We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair enough..”
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Paleo Faliro
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I do stay in this hotel time to time. First, the location is not far from city centre . You can take a taxi by paying 10-15euro. It is convenient if you are on a business trip. But keep in mind that it is far away from metro station. There is no station near by. The rooms are rather small but enough comfortable for short stays. The hotel is used for tourist groups and events. So lobby area can be noisy mostly. The staff is helpful and kind. Breakfast is great, it does worth to save additional 1/2 hour in the morning to enjoy it.

Room Tip: Hotel provided shuttle service to the city centre. Dont forget to ask time table in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Atacan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Atacan O,

We sincerely appreciate your time taken to write your comments regarding your nice stay at the Metropolitan Hotel.

We are pleased to know that you found the location of our hotel convenient, the rooms comfortable, our staff helpful and kind and the variety of breakfast buffet great.

We make every effort to maintain both high standards in our product and in customer experience and I am delighted to see that our efforts were to your satisfaction.

Once again we thank you for your kind comments and we all are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Metropolitan Hotel, Athens.

Yours Sincerely,

Penny Zaglaridou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (845)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

309 - 315 of 845 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

The rooms are clean, good sized and there is a rooftop bar which has a nice view of the city of Athens! I wouldn't call this hotel spectacular but it is good enough. The best thing about the hotel is the free shuttle to syntagma square. We took the shuttle a few times which saved us some cab fare! (Cab fare is relatively cheap but some of my travelling companions took a cab and the driver took them on a detour and it cost them a bit).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Michelle J,

We sincerely appreciate your time taken to write your positive comments regarding your nice stay here at the Metropolitan Hotel.

We are pleased to learn that you were satisfied with the cleanliness and size of our rooms, the view from the roof top bar and the free shuttle bus service to the city center.

Thank you again for your time and we all at the Metropolitan Hotel Athens looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,

Penny Zaglaridou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I ve been going to this hotel for many years, but the last time i went i was soooo very disappointed...It used to be one of the best hotels in Athens city , but nowadays there is a breeze of abandonness...For the service and quality of everything i found it overpriced, due to the fact that we had to pay 250 euros for 2 nights.Then the first night i spend there i was bitten by i don't know what.When i asked to the reception for the one in charge, a very polite business person came and instantly he moved us to a suite, even though we didn't ask for something like that.The suite is what the pictures show. Unbelievable situation.I am so sorry for this hotel and i am never going back.Not only for the rooms but for the unexisted services.They say they have a spa , a massage area and a hairdresser, and even though i asked 3 times for it, none could get me connected, i had to walk 6 times to the under lobby level to find everything closed...etc......For all it has been a tragic experience !

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Mrs. Vicky G,

First and foremost we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience regarding your stay here at the Metropolitan Hotel.

Please accept my sincere apologies for not having fully met your expectations however we assure you that everything you mentioned will certainly be taken into consideration and any corrective actions required will be taken to ensure improvement. Also we like to inform you that there is a plan to review the status and equipment of our rooms and replace them if needed.

I would be grateful if you could contact me to my personal e-mail, zaglaridou@chandris.gr and let me know for more details about your stay.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments and we hope you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to welcome you back in the Metropolitan Hotel.

Yours Sincerely,

Penny Zaglaridou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel is good for business trips. They have a small pool at the roof top where you can have drinks in the evening. The restaurant of the hotel is ordinary. The courtyard is nice. The rooms are ok, but generally the furniture is old

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Earibal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Erkin A,

We sincerely appreciate your time taken to write your positive comments regarding your stay here at the Metropolitan Hotel.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the roof top pool and bar and the courtyard.

Your recommendation regarding the room furniture has been taken under consideration and we would like to inform you that there is a plan to review the status of our rooms and act accordingly when needed.

Thank you again for your time and we all at the Metropolitan Hotel Athens looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,

Penny Zaglaridou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Had a satisfying experience. The staff are professional and the hotel is well equipped. The standard room is not large nor is the bathroom but it was clean. I found the bed somewhat hard so room keeping were only too happy to supply and fit a mattress topper .

The buffet breakfast was amazing. The court yard and lobby area were relaxing. A cold drink and swim on the roof top terrace is great for winding down at day end.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Michael K,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your nice experience at our hotel.

We are delighted to read your positive comments about our professional staff, the facilities of our hotel and the cleanliness of our rooms and bathrooms. Also happy to know that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet, the court yard and lobby area and the roof top terrace.

We once again thank you for your positive comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the Metropolitan Hotel.

Yours Sincerely,

Penny Zaglaridou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The front desk was very professional and friendly. The lobby is very modern. The breakfast was good and a good variety. The location was a distance from downtown. They have a free shuttle that goes day and evening which is very handy. The rooms were clean and neat. The hotel looked a little older on the floors. I was on a tour that left a few days and then came back. I was able to leave a bag in storage until I returned which was very handy. The hotel has a lot of business and tour groups that stay there. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank justtravelng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear justtravelng,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your pleasant experience regarding your stay at the Metropolitan Hotel.

We are pleased to read your nice comments about the friendliness and professionalism of our front desk employees, the quality and variety of the breakfast buffet, the free shuttle bus service to the city center and the cleanliness of our rooms.

Your feedback is valuable to all of us and I have already shared your wonderful comments with my team members.
We always strive to enhance customer experience and to offer value for money.

We are delighted to know that we have met all your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Penny Zaglaridou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We booked this hotel from the recent reviews we had read on tripadvisor. But it was a different story when we arrived.We paid 240 Euros for one night because that was all we could cope with. To start with we had our travel agent booked our room when we arrived it had been cancelled. Then we were given a room with a sea view! Where did they think the sea was. There was a construction site blocking the Sea View and the Sea was about 7 miles away! Then comes the beds, well I have never slept on a bed that hard I might as well been sleeping on CONCRETE! Then we could tell you about the tv I have not seen a tv box that small and not sure if it worked. Then we talk about the size of the bath towels, huh they are the size of the bath mat. Which by the way was in desperate need of beaching. We had requested secure parking and were advised that yes they had it. But when we gave them doorman our car keys to park the car he advised us to "go park it yourself it is free in the street". Somehow that was not good enough so I went in and spoke to the receptionist on duty and said that we had been told that the hotel had complimentary parking. Which she replied to "go park it yourself" So much for 4 star. So we ended up parking on the street went up to bed rang the Intercontinental and booked a room for the next couple of night at 185 Euros. Oh coming up to the sleeping well it looks like they do a lot of tour groups so we were kept up all night with banging doors, people running up and down the corridors. So my suggestion if you are looking for a place with rude service and seems to run like a backpackers accommodation on Spring Back this is the hotel for you.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone it is overpriced, rundown and very rude service once they take your money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luxury_Butterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Luxury_Butterfly,

First and foremost we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience regarding your stay here at the Metropolitan Hotel.

Please accept my sincere apologies for not having fully met your expectations however we assure you that everything you mentioned will certainly be taken into consideration and any corrective actions required will be taken to ensure improvement.

I would be grateful if you could contact me to my personal e-mail, zaglaridou@chandris.gr and let me know for more details about your stay.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments and we hope you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to welcome you back in the Metropolitan Hotel.

Yours Sincerely,

Penny Zaglaridou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paleo Faliro
1.1 mi away
Coral Hotel Athens
Coral Hotel Athens
#2 of 4 in Paleo Faliro
530 reviews
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Athenaeum
0.1 mi away
Nestorion Hotel
Nestorion Hotel
#4 of 4 in Paleo Faliro
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Athens Atrium Hotel & Suites
2.2 mi away
Blue Sea Hotel
Blue Sea Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alimos
137 reviews
1.6 mi away
Poseidon Athens Hotel
Poseidon Athens Hotel
#1 of 4 in Paleo Faliro
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel

Address: 385 Syngrou Avenue, Paleo Faliro 175 64, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Paleo Faliro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Paleo Faliro
Price Range: £123 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Metropolitan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A city hotel, in front of the new Faliron Olympic coastal park very close to the city centre. Hotel offers daily complimentary shuttle service to town and back. Available in the vicinity one can find a variety of high street shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing