 of 4 in Paleo Faliro
912 reviews
2.2 mi away
Blue Sea Hotel
Blue Sea Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alimos
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel

Address: 385 Syngrou Avenue, Paleo Faliro 175 64, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Paleo Faliro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Paleo Faliro
Price Range: £127 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Metropolitan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A city hotel, in front of the new Faliron Olympic coastal park very close to the city centre. Hotel offers daily complimentary shuttle service to town and back. Available in the vicinity one can find a variety of high street shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing