We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar average rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Athens Poseidon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Paleo Faliro
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great bar average rooms”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The rooms were a little old and dingy with stains on the carpet for example, but the beds were comfortable and they were always kept clean, just a little old and worn. Breakfast was quite nice, it was a western breakfast which was nice in Europe for a change.
The pool and bar were great and my friends and I had a great time swimming, sun baking and drinking. The drinks are a little pricier than the vendor across the street but that's to be expected.

I would only stay in this hotel for a short while and if I only wanted to relax at the beach or by the pool with a beverage. It is a 30 minute tram ride out of central Athens and there is little to nothing to do in the area except the beach. If you are visiting Athens for the ancient centre chose a hotel in the centre and stay at Poseidon for 1 or 2 nights max.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameronwhiteperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    311
    137
    40
    38
See reviews for
204
296
92
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We loved the hotel when it was quiet, rooms were clean, beds pretty comfortable. Service was good. Food at breakfast was amazing, great selection. This being our first time in Athens we wanted a view. The view comes at a price, you can hear the road noise all night long. Also being on the 5th floor we had the sky bar right over us. When the party night broke out there was no sleeping, it was horribly noisy, a nightmare. You could here not only the beat of the music, but girls walking back and forth in there heels and chairs and tables sliding around. One of our travel companions booked an interior room, no view but he said it was very quiet and much cheaper also.

Room Tip: Choose interior for quiet..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sailorgirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livorno, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

This hotel is great the panoramic view on top of the hotel is crazy awesome :D they have bean bags and stylish couches :) 360' view that is just beath taking...!
Okay so the rooms are normal.. If you get a sea side view then you are going to enjoy your stay in style :) the price is good..! The staff is extremely friendly..! And there is an awesome 15 meter pool :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IlGreco93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2013

My two girlfriends and I checked in on May 2nd- 5th. Great hotel, awesome location. Well stocked and a variety for breakfast (including me a vegetarian!).
Front desk staff were polite and helpful, except when I asked where the nearest grocery store was so I could pick up a few snacks, they told me we were NOT allowed to bring in any outside food. This I thought was stupid, am I supposed to order your over-priced mediocre food from the restaurant for any and all meals? dumb dumb dumb. we brought our own snacks and got beer from the vendor across the street for sooooo CHEAP! ( do not get beer from hotel mini fridge, go to street vendor!) Unless of course you're on the awesome roof top patio, where you have to get drinks from them...they are over-priced but this was a given).

Beach and beach front restaurant was soo nice, absolutely beautiful. Loved everything about it, especially the helpful beach staff and security that did a phenomenal job of keeping the beach vendors away!! Avoid them at all cost, they will harass and try to steal and swindle from you!

TIP** the street vendor sells large Mythos bottled beer for 1.30 Euro a bottle....beach bar sells cans 2 for 3.80 Euro or 1 standard sized bottle for 4.80 Euro... my advice... walk up to the street vendor( 1 minute away) and get your beer there! You will get so much more bang for your buck. Especially if you are a recent University grad like myself that was on a serious budget for this trip.

The number 5 tram will take you right into the city centre of Athens, from there only a short walk to the acropolis, restaurants, monostriaki (awesome market area for purchasing just about everything). DO NOT TAKE A CAB. It's a waste of money that could be spent elsewhere and you miss out on the real Athenian experience of taking their metro system. As a Torontonian, I can appreciate a good, long or short bus/metro ride. It's a real travelers way of experiencing and seeing the culture and lifestyle.

Room Tip: ** if you seek out a quiet and tranquil vacation, this hotel is NOT for you!! The roof top bar opera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

The hotel is located on the beach across the main street.
Hkidmiim rooms amazing views of the sea, the marina, Piraeus etc..
In these rooms there is a problem for those sensitive to noise.
The rooms are simple and small TV.
The dining room on the seventh floor amazing - we ate there 4 out of 6 nights we were in the hotel.
The pool on the eighth floor and the view from great.
Excellent hotel service.
Gabriel at the entrance to the hotel was amazing.
Angelika reception was great.
There is no free internet.
Expensive price who uses a lot.
I wrote them that they must secondly it.

Room Tip: The front rooms noisy but with amazing views. This is suitable for those who want the sea of Athens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moshe1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Great hotel on sea front and only 25 mins by tram to Athens (1 euro 20 cents currently), much more fun and less packed than buses. Big free all you can eat breakfast, rooms clean and everything works. Staff excellent (special thanks to doorman Gabriel who helped us get our first tram ticket when ticket machines broke). You can get tickets from mini shop aside platorms. restaurant and had scraping chairs each morning from 6am. Carrefour local supermarket and bank adjacent to hotel. Will definately go back next spring

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper take ear plugs as main road (7 lanes) goes past hoptel and is a bit noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filby7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Poseidon is a nice hotel on the beach in Athens. We chose it as we didn't want to be in the city centre and preferred to be by the sea instead. The staff was friendly and professional, check-in and check-out fast, our room had a balcony facing the sea, free parking near the hotel. Very good breakfast with lots of options - maybe 10 hot meals, fresh fruit and vegetables, different yoghurts, several cakes... Would happily stay at Poseidon again.

Room Tip: I believe there is less noise on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe_cy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paleo Faliro
Coral Hotel Athens
#2 of 4 in Paleo Faliro
498 reviews
Palmyra Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Glyfada
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palace Hotel Bomo Club
#8 of 15 in Glyfada
201 reviews
Coco-Mat Hotel Nafsika
#2 of 10 in Kifisia
550 reviews
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#33 of 326 in Athens
2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Poseidon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Poseidon Hotel

Property: Athens Poseidon Hotel
Address: 72 Poseidonos Avenue, Paleo Faliro, Athens 175 62, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Paleo Faliro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Paleo Faliro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Athens Poseidon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Athens Hotel Poseidon is ideally located in the seafront of Athens, in a walking distance from Alimos & Flisvos Marinas, next to Centre. Bus & Tram stops by hotel entrance provide direct, indisruptable, easy & quick access to historical Centre, Athens International Airport (Eleftherios Venizelos) & Piraeus Port. Specially awarded Buffet Breakfast (incorporated in the price),including 80 different homemade dishes (from traditional pies to sweets & pastries).Services include restaurant on the top floor, famous Sky Cocktail Bar, Swimming Pool, Pool Bar, Beach Tavern, Beach Bar & Sun beds. Wise business and city break choice offering proximity combined with undisruptable city access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Athens Poseidon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poseidon Hotel Paleo Faliro
Poseidon Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing