We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Athens Poseidon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Paleo Faliro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed here the night before my greek islands conitki started, and was amazed at how nice the hotel is. i booked with booking.com and got a free bottle of bubbly in my room ( i didnt realise and had to go to reception to ask why it was there) pool on rooftop with dj during the day and really nice views. food in the hotel was good, and nice little convenience store next door which has cheap water -which is a must to stay hydrated in athens over summer as in the room there is only 2 small water bottles, which you have to purchase if you consume. its not expensive but would be nice if there was at least 6 bottles in the room.i would stay here again on returning to athens

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fifthfloor_ohno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (873)
There are newer reviews for Athens Poseidon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 873 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

Love this hotel, friendly helpful staff, roof top pool and bar over looking the beach, resteraunts and beach across the road, also bus stop and tram stop out the front can easily jump on tram to go into central Athens (Plaka) or get bus back to airport for 5€ .. And reasonably priced

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nova W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I just returned from a 12-day stay at the Poseidon, ideally situated on the Aegean Sea. I rate them excellent because of the location, professional and efficient customer service, and the outstanding breakfast. Breakfast is a full buffet with everything from fruit and cereal to fried eggs and bacon. There is something for everyone. Some of the more European options include croissants (plain or chocolate) and walnut pie. Aside from breakfast, one of the best features of the Poseidon was the professional staff. The staff was always friendly and smiling. They were very good about helping out whether it was ordering a taxi for a trip into the city or answering questions. Our room on the 6th floor had a wonderful view of the sea. Then the 7th floor was dominated by a rooftop swimming pool and bar. This area is well kept and clean. The location next to the sea is ideal for people who want to enjoy the sunshine. There is also a tram station right in front of the hotel, so for 1.20 euros and a 30-minute tram ride, you can also take advantage of everything Athens proper has to offer. The only drawbacks are that the bed was a bit on the firm side. I was actually getting a bruise on the side of my hip after sleeping on the mattress for 11 nights. The other (slight) drag is that one has to cross a very busy street to reach the sea. There is a traffic light and clearly marked crossed walks, but guests with children may find it a bit daunting. I recommend taking a set of soft earplugs, as the traffic can be quite noisy throughout the night.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street have the best view of the sea; the higher up, the better.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebeccacharlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Across a very busy 3 lane road to the beach, though transport was excellent and the beach bar and security was excellent. The views form the rooms were breathtaking and the hotel was always clean and tidy. Do not eat in the Place (beach taverna connected to the hotel) it was an awful meal, though great for snacks during the day. The hotel restaurant on the seventh floor was excellent. Service was particularly good (the guy in the checked shirt - the front of the house man- was superb)and the breakfast was very filling with a wide choice (the smiling waitress was always welcoming and helpful). Only downside, however was when some Australians decided to party on their landing until gone 4am (I am sure these brash youngsters are not typical of our Southern Hemisphere cousins and it is a bit sad that in this beautiful city they are not adventurous to venture beyond their balcony!)

Stayed: August 2013
Thank TZoono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I chose this hotel for a weekend stay in Athens in January 2012 basing on its location, price and recommendation from a local friend. I found hotels that looked better at least on photos (design etc) and had better prices but was advised against them judging on their locations within the city (dangerous, unsafe with possibilities of being mugged). The hotel is not so great in appearance but I would say it ticks all the boxes for being simple, clean and safe. Breakfast include on the price was nothing special but was sufficient for the start of the day with a good choice of food. It is served on the top floor with panoramic windows offering a nice view, which does offer a different ‘breakfast experience’ than other hotels I had stayed at. The staff was very helpful and attentive. The hotel is right across the street from the beach with easy access to the tram (and therefore the city and the airport). The rooms are also basics and may seem a bit old and worn out, but good enough as a basis for a short touristic stay. Wi-fi was not free and you have to purchase an access card from the reception.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ania-ru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The rooms were a little old and dingy with stains on the carpet for example, but the beds were comfortable and they were always kept clean, just a little old and worn. Breakfast was quite nice, it was a western breakfast which was nice in Europe for a change.
The pool and bar were great and my friends and I had a great time swimming, sun baking and drinking. The drinks are a little pricier than the vendor across the street but that's to be expected.

I would only stay in this hotel for a short while and if I only wanted to relax at the beach or by the pool with a beverage. It is a 30 minute tram ride out of central Athens and there is little to nothing to do in the area except the beach. If you are visiting Athens for the ancient centre chose a hotel in the centre and stay at Poseidon for 1 or 2 nights max.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameronwhiteperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We loved the hotel when it was quiet, rooms were clean, beds pretty comfortable. Service was good. Food at breakfast was amazing, great selection. This being our first time in Athens we wanted a view. The view comes at a price, you can hear the road noise all night long. Also being on the 5th floor we had the sky bar right over us. When the party night broke out there was no sleeping, it was horribly noisy, a nightmare. You could here not only the beat of the music, but girls walking back and forth in there heels and chairs and tables sliding around. One of our travel companions booked an interior room, no view but he said it was very quiet and much cheaper also.

Room Tip: Choose interior for quiet..
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sailorgirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paleo Faliro
0.7 mi away
Coral Hotel Athens
Coral Hotel Athens
#2 of 4 in Paleo Faliro
511 reviews
4.3 mi away
Palmyra Beach Hotel
Palmyra Beach Hotel
#3 of 14 in Glyfada
355 reviews
3.5 mi away
Palace Hotel Bomo Club
Palace Hotel Bomo Club
#7 of 14 in Glyfada
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Metropolitan Hotel
Metropolitan Hotel
#3 of 4 in Paleo Faliro
821 reviews
5.2 mi away
Brasil Suites Hotel Apartments
0.9 mi away
Blue Sea Hotel
Blue Sea Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alimos
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Poseidon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Poseidon Hotel

Address: 72 Poseidonos Avenue, Paleo Faliro 175 62, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Paleo Faliro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Paleo Faliro
Price Range: £67 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Athens Poseidon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Athens Hotel Poseidon is ideally located in the seafront of Athens, in a walking distance from Alimos & Flisvos Marinas, next to Centre. Bus & Tram stops by hotel entrance provide direct, indisruptable, easy & quick access to historical Centre, Athens International Airport (Eleftherios Venizelos) & Piraeus Port. Specially awarded Buffet Breakfast (incorporated in the price),including 80 different homemade dishes (from traditional pies to sweets & pastries).Services include restaurant on the top floor, famous Sky Cocktail Bar, Swimming Pool, Pool Bar, Beach Tavern, Beach Bar & Sun beds. Wise business and city break choice offering proximity combined with undisruptable city access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athens Poseidon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poseidon Hotel Paleo Faliro
Poseidon Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing