We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great atmosphere, friendly service”
Review of Arsenis Taverna

Arsenis Taverna
Ranked #2 of 108 Restaurants in Paleo Faliro
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Greek traditional food - homemade casserole food - seafood - friendly prices - excellent atmosphere - live greek music every Saturday night and Sunday lunch time - accepted credit cards VISA & MASTER CARD. - FREE Wi-Fi. Please contact us (by phone or mail) to help you how to get here in the restaurant by the easiest way .
Reviewed 16 November 2013

My husband and I were planning on heading to Monastiraki area for dinner. However, the taxi driver suggested we went somewhere else for authentic food. The place he took us to was closed for the day, so I asked the driver to take us to a place where we could hear live Greek music and the price was reasonable. He immediately said he knew of a great place to take us. The driver went inside the restaurant to tell the owner to give him a call when we were done eating so he could pick us up and take us back to the hotel. So, I know this is a review for the restaurant, but wanted to mention the nice taxi driver that went out of his way to give us good service. Back to Arsenis, from the moment we entered, the staff and owner were very friendly, and the place was very clean and neat. A few people were dining and all of them were dressed up, so we at first felt a little uncomfortable (wearing jeans and tennis shoes) and I got the impression that the driver had taken us to a expensive place. The owner made a couple suggestions to eat, which I assumed they had to be expensive, as that is how it usually goes at other restaurants, however, the prices were very reasonable. We had the cheese on fire, can't remember the exact name, for appetizer, and also Greek salad. For dinner we had Mousaka and Silver fish. For dessert we had Baklava with Ice cream, and my husband had some sort of flan with rice pudding flavor. All of it was great. Half way through our meal the place was packed, and we were the only foreigners, which was good, because we wanted to get the real deal. The live music was good as well. The owner walked us out the door and waited with us for our taxi driver to arrive. The driver said we should have had wine as it is good there as well... unfortunately we only had beer. It was a lovely night and we highly recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AmexicansTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arsenis i, Ιδιοκτήτης at Arsenis Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thanks very much for your review . Our pleasure , the satisfied customers !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

432 - 436 of 870 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

I'm from Thailand and went to Greece for a vacation and we had a chance to have lunch on this restaurant. What I really love is the taste of the spaghetti which is one true taste from the sea. The Seafood spaghetti I had was full with seafood. I really enjoyed it soooo much. Thank you!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MoTaesuwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arsenis i, Ιδιοκτήτης at Arsenis Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

thanks very much for your review !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The tavern offered such a varied , authentic Greek menu that it was difficult to choose just what to order. Arsenis offered to not only guide us through the menu, but with our permission,ordered a delicious sampling of appetisers, entrees, and deserts.The food was sensational, and the service was superb. The experience was evrything we expected and more.

Thank you Arsenis!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cssmetana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arsenis i, Ιδιοκτήτης at Arsenis Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thanks a lot for the review and the wonderful comments ... It will be our plesure to see you again !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My wife and I just arrived into Athens and asked the hotel front desk where the locals go for real Greek dining. He didn't hesitate. Arsenis. Wow! The food was not only outstanding, the owner went out of his way to take care of us and made us feel very special. And the prices were very reasonable. Welcome to Athens! What a great way to start our vacation!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arsenis i, Ιδιοκτήτης at Arsenis Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you very much for your review . Hope to see you again !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Seldom Have I Tasted such a disappointment as the food at this establishment. We made the trek from the city centre after the reviews on trip advisor(some of which on re-reading look suspiciously similar)
The taverna was basic with plastic table cloths and a bit shabby but we hoped lovely homecooked food. It was busy which we took as a good sign but turned out to be a nightmare. Basically, the customers had been bussed in from budget cruise ships. They screamed and shouted and it was like feeding time at the Zoo. Two others sets of customers were obviously complaining and a table of four left.
Perhaps because of this the staff were stressed which accounted for their surly, unfriendly attitude's. We never had one smile or anyone come to see if the food etc was ok.
Unlike all the other places we ate or even had a coffee in Athens water has to be begged for and payed for...the same as bread which is usually complementary. I wouldn't bother with the bread anyway it was dry and on the turn of stale.
We ordered starters the domades were ok certainly of supermarket quality...four of them dumped on a plate arriving 30mins before my husbands starter. Main Courses - after reading reviews I had Moussaka which was a small, dry serving and came with nothing but one slice of tomato, my husband had burgers stuffed with cheese that were also very dry with little evidence of any cheese. We did order more drinks as we needed something to combat the dryness but they never arrived. We got the bill and left as quickly as we could; for the dire experience it cost over 40 euros and was one of the worse meals we have ever had. It is the first time in our lives we havent left a tip.
The most amazing thing is as we write this, Arsenis is No.2 on trip advisor just below a Michelin starred restaurant and above Oroscopo. Comparing Arsensis with Oroscopo is like the difference between going to a market burger van and Claridge's. Oroscope is the same cost as Arsenis but with linen table cloths, fantastic food and service its truly unbelievable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
7  Thank xxxHellsBellsxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arsenis i, Ιδιοκτήτης at Arsenis Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

We welcome even negative comments which make us improve whatever shortcomings we face. However this is a case where you have in fact found nothing to please you, nothing to your taste. Bread, water, service, noise, food, everything was so bad. Our listing as No 1 or 2 in Athens is justified by the numerous positive comments of our guests who as a matter of policy enjoy premium quality food and personal service. It is surprising that though our tablecloths are linen you found them plastic (!!) , even our homemade dolmades, moussaka etc - just like everything we serve - were prepared in house with care by my wife, were judged by you as 'supermarket" quality. The last paragraph of your comment compares our property to another property which more than obviously you try to promote against our premium quality reputation. Despite this evident promotion of yours, we invite you to visit us again and we shall be more than happy to prove our high quality in every respect .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arsenis Taverna also viewed

Paleo Faliro, Attica
Paleo Faliro, Attica
 

Been to Arsenis Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing