We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cottage overlooking the valley”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trevallyn House B & B
Ranked #1 of 3 Riverside B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Trevallyn has an interesting historical background in Launceston riverside area. The room in the main house is spacious and spotless and comfortable. The detached self-contained cottage sleeps 4, ideal for family or couples and it has a BBQ. Woolworth is just down the road so you can get food+grocery and do your own BBQ at the terrace. Our hosts are very friendly, warm and keep the place very comfy and spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was the highlight, fantastic home cooking, each dish was beautifully presented and tasty, food was locally sourced produce... we thought we went to a gourmet restaurant.

We had such a lovely time, thank you so much!

Room Tip: The cottage sleeps four, ideal for family or two couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CC_Hong_Kong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Thank you for your kind review. It is always appreciated when guests take a little time out of their day to share their experience with others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2011

My mother and i stayed for one night at Trevallyn House recently and enjoyed the peaceful, relaxing property. Located on a hill with beautiful views of the Tamar River we had the queen and single room combined. Each with different bedrooms, a lovely spa bath, port and chocolates for that after dinner drink. The hosts, Janie and Brett were very helpful and the breakfast was first class, with fresh juice, cereals or fruit, a delicious choice of a hot breakfast dish and choice of tea or latte etc. There is a supermarket down the road if wanting but into town itself is only a 5 minute drive. I would highly recommend Trevallyn House and for our first night stay of our 9 day self drive holiday it certainly set a high standard for our preceding accommodation. So thank you Janie and Brett.

Room Tip: All rooms would be excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noels43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2011

So pleased you enjoyed Tasmania and your stay with us. Brett certainly is a whiz with the breakfasts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Wonderful and beautiful cottage located within minutes from Launceston city. Janice and Brett made the most delicious and sumptuous breakfast, we simply enjoyed the great view over the riverside and the fantastic city view at night. The self-contained cottage is well-equipped, clean and the hosts are generous and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 November 2011

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay. It is always great to hear positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

What a lovely spot to stay - on a hill overlooking the river, beautiful gardens and absolutely great hosts.

We stayed in the separate cottage with had heaps of room and was really comfortable. Breakfast was good and plentiful.

It's a little way out of the centre but well worth it for the quality of accommodation

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveCardiff_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 November 2011

Thank you for your positive comments on your stay with us. We hope we see you back here another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

My first comment is that is a shame we didn't get to linger longer...
It is clear that Janie and Brett run a well-organised business, but they are more warm and friendly than hard-headed. They were especially kind in honouring our paid reservation, when we found out at the last minute that we couldn't use it on the day we had originally booked. Under the terms of the booking, they could have simply taken our money.
The whole situation came about because my partner found out he was being sent overseas for work. He decided to suprise me with a night away and paid for a reservation at Trevallyn House. Unbeknownst to him, I had also planned a night away and booked elsewhere - for the same night! We contacted Trevallyn House, who were only too happy to hold the booking and let us use it at a future date.
Fast forward a few months to the return of my beloved ... we got in touch with Janie and asked about using the booking. To be perfectly honest, I half expected to be told that too much time had passed but we received only cheerful responses. Nothing we asked seemed to be too much trouble. In amongst the cheerful, noisy reunion with the rest of the extended family, we loved having a night away to ourselves and Janie and Brett have our sincere gratitude for being true to their word.
But that is not all ....
Trevallyn itself is lovely. There are some beautiful antique pieces of furniture that create a lovely atmosphere, but at no stage do you feel a lack of modern luxuries. If we hadn't already had other plans, I suspect we would have greatly enjoyed an evening in the Guest Lounge. The room itself was well equipped and attractively decorated. The 'kitchenette' facilities were somewhat hidden in a large walk-in wardobe area, but the only problem we had with this is that we did not find them sooner. The bathroom was every bit as good as the other parts of the house.
Janie is a lovely hostess who is willing to chat, without invading your space. We did not meet Brett, but we understand he was largely responsible for the catering, so we are happy to have made his acquaintance (i.e. breakfast).
We really wouldn't have cared what kind of a place Trevallyn House turned out to be. We didn't get to stay long and we were really just trying to make the most of an unused booking. But we were certainly very happy to discover Trevallyn House and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a little piece of quiet luxury and does not need to be in the city centre.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M0dernDayExpl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

This was our second stay in the gorgeous self-contained unit.
Janie & Brett provide a most warm and welcome place to stay and the breakfasts are amazing - nothing is too much trouble for these wonderful generous hosts!
The unit is beautifully furnished and comfortable with extra touches like port and chocolates.
The views from the unit and breakfast/dining room are truly wonderful as is the lovely lawns, gardens and paddocks surrounding the home and unit.
I recommend this accommodation to couples - as you can stay in the house and enjoy even more sumptuous comforts, and families. On our last stay this year there were 4 adults and one 3 y.o. accommodated in one queen size bed, two king size singles and a very comfy portable bed for the child.
Our only regret is that we cannot stay longer.....

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lollipop888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

A friend and i were fortunate enough to stay in the two bedroom cottage at Trevallyn house recently. We found Trevallyn to be particularly high quality accommodation. The house has a rich and fascinating history, and the hosts were lovely, helpful people. A carafe of Port and a couple of chocolates were left for us on arrival, very nice touch!

Trevallyn is a good 5 minute drive from the city and the location is surprisingly suburban despite the B&B being on a large acreage. The view on the approach is quite stunning, with sweeping views of the Tamar River (though not the most picturesque river system on Earth!)

The cottage is a well appointed two bedroom, with full kitchen, spa bath, and a flat screen TV in every room. The view from the front room was brilliant, and the general level of cleanliness and tidiness was excellent. There is a large supermarket just around the corner, and with the fully featured kitchen (of the cottage) it would be possible to become pretty self sufficient here if you needed to - for a more budget holiday.

Mobile reception (via Optus) was very poor, calls could only be made from the deck outside the cottage (..from multiple handsets). Tasmania is really a Tesltra stronghold, so for longer stays involving travel to more remote areas you will require an alternative carrier - I usually pick up a Telstra prepaid SIM for extended journeys, it works in most places. In general if you stay in Launceston or Hobart you should not have any problems, and theoretically the main highway connecting the two cities through the centre of the island is OK (though patchy), but everywhere else… get a Telstra SIM!

The Wifi reception in the cottage was pretty abysmal, and restricted to a few square metres in the front bedroom. My laptop picked up multiple wifi networks in surrounding houses (a long way further away..) but not the b&bs! The router in the main house could do with an upgrade, a secondary access point or a repeater. This was really a minor issue for us, but something people dependant on connectivity should be aware of.

While this is not the most convenient place to stay if you wish to explore Launceston on foot, if you plan to travel around the hinterland while basing yourself in town then this would be an excellent choice. It is very comfy and close enough to the city to still enjoy some of the quality restaurants (and there are quite a few), provided you don't drink too many Boags..

Lastly - the breakfast was scrumptious, truly 5 star quality. We would definitely consider staying at this B&B again in future.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrcurlywhirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverside
2.3 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
931 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tamar River Villas
Tamar River Villas
#2 of 2 in Riverside
132 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
373 reviews
3.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
3.3 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trevallyn House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevallyn House B & B

Address: 83a Riverside Dr, Riverside, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Riverside
Price Range: £88 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trevallyn House B & B 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautifully appointed rooms with a blend of antique and modern furniture with queens size beds, luxury linen and a spa in each suite. 2 Bedroom self-contained Spa Cottage with lovely views. 5 Minutes from Launceston's City Centre, the Cataract Gorge and the Tamar Valley Wine Route. Offering an idyllic blend of comfort and convenience. The Gourmet breakfast is something specia. Guest Lounge with wonderful views. Ample off street parking. Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trevallyn House B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing