We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riverside Hotel Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Riverside
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“OK Motel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We visited Launceston and stayed at the Riverside Hotel/Motel - which is located at the rear of the hotel on the West Tamar Highway 6 km's outside Launceston. The location was excellent with easy access to most of the attractions in Launceston.

The rooms have been recently renovated and included A/C, tea/coffee facilities, guest laundry, fridge.

Off street parking is available

Considering the location - the rooms were quiet and tastefully done.

While this is not a 5 star facility - is is clean, neat, tidy and well worthwhile staying at when visiting Launceston.

Meal were available at the hotel dining room - in fact the hotel guarantees a table for house guests - the food was excellent, reasonably priced, tasty and plentiful.

The staff were very friendly and courteous - in fact we found out that the hotel/motel is part of the ALH chain (that is - it is a WOOLWORTHS owned hotel/motel) - so standards have to be maintained.

Room Tip: There are two blocks of rooms - ask for a room in the rear block - further away from the Highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    52
    28
    17
    5
See reviews for
43
40
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Yes it is cheap, the rooms are okay. No aircon, essentials not working(exhaust fan, 2 bathroom lights). What really gets me is the rude and incapable workers at the oasis(which the reception is located). Please stay away from this place, pay the extra couple of bucks and stay in launceston.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ziggaz21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Riverside hotels

Lake Macquarie
Level Contributor
71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We booked into this motel for 4 nights and after finding it so good and convenient we extended for another 2 nights.
This is a well maintained older style motel with large rooms, good sized kitchenette, share laundry. The staff are friendly and helpful.
There are 2 blocks of units, one block has air conditioned rooms, the block that we were in had a fan. We found this an excellent location to use as a base to explore the surrounding area.
Meals in the hotel were very good with lunch specials.

Room Tip: Parking fills up quickly, so get in early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ballantrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
163 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We recently spent 16 days in Tasmania 2 of which were spent in Launceston staying in the 3 bedroom apartment. Our check in was completed by a friendly staff member who answered our questions and settled us in a short space of time. The apartment was large and very clean with a full kitchen. For 3 adults it suited us perfectly but it could easily accommodate a large family. The beds were very comfortable and we all slept well each night with no disturbance from the hotel. Our apartment was serviced thoroughly and fresh and clean for us after a day tasting in the Tamar. We didn't choose to eat in the bistro on the first night but ate in on the Monday evening. As resident guests we were offered a table despite the bistro being fully booked - no hesitation. The typical bistro meals were well presented and cooked perfectly - value for money.
We liked the location as our intentions were to visit the Tamar so it served that purpose well.
Given the variety of properties we stayed in - we like to choose different styles to experience different places - this as a 3 1/2 star property was very good- certainly cleaner and friendlier than the 4 1/2 star property we stayed in which was newer and 'dressed' to resemble a decorator style but lacked the essentials.
We would happily base ourselves here should we return to Launceston for a further visit.

Room Tip: The apartment is a great option for self catering or for larger groups / families and very reasonabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deborahbC3444RB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We did a quick weekend to Launceston from the kids and I found this on Wotif

Plus side
.cheap as
.we got an unrenovated room however it wasn't that old and it was large, had another bedroom off the side, full kitchen and was actually ideal for us
.friendly staff

Down side
.was further out of town than we expected

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed here for three nights and can highly recommend this motel. We stayed in a refurbished unit and breakfast was included. great place just a short drive from Launceston CBD. Would recommend this for either a short or long stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brizziekate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

On our first trip to Launceston,Tasmania, We stayed here for two nights. As a 3½ star hotel, I would definitely give extra point, cause the staff is really friendly, and awesome service, fast check in, nice and clean room; they also do good food, Lam rump is best one I ever had. it situated at the gateway to the Tamar Valley attractions and Wine Route.
Launceston is a beautiful place n so is this place. Absolutely to be recommended
Like they said, Great location, Great food, Great value. Very recommendable.
第一次旅行去塔斯马尼亚朗塞思顿,我们在这里住了两个晚上。作为一个三星半酒店,我绝对会给上额外的加分,因为那里的员工非常的友好以及令人满意的服务态度,快速登记入房,整洁 干净。而且他们也提供很好的食物,这里的羊排是我吃过最好的。这家酒店坐落在通往泰玛谷景点和葡萄酒庄之路。朗诵斯顿是个漂亮的地方,这个酒店同样是个不错的选择,绝对推荐。 就像他们所说的,拥有最好的地段 做最好的食物 让客人享有最超值的服务。特别推荐。

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 484lih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverside
3.1 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#18 of 30 in Launceston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tamar River Villas
Tamar River Villas
#1 of 2 in Riverside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
3.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
1.8 mi away
Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn
2.8 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel Motel

Property: Riverside Hotel Motel
Address: 407 West Tamar Rd, Riverside, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Hotel Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel Motel is located 4.7 kms from Launceston city centre, within close proximity to the Cataract Gorge, Penny Royal World, the Gunpowder Mill and Launceston Lakes Trout Fishing Complex. It is also the gateway to the many attractions of the Tamar Valley and wine route. The Riverside Hotel Motel offers excellent guest accommodation, and guests can enjoy a meal at our family friendly Bistro or unwind after a long day in the Sports Bar. Just 20 minutes from Launceston airport, the Riverside Hotel Motel is a family orientated establishment offering true Tasmanian hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Riverside Hotel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing