We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Class Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trevallyn House B & B
Ranked #1 of 3 Riverside B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“1st Class Accommodation”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Spent the first three nights of our 10 day stay in Tasmania at Trevallyn House. This has got to be the best B&B we have ever stayed in. Janie and Brett were the nicest people you could want to meet and were excellent hosts with a great knowledge of places of interest for day trips. Brett's breakfasts were exceptional and wish he did home deliveries to the mainland.The rooms were lovely, very well appointed, very clean and very comfortable. A great location, short distance to Launceston. Sitting on the front deck overlooking the river was a perfect end to the day, a view to die for. Overall a wonderful stay and would definitely stay next time we are in Launceston. Thanks again Janie and Brett for your wonderful hospitality. (Kerrie & Dennis)

Room Tip: We stayed in the 2 room suite....very spacious...great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
We appreciate your feedback greatly and it inspires us to keep doing our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    18
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
93
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our first night of a 12 night trip to Tasmania. Excellent room and guest facilities and a sincere warm welcome.

The breakfast is to die for!

It's about 5 km from the town centre but only a short walk to the local bus stop.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cillin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
We have wonderful people passing thru our B & B and thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Have just had another three nights in the cottage at Trevallyn House and once again Janie & Brett continue to excel. They are always so welcoming and obliging. The cottage is comfortable, exceptionally clean and well appointed. Of course the views are outstanding as is the garden. This is such a great location for day trips around the Tamar and Launceston area. The breakfasts are wonderful - thank you both once again for such a lovely place to stay. (Stephen & Wendy, WA) :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lollipop888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
It is always an absolute pleasure catching up with you both when you come to Tassie. Very pleased you enjoyed you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penguin, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed in the cottage at Trevallyn House. There were 3 of us and it had ample space for us all, and we found the 2 tv's useful. The bed was extremely comfortable. The views were pleasant and it was lovely sitting on the deck gazing over the river. The complimentary port was great at bed time. The breakfast was excellent, ample choice, lots to eat, and cooked superbly. We also enjoyed being able to talk to other guests around the breakfast table. Very close to Launceston. Only down side was the slow water pressure in the shower but the plusses definitely outweighed this. Highly recommended and a nice change from hotel accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithJ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
It pleases us greatly to hear that you had such a nice time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2013

~What a lovely spot. The rooms and accommodation were great but the best part is the amazing breakfast provided as part of the room rate. We stayed int eh apartment and it was just perfect for us. Janie & Brett were so welcoming and we were only there for one night too! What special people they are. Thoroughly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Thank you very much. You have given us such a compliment and we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We have just completed 3 nights stay at Trevallyn House and although we rarely do reviews, we felt this B&B deserved a positive review. By luck we chose Trevallyn House via our research on the internet. We were greeted at the door as we drove in after a long day of travel, shown to our very large, spotless and beautifully decorated room with ensuite and spare room and shown around the house and its beautiful gardens. We were made to feel at home immediately by our wonderful hosts. The queen size bed was as comfortable as the one at home. Breakfast was to die for, superbly presented and tasty with a variety rarely available at other B&Bs. The assorted fruit dish was an unexpected addition to our cooked breakfast; our compliments to the chef. The location, although out of Launceston, was ideal as we wanted to get away from the hustle and bustle of a city and if we did want to go to Launceston, it was only a 5 - 10 min drive. The views across the Tamar River and Valley was spectacular as was the garden. We would have no hesitation to recommend Trevallyn House to anyone and when we go back to Tassie and Launceston in particular, we know where we will be staying again.

Arend & Kay de Weger, Gumdale, Queensland

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akdeweger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
We are thrilled you had such a great stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to Tassie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed or stay at Trevallyn House
We were fortunate enough to stay in the cottage overlooking the magnificent homestead we enjoyed for breakfast. Our Hosts Brett and Jane were extremely accommodating in any requests we had and the efforts they made in preparing meals was extraordinary.
The views in particular from the dining room are “Postcard Perfect” and you have no choice but to relax overlooking the manicured Gardens
We are looking forward to getting back there next time we are in Launceston

Room Tip: The cottage is great little oasis right next to the main House, Very Worth while
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pansec11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
We are delighted you had such a great experience staying with us. Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverside
2.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
2.3 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
852 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#5 of 30 in Launceston
727 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ashton Gate Guest House
Ashton Gate Guest House
#2 of 31 in Launceston
177 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kurrajong House
Kurrajong House
#1 of 31 in Launceston
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trevallyn House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevallyn House B & B

Property: Trevallyn House B & B
Address: 83a Riverside Dr, Riverside, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trevallyn House B & B 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautifully appointed rooms with a blend of antique and modern furniture with queens size beds, luxury linen and a spa in each suite. 2 Bedroom self-contained Spa Cottage with lovely views.   5 Minutes from Launceston's City Centre,  the Cataract Gorge and the Tamar Valley Wine Route.  Offering an idyllic blend of comfort and convenience.  The Gourmet breakfast is something specia. Guest Lounge with wonderful views.  Ample off street parking. Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trevallyn House B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing