We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unclean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverside Hotel Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Riverside
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My family had a night here. We found the room very disappointing. On arrival the room was freezing and the two heaters didn't work. 2 work trucks from neighbouring rooms took up the spaces in front of our two rooms. The carpet was revolting- very stained. The rooms were of a large size and catered well for families (main bed in lounge with separate room with bunks and single). But they were expensive for what you got- an outdated, cold and dirty room. We have stayed at far better unit style rooms in Launceston for only a little bit more in price. We will not be returning here or recommending to others.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellaplus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights while attending Agfest. Room was in second block upstairs and was very well priced. Older room but everything was exceptionally clean except the floors. Carpets badly marked and Lino grubby around edges. Nothing a steam cleaner wouldn't fix. Great sized room and fantastic value only other fault blanket on bed smelt like cigarette smoke and bed terribly uncomfortable thankfully we were extremely tired from visiting Agfest. Would stay again Staff friendly and good pub meals.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakesmum123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

There is nothing fancy about this place... but it does the job if you require a clean and relatively comfortable place (at an affordable price) to spend a night. We arrived in Launceston quite late and had planned to leave early the next morning; the Riverside Hotel was the right choice for us. The double room we were given was 'basic' and felt dated but it was quite spacious for my party of 3. No real cooking option with a simple micro-wave but there is a good pizzeria in the immediate neighborhood and the motel also has a restaurant. Staff was OK without being particularly friendly. For a longer stay, I would definitely look for another option which would add charm to functionality.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dom21076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from 3 nights at the Riverside. Comfortable room with king bed and good bathroom with great water pressure. The only 'miff' about the room was the bed was a 'zip king' (yes, we ALL hate those) and you could definitely feel the join in the middle. Perhaps another/thicker mattress protector over the top might help??

The staff were lovely and professional and very friendly and were happy to help.

We ate in the bistro the 3 nights we stayed and found the meals very good and well priced.

All in all a great stay. Close to Launceston, easy to find and a definite bargain for those looking for somewhere clean and comfortable for a few nights.

Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank LivingTheLife999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We really enjoyed staying here for 2 days. The room was dated but very roomy, good ventilation via upstairs windows, comfy bed, professional staff, good location and incredibly good price. The Oasis also had lovely meals at their bistro. The only negative I have is that the only cooking option was the microwave. It needed to have some sort of cooktop or at least an electric frypan.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed here for one night in a double room. Room had been refurbished and was clean and very nice. Basic hotel room with just a few extra touches- good selection of teas. Bed was comfortable. We had a rate that included breakfast and we ordered bacon and eggs - the serving was large and very nice. Breakfast was delivered to the door in the morning. A little noisy in the mornings as cars are parked outside the motel rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussie1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We visited Launceston and stayed at the Riverside Hotel/Motel - which is located at the rear of the hotel on the West Tamar Highway 6 km's outside Launceston. The location was excellent with easy access to most of the attractions in Launceston.

The rooms have been recently renovated and included A/C, tea/coffee facilities, guest laundry, fridge.

Off street parking is available

Considering the location - the rooms were quiet and tastefully done.

While this is not a 5 star facility - is is clean, neat, tidy and well worthwhile staying at when visiting Launceston.

Meal were available at the hotel dining room - in fact the hotel guarantees a table for house guests - the food was excellent, reasonably priced, tasty and plentiful.

The staff were very friendly and courteous - in fact we found out that the hotel/motel is part of the ALH chain (that is - it is a WOOLWORTHS owned hotel/motel) - so standards have to be maintained.

Room Tip: There are two blocks of rooms - ask for a room in the rear block - further away from the Highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverside
3.1 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#22 of 30 in Launceston
566 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Launceston
3.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#5 of 30 in Launceston
534 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
1.4 mi away
Tamar River Villas
Tamar River Villas
#2 of 2 in Riverside
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel Motel

Address: 407 West Tamar Rd, Riverside, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Riverside
Price Range: £48 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel Motel is located 4.7 kms from Launceston city centre, within close proximity to the Cataract Gorge, Penny Royal World, the Gunpowder Mill and Launceston Lakes Trout Fishing Complex. It is also the gateway to the many attractions of the Tamar Valley and wine route. The Riverside Hotel Motel offers excellent guest accommodation, and guests can enjoy a meal at our family friendly Bistro or unwind after a long day in the Sports Bar. Just 20 minutes from Launceston airport, the Riverside Hotel Motel is a family orientated establishment offering true Tasmanian hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Riverside Hotel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing