We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chosen by conference organiser”
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Paleo Faliro
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Chosen by conference organiser”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel was the venue of a conference which I attended. Very hospitable staff both at check-in and restaurant. The dinner was a very high standard washed down with a palatable glass of Greek white wine recommended by the waiter. If I had a complaint the bed was too hard, pillars too soft and ubiquitous issue with air conditioning. Euro 15 for wifi still an issue, nice little earner for the management and in fact better reception in public areas for free!

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Martyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Mr. Martyn H,

First and foremost I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments regarding your stay at the Metropolitan Hotel.

We are very pleased to learn that you had a very enjoyable and that you experienced the Metropolitan hotel’s hospitality and high standards of food and wine.

We have taken your comments seriously and we are already working on the wifi charges for the room use.

Thank you again for your time and we all at the Metropolitan Hotel Athens looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,

Penny Zaglaridou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    293
    219
    56
    50
See reviews for
106
184
36
322
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Spacious, clean bedrooms. Free wifi also worked in bedroom although reception staff said it would not (paying wifi available). Tasty food. Friendly and very helpful staff. We organised a few meetings/events in the hotel and were very satisfied. Nice gym facilities with steam room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RFBXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Mr. RFBXL,

First and foremost we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments regarding your stay here at the Metropolitan Hotel.

We were very pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel and that you found our services provided and our hotel’s facilities to your satisfaction.
We will share your kind comments with all our team members. At the Metropolitan Hotel either we make every effort to maintain high standards in both our products as well as guest services.
Your comments will make only become better every time.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future where once again you may enjoy our warm hospitality.
Yours Sincerely,

Penny Zaglaridou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This hotel shouldn't be really taken for a 5* hotel, even with a 4* view it's quite a bit overpriced. The meals are fine, though, and service overall good to great (with some exceptions). It's located at a very busy street (thus noise if you open your window), the airconditioning is too noisy and would deserve a good clean-up (I don't suffer from related problems, but the air was really terrible, both in the room and also in the corridors and meeting rooms). One of my colleagues had to change a room at 2am as he found bugs in the room... :-(

And don't believe the sea-view prospects when selecting a room - first you face the busy street, then the see is nearly a mile away, and then you can watch some stadium & park construction spot!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Mr vaclean
Thank you for the feedback from your recent stay in our hotel. We appreciate your kind comments about “good hotel”, meals and service. Regarding your comments about the hotel prices kindly be informed that our prices are result of our regularly updated competitive market analysis with other hotels.
Kindly be informed that our hotel’s guest rooms are fitted with triple glazing providing excellent insulation from noise and/or other factors.
Additionally our guest rooms are equipped with individually controlled air conditioning so as every guest can adjust the desired temperature and that our systems are constantly maintained for optimum operation.
We regret that you didn’t find the air quality in our guest rooms up to your expectations but we assure you that the air in guest rooms and public areas is checked from an external subcontractor and certificates are available to anyone who would dispute the adequate a/c and ventilation.
The Metropolitan hotel implements high safety and hygiene standards including the pest control. The room of your colleague was thoroughly checked by our expert pest control subcontractor and there was no evidence of any bug in the room involved.
All your comments concerning prices and sea view prospects are taken under serious consideration.
We hope that we shall have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Metropolitan when you next visit Athens in order to offer you a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Yours Sincerely,

George Papazoglou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branchburg, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This is a standard business-type hotel located just outside of downtown Athens. The hotel was clean and had a nice lobby area.

I had an upgrade room which had a balcony and extra room. The bed was very comfortable and had good pillows. The view of the sunset from the balcony was very nice in the evenings. The room was very clean. The bath had nice amenities and big fluffy towels.

The hairdryer was the absolute worst hairdryer I have ever experienced in all my times of travel. It was some sort of dinosaur from 1970 and didn't really dry, just made my hand hot holding it. After the first day, I asked for a different one, and they happily brought me a better one.

I would agree that the mini bar prices were definitely expensive. The breakfast was OK. It would be nicer with an egg/omelet station as the scrambled eggs were too runny for my taste. They usually didn't have cut fruit except "fruit salad" which seemed to have sugar in it. The lunch buffet was very good. I ate dinner one night in the french restaurant. The food/service were good, but like most French restaurants, the serving was smaller than Greek restaurants. The lobby bar area is nice. Sometimes the service was good. Other times, it took quite a while to get a drink in the evenings before dinner.

The hotel is fairly near the sea, and there were nearby restaurants within a short walk that were very good.

The in-room wifi didn't work very well. I had trouble connecting my iphone to it. It worked sporadically on my ipad. Others I traveled with experienced similar issues in their rooms. Wireless in the lobby worked well.

All in all, I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The upgraded room was definitely nice with the balcony and views of the sea.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MurphySNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAthensGreece, Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Murphy SNJ,

We truly appreciate your feedback of your recent stay and your nice comments of the room, the views, the location, the amenities, the lobby area, breakfast and dining suggestions , as well as the cleanliness of our hotel.
Although we offer our guests a choice of higher wattage hairdryers, we are in the process of replacing gradually the guest rooms hairdryers as part of our facilities improvement program.
We will certainly look into the room’s Wi- Fi issue and take any corrective action required.
We once again thank you for the positive criticism and we are looking forward to welcoming you at the Metropolitan on your next trip to Athens.

Yours sincerely,

Eleftherios Kaparoudakis
Rooms Division Manager
Metropolitan Hotel Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel as part of our tour so cant comment on value for money but the buffet breakfast was abundant in variety and quantity and the staff helpful. It is a little out of town but the fee shuttle into the main shopping district means we didn't miss getting out and about. There are plenty of good local restaurants in surrounding streets which were less expensive that the hotel restaurant and the only negative was not having WiFi in the room but we found that common across much of Europe. The decor was tired in a couple of areas but always clean, as was the rooftop pool area. The hotel was very busy so always a good sign.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Mrs. Cheryl H,

We sincerely appreciate your time taken to offer us your precious feedback from your recent stay at the Metropolitan Hotel.

We are pleased to read that you found our breakfast buffet “abundant in variety and quantity” and the staff helpful.
Your comments about wi-fi options are taken under serious consideration.

Once again we thank you for staying at the Metropolitan Hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Athens.

Yours Sincerely,

George Papazoglou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaca
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed for one night at Metropolitan hotel.
Good things about hotel:
Free parking space (eventhough is on the next corner of the hotel and you have to carry your bags).
Nice reception and breakfast area.
Sufficient breakfast with plenty of choices (eventhough for a 5star hotel should have had more choices eg. boiled aggs, champagne, sweets)
Nice bathroom amenities.

Things not so good about the hotel:
Very noisy, you must have always the windows shut (it is situated on the main street Syggrou avenue)
Charged 4,50 euros for a small bottle of local water that got from mini bar. UNACCEPTABLE! (when had a complain for the price at reception they just didnt bother)
Overpriced for the services provided (135 Eu p/night for a double bed)
Wi-fi charged 5Eu p/hour!
Not so clean room (dusty and smelled cigarettes eventhough we ve stayed in non smoking room)
Room basic (not flat screen tv, bathroom needs rebelishment, no balcony)

In conclusion we wont stay at Metropolitan hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAthensGreece, Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Emily 6,
Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience of your recent stay in our hotel and we sincerely appreciate your positive comments about the parking, lobby area, breakfast and bathroom amenities.
Kindly be informed that our guest rooms are equipped with triple glazing ensuring excellent insulation from noise and/or other factors.
Concerning the room rate and the mini bar prices, I would like to assure you that we constantly monitor the relevant rates in all the Athens 5* hotels ensuring competitive prices at all times.
As far as the Wi-Fi prices, we offer our guests the choice of free of charge Wi-Fi in the hotel’s public areas.
Rooms with balcony, flat TV’s along with other upgraded facilities, are available on the 7th floor, should any guest decides upon this category.
We also thank you about the room comments as we are considering any corrective actions required in order to continuously improve our services.

Yours sincerely,

Eleftherios Kaparoudakis
Rooms Division Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Just stayed there twice over the course of ten days. The rooms are lovely, the buffet breakfast and dinner is fabulous, the public rooms are nice.

However, the gift shop has no air conditioning and it is uncomfortable to shop in there with the heat. The WIFI is only free in the lobby - a real drawback in this day and age.

Too far from the Acropolis, but a cab ride into town would work
Not overly friendly staff - polite - but reserved.

Pool was already closed for the season last week - if it was heated it should have been open.

I would stay again; I would just plan a little differently so I could go into town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelelasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear michelelasker,

Thank you for your nice comments regarding your recent stay here at the Metropolitan Hotel.
We are pleased to read that you found our rooms lovely, the buffet breakfast and dinner fabulous and the public rooms nice.

Regarding your comment for the air conditioning in the gift shop kindly be informed that it was due to a technical problem which has already been repaired.

The location of the hotel is indeed a few miles from the centre of town but we do offer a complimentary shuttle service to and from the centre of Athens.

Once again, we greatly appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Athens.
Yours Sincerely,

George Papazoglou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paleo Faliro
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Hilton Athens
#23 of 326 in Athens
3,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Athens Poseidon Hotel
#1 of 4 in Paleo Faliro
859 reviews
Divani Caravel Hotel
#59 of 326 in Athens
1,315 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel

Property: Metropolitan Hotel
Address: 385 Syngrou Avenue, Paleo Faliro, Athens 175 64, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Paleo Faliro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Paleo Faliro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Metropolitan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A city hotel, in front of the new Faliron Olympic coastal park very close to the city centre. Hotel offers daily complimentary shuttle service to town and back. Available in the vicinity one can find a variety of high street shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing