We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”
Review of Tamar River Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tamar River Villas
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Riverside
Reviewed 25 April 2011

When booking our accom we discovered there was a Targa Rally in the area during our preferred dates & most places within our budget were booked out. There was a dodgy review on trip advisor so I booked with my heart in my mouth. We required a wheelchair accessible unit (of which there are 2) & stayed for 3 nights.
Our unit was very spacious & clean & although we understood that servicing took place only once a week, we found fresh towels each day on our return. I used the guest laundry without any problems both washing & drying my clothes due to rainy weather.
The location is only a 5min drive from the centre of Launceston & handy to shops & attractions. The kitchen was well equipped.
Our only complain twas beyond the control of management & that is that with families staying on the floor above us, there was a lot of noise from the metal staircase located next to our room with children apparently choosing to race up & down.
We found the managers to be welcoming, friendly & helpful & would heartily recommend this property

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2011

This was my third stay here in 3 years. I rented a studio this time for several months as a base for exploring Tasmania. The unit was spacious, clean and had a terrific view of the Tamar River - ask for one on the second floor. They have great rates for long term stays, the kitchen is fully equipped, parking beneath unit and I felt very safe here. Bonus of flat screen t.v., dvd player on request and 3 daily newspapers and very good restaurant on site and great location near mall, golf and close to downtown Launceston. Hosts are very accommodating and will go out of their way to make your stay perfect. I can't recommend more highly.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the second floor, but no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peleer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Stayed here in a 2 bedroom unit for 1 night and was pleasantly surprised that the room was spacious and fairly well appointed. The bathroom looked a little dated but otherwise the unit was as good a we would expect for budget acommodation. The kitchen was well appointed as well.

Free daily newspapers from reception was a bonus - grabbed 3 including the weekend australian.

I would definately stay again if in Launceston.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonoGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

We were travelling to Launceston for the Festivale, and all our normal accommodation haunts were fully booked. The only place I could find on the net was Tamar River Villas, and I honestly thought it was going to be really dodgy from the photos I found on the net. There were three couples travelling together, each with a two year old, so rooms had to sleep 3 - I phoned the confirm availability, and the gentleman was very friendly and accommodating, and took the reservation. It was only about a 5 minute drive out of the city, so quite convenient. When we arrived, our first impression that it was fairly old and dated, but check-in was warm and welcoming, and very efficient. We were on the top floor, and parking was right underneath so that was handy. Rooms were very clean and far more spacious than most hotel/motel rooms. Our rooms had a queen size bed and a single, heating, electric blankets, tv with austar, and a kitchen with fridge, freezer, microwave and utensils, which was incredibly handy with little ones. The bathroom was quite dated, and the grouting a bit discoloured, but it was still clean and very usable. My only complaint was the noise of the traffic at night, and the noise of guests returning late and making a noise on the upstairs balcony, but both of these things are out of management control, and didn't affect us greatly. We were heading of-site for dinner, but management recommended Steve's Grill on the premises - once again, it looked old and dodgy and we were a litle sceptical, but decided to give it a go. We were all so pleased we did - the restaurant has a lovely view over the river, and all of our meals were divine. We would definitely stay here again with young children - there was a lovely park just down the road, and the Kids Paradise at the Tailrace Centre directly opposite was awesome - much better than anything we have in Hobart.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Newhinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

We arrived early not expecting to get into our room, but were advised that the room was available, which was great as we had a fuction to go to at the Tailrace Centre across the road.The studio was very spacious and well maintained for a 3.5 star property and also with great views of the river. We only stayed for one night, but found it to be a very central location. I would recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank krl010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

we didnt expect to have a spacious & complete self contained room with the price we booked. so cheap & yet at a convenient location.
overall it's great for family on budget vacation.
My suggestion - maybe the management could change the separate hot & cold taps in the kitchen & bathroom to the mixer taps instead. Water in tasmania is so cold..

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank snszr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

We arrived on a Sunday at the villas and we we shocked to see the front of the villas that looked very old - nothing like the web site photos. The reception is very small and ordinary and we were given the keys to our studio room. Opening the door we were again shocked to see the size and layout as we were expecting more room. The small kitchen area was in a discusting state the room had not been vacuumed or cleaned. We complained and they gave the room a quick vacuum and tried to clean the kitchen area. It is in need of a complete makeover as even the bathroom was old and unclean. To sit on the toilet you need to bend your knees under the washbasin and even then it was cramped. The beds were not comfortable the only plus was the outside of your door carpark. But on the weekend and some nights the restaurant got busy and when we came back most of the time our carpark was taken by the restaurant guests which makes you angry as there is no-one to tell at the reception. We tried to bake a pizza in the kitchen oven which was filthy as was the pizza pan. The smell from the oven was really awful and the oven burnt all the old layered grease on the oven walls. The villas are on a main road which is not explained on the web site and traffic noise was loud in the early morning. The main guests were workers who got up early in the morning baging car doors and were very noisy.I would be reluctant to give the villas more than one star - go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sardross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danLaunceston7250, manager at Tamar River Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2009

Our picture on our web site indicates that property is not new, so am very suprised that this was the impression they had. Our studio rooms are larger than the average motel room with many guests complementing us on their size. These are advertised as studio's and not 1 bedrooms. Our beds and floor coverings etc. have all been replaced in the last 12 months, and we are intending to finnish renovating the remainder of the bathrooms shortly. We as managers were away when guests checked in, so were unaware that the room had not been completed. At this time of year we had very high occupancy, and tourist do leave early, (no workers were in complex) so most people expect to hear noise from guests departing. We are very disappointed to read a review from guests that stayed for eight nights, as we where never aware of any problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverside
2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
1.9 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
533 reviews
1.4 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#10 of 30 in Launceston
385 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
2.4 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamar River Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamar River Villas

Address: 23-27 Elouera St, Riverside, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston > Riverside
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Riverside
Price Range: £65 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamar River Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tamar River Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing