We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Restaurant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avenue Bistro & Bar

Avenue Bistro & Bar
Ranked #59 of 90 Restaurants in Paleo Faliro
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Medium to best as a restaurant. Nice interior but variety of food is limited, specially during dinner !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank M_Z_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    4
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
center
Level Contributor
238 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“it was ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

The restaurant is in a hotel, but the chef is on site and visible ( checking plates etc). I had chicken which might have used another few minutes on the dangly business which cooked it. It was stuffed with paprika which I am not sure acted in its favor. the potatoe mixture was rather greasy. Salad ok... the food was ok. It was not great. it COULD be great with a bit more finesse. nothing haute about this restaurant... but then it is a bistro. french bistro food would have been just the ticket. I would go again, but expecting a different product.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Avenue Bistro & Bar, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear shust,

First and foremost we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments about Avenue Bistro & Bar.

We have taken your comments very seriously and actions have been taken to make sure our guests consistently are experiencing the high services of food and services we normally provide at our Restaurant.

Looking forward to having you back at Avenue Bistro & Bar. I would be grateful if you personally contact me to make your dinner reservation and also meet and greet you.

Sincerely Yours,

Penny Zaglaridou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The perfect dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

One amazing bistro with perfect food by a really special chef mr. Petretzikis ! It has really good value for money ! The place is warm and friendly ! I really enjoy my dinner there ! One of the best restaurant in greece !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Giorgakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

I didn't really expect too much from a hotel restaurant, so I was pleasantly surprised. I had the sea bass for dinner and it was excellent! Service was good too. A very nice experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Solros15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

I have seen Akis lots and lots of times on tv preparing delicious recipes and said to myself that I have to try one of his recipes. Although Avenue is based on famous chef Roux recipes Akis touch is crucial and his influence is obvious.I went with a friend of mine in December and had the winter salad with roasted vegetables, beetroot, potatoes, mixed salad leaves, caramelized carrots and balsamic dressing. For main dish I had the risotto with wild mushrooms and greens scented with a hint of truffle oil and the French onion soup.
We didn’t want any desserts but Akis insisted and offered us the lightly spiced pear poached in port accompanied by homemade five spice ice cream!
Overall we paid somehow 26€ p.p and I think it’s quite good price for what they offer.
Congratulations to Akis and his team for their great warm behavior and the excellent dinner we had. Recommended!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blueheartV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Avenue Bistro & Bar also viewed

Paleo Faliro, Athens
Paleo Faliro, Athens
 
Paleo Faliro, Athens
Paleo Faliro, Athens
 

Been to Avenue Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing