We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but worthwhile” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverside Hotel Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riverside Hotel Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Riverside
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Basic but worthwhile”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Nothing wrong with this. It's just a basic motel room. Best part is that most rooms have a double and single bed in, so good for us. We've stayed there a couple of times and it is convenient for exploring the Tamar Valley. Probably not so good if you want to visit Launceston, but it's only a ten minute drive tops to the CBD.
The beds are comfortable and the TV has all the digital free to air channels. So in that regard it is quite liveable.
Facilities work. They include toaster, kettle, crockery, cutlery so you can buy stuff in from the Woolworths supermarket in Riverside only a minute's drive away.
Showers simple but gush plenty of hot water. You can't complain.
The pub part is just 15 metres away and they do all meals every day at reasonable prices. And of course the drinks are at pub prices.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lordanfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    48
    26
    14
    4
See reviews for
39
37
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

My family and I stayed here for a night in July and whilst it was a keen price for 4 of us, I expect more, even at a budget hotel/motel.

The rooms were very tired and need refitting with modern amenities, the decor was tired too. The bed linen was spotless and crisply clean, as was the room in general.

Steps up to the first floor room were okay for a young family, but older people may struggle with them.

The reverse cycle AC kept the place warm and breakfast was okay and included in the price. I checked when I booked that it was brekky for 4, though this was disputed by the hotel upon arrival - it was resolved however within a few minutes.

We had to suffer the noise of the people in the next room for most of the evening, though as we considered this a night's accommodation and not our main holiday stay, we turned up the TV and managed to ignore them.

As a stopover on the way to somewhere else we'd consider staying again, though not for more than that.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MABMEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

My family had a night here. We found the room very disappointing. On arrival the room was freezing and the two heaters didn't work. 2 work trucks from neighbouring rooms took up the spaces in front of our two rooms. The carpet was revolting- very stained. The rooms were of a large size and catered well for families (main bed in lounge with separate room with bunks and single). But they were expensive for what you got- an outdated, cold and dirty room. We have stayed at far better unit style rooms in Launceston for only a little bit more in price. We will not be returning here or recommending to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eloiseplus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Riverside hotels

Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights while attending Agfest. Room was in second block upstairs and was very well priced. Older room but everything was exceptionally clean except the floors. Carpets badly marked and Lino grubby around edges. Nothing a steam cleaner wouldn't fix. Great sized room and fantastic value only other fault blanket on bed smelt like cigarette smoke and bed terribly uncomfortable thankfully we were extremely tired from visiting Agfest. Would stay again Staff friendly and good pub meals.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakesmum123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

There is nothing fancy about this place... but it does the job if you require a clean and relatively comfortable place (at an affordable price) to spend a night. We arrived in Launceston quite late and had planned to leave early the next morning; the Riverside Hotel was the right choice for us. The double room we were given was 'basic' and felt dated but it was quite spacious for my party of 3. No real cooking option with a simple micro-wave but there is a good pizzeria in the immediate neighborhood and the motel also has a restaurant. Staff was OK without being particularly friendly. For a longer stay, I would definitely look for another option which would add charm to functionality.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dom21076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from 3 nights at the Riverside. Comfortable room with king bed and good bathroom with great water pressure. The only 'miff' about the room was the bed was a 'zip king' (yes, we ALL hate those) and you could definitely feel the join in the middle. Perhaps another/thicker mattress protector over the top might help??

The staff were lovely and professional and very friendly and were happy to help.

We ate in the bistro the 3 nights we stayed and found the meals very good and well priced.

All in all a great stay. Close to Launceston, easy to find and a definite bargain for those looking for somewhere clean and comfortable for a few nights.

Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank LivingTheLife999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Coast NSW
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We really enjoyed staying here for 2 days. The room was dated but very roomy, good ventilation via upstairs windows, comfy bed, professional staff, good location and incredibly good price. The Oasis also had lovely meals at their bistro. The only negative I have is that the only cooking option was the microwave. It needed to have some sort of cooktop or at least an electric frypan.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverside
3.2 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#18 of 30 in Launceston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tamar River Villas
Tamar River Villas
#1 of 2 in Riverside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
3.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
3.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel Motel

Property: Riverside Hotel Motel
Address: 407 West Tamar Rd, Riverside, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Hotel Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel Motel is located 4.7 kms from Launceston city centre, within close proximity to the Cataract Gorge, Penny Royal World, the Gunpowder Mill and Launceston Lakes Trout Fishing Complex. It is also the gateway to the many attractions of the Tamar Valley and wine route. The Riverside Hotel Motel offers excellent guest accommodation, and guests can enjoy a meal at our family friendly Bistro or unwind after a long day in the Sports Bar. Just 20 minutes from Launceston airport, the Riverside Hotel Motel is a family orientated establishment offering true Tasmanian hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Riverside Hotel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing