We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pick for Athens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Athens Poseidon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Paleo Faliro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I chose this hotel for a weekend stay in Athens in January 2012 basing on its location, price and recommendation from a local friend. I found hotels that looked better at least on photos (design etc) and had better prices but was advised against them judging on their locations within the city (dangerous, unsafe with possibilities of being mugged). The hotel is not so great in appearance but I would say it ticks all the boxes for being simple, clean and safe. Breakfast include on the price was nothing special but was sufficient for the start of the day with a good choice of food. It is served on the top floor with panoramic windows offering a nice view, which does offer a different ‘breakfast experience’ than other hotels I had stayed at. The staff was very helpful and attentive. The hotel is right across the street from the beach with easy access to the tram (and therefore the city and the airport). The rooms are also basics and may seem a bit old and worn out, but good enough as a basis for a short touristic stay. Wi-fi was not free and you have to purchase an access card from the reception.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ania-ru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (906)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 906 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

The rooms were a little old and dingy with stains on the carpet for example, but the beds were comfortable and they were always kept clean, just a little old and worn. Breakfast was quite nice, it was a western breakfast which was nice in Europe for a change.
The pool and bar were great and my friends and I had a great time swimming, sun baking and drinking. The drinks are a little pricier than the vendor across the street but that's to be expected.

I would only stay in this hotel for a short while and if I only wanted to relax at the beach or by the pool with a beverage. It is a 30 minute tram ride out of central Athens and there is little to nothing to do in the area except the beach. If you are visiting Athens for the ancient centre chose a hotel in the centre and stay at Poseidon for 1 or 2 nights max.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameronwhiteperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We loved the hotel when it was quiet, rooms were clean, beds pretty comfortable. Service was good. Food at breakfast was amazing, great selection. This being our first time in Athens we wanted a view. The view comes at a price, you can hear the road noise all night long. Also being on the 5th floor we had the sky bar right over us. When the party night broke out there was no sleeping, it was horribly noisy, a nightmare. You could here not only the beat of the music, but girls walking back and forth in there heels and chairs and tables sliding around. One of our travel companions booked an interior room, no view but he said it was very quiet and much cheaper also.

Room Tip: Choose interior for quiet..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sailorgirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

This hotel is great the panoramic view on top of the hotel is crazy awesome :D they have bean bags and stylish couches :) 360' view that is just beath taking...!
Okay so the rooms are normal.. If you get a sea side view then you are going to enjoy your stay in style :) the price is good..! The staff is extremely friendly..! And there is an awesome 15 meter pool :)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IlGreco93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

My two girlfriends and I checked in on May 2nd- 5th. Great hotel, awesome location. Well stocked and a variety for breakfast (including me a vegetarian!).
Front desk staff were polite and helpful, except when I asked where the nearest grocery store was so I could pick up a few snacks, they told me we were NOT allowed to bring in any outside food. This I thought was stupid, am I supposed to order your over-priced mediocre food from the restaurant for any and all meals? dumb dumb dumb. we brought our own snacks and got beer from the vendor across the street for sooooo CHEAP! ( do not get beer from hotel mini fridge, go to street vendor!) Unless of course you're on the awesome roof top patio, where you have to get drinks from them...they are over-priced but this was a given).

Beach and beach front restaurant was soo nice, absolutely beautiful. Loved everything about it, especially the helpful beach staff and security that did a phenomenal job of keeping the beach vendors away!! Avoid them at all cost, they will harass and try to steal and swindle from you!

TIP** the street vendor sells large Mythos bottled beer for 1.30 Euro a bottle....beach bar sells cans 2 for 3.80 Euro or 1 standard sized bottle for 4.80 Euro... my advice... walk up to the street vendor( 1 minute away) and get your beer there! You will get so much more bang for your buck. Especially if you are a recent University grad like myself that was on a serious budget for this trip.

The number 5 tram will take you right into the city centre of Athens, from there only a short walk to the acropolis, restaurants, monostriaki (awesome market area for purchasing just about everything). DO NOT TAKE A CAB. It's a waste of money that could be spent elsewhere and you miss out on the real Athenian experience of taking their metro system. As a Torontonian, I can appreciate a good, long or short bus/metro ride. It's a real travelers way of experiencing and seeing the culture and lifestyle.

Room Tip: ** if you seek out a quiet and tranquil vacation, this hotel is NOT for you!! The roof top bar opera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

The hotel is located on the beach across the main street.
Hkidmiim rooms amazing views of the sea, the marina, Piraeus etc..
In these rooms there is a problem for those sensitive to noise.
The rooms are simple and small TV.
The dining room on the seventh floor amazing - we ate there 4 out of 6 nights we were in the hotel.
The pool on the eighth floor and the view from great.
Excellent hotel service.
Gabriel at the entrance to the hotel was amazing.
Angelika reception was great.
There is no free internet.
Expensive price who uses a lot.
I wrote them that they must secondly it.

Room Tip: The front rooms noisy but with amazing views. This is suitable for those who want the sea of Athens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moshe1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Great hotel on sea front and only 25 mins by tram to Athens (1 euro 20 cents currently), much more fun and less packed than buses. Big free all you can eat breakfast, rooms clean and everything works. Staff excellent (special thanks to doorman Gabriel who helped us get our first tram ticket when ticket machines broke). You can get tickets from mini shop aside platorms. restaurant and had scraping chairs each morning from 6am. Carrefour local supermarket and bank adjacent to hotel. Will definately go back next spring

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper take ear plugs as main road (7 lanes) goes past hoptel and is a bit noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filby7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paleo Faliro
Coral Hotel Athens
#2 of 4 in Paleo Faliro
525 reviews
Palmyra Beach Hotel
#3 of 14 in Glyfada
375 reviews
Blue Sea Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alimos
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Metropolitan Hotel
#3 of 4 in Paleo Faliro
844 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,943 reviews
Nestorion Hotel
#4 of 4 in Paleo Faliro
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Poseidon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Poseidon Hotel

Address: 72 Poseidonos Avenue, Paleo Faliro 175 62, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Paleo Faliro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Paleo Faliro
Price Range: £41 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Athens Poseidon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Athens Hotel Poseidon is ideally located in the seafront of Athens, in a walking distance from Alimos & Flisvos Marinas, next to Centre. Bus & Tram stops by hotel entrance provide direct, indisruptable, easy & quick access to historical Centre, Athens International Airport (Eleftherios Venizelos) & Piraeus Port. Specially awarded Buffet Breakfast (incorporated in the price),including 80 different homemade dishes (from traditional pies to sweets & pastries).Services include restaurant on the top floor, famous Sky Cocktail Bar, Swimming Pool, Pool Bar, Beach Tavern, Beach Bar & Sun beds. Wise business and city break choice offering proximity combined with undisruptable city access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athens Poseidon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poseidon Hotel Paleo Faliro
Poseidon Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing