We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful and beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trevallyn House B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Trevallyn House B & B
Ranked #1 of 3 Riverside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful and beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

I have stayed here now 3 times for highland dancing competitions and will be there again on Monday and next month. First place I will a,ways call as I know it's welcoming, friendly, guaranteed a good nights sleep and a great brekkie :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 443Dancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It is always an absolute pleasure having you and the family stay with us. Always nice catch up with guests who keep returning to stay with us. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    18
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
45
90
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Jamie and Brett were wonderful hosts!! We traveled with our 14 month old and their Cottage was just perfect. The quality of breakfast was an unusually excellent surprise. Set high on a hill, the views across the river are beautiful and the grounds are great for our little one to have a small kick around. Can't recommend them highly enough and being just round the road from the supermarket made the location even better. If we make it back to Launceston, we will definitely stay at Trevallyn again. Thanks Jamie and Brett.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at our place. It is fantastic to hear that you had such a great stay. We try very hard to make sure everyone has a great experience. Great to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast which are very special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We needed to spend 2 nights in Launceston Tasmania and went "On Line' to book our accommodation. We also wanted somewhere that included breakfast in the price. We liked the look and sound of Trevallyn House B & B and booked our room.
Only a few minutes drive from the heart of Launceston, we arrived to be met by our host, Janie as we drove in the driveway. She showed us to our room, and my goodness, what a surprise. The room was opulent, the views from the full room length window overlooked the Tamar River and valley was just splendid. Waiting for us was a decanter of delicious Port and a glass was immediately sampled. It was so delicious, we followed it with another glass to see if the second was as good as the first.........................even better.
After a wonderful nights sleep in the perfect bed, we rose for breakfast, to be totally amazed by the culinary expertise of Brett, the co-owner and obviously the gourmet cook. What a breakfast!! Yum yum yum.
Anyone looking for premier accommodation in the Launceston area, you cannot surpass the Trevally House B & B. Go ahead, try it and you too will be more than gloriously satified.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1 and it was just perfect in every way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Hello Pieter, Thank you for your amazing review of "Trevallyn House". We are so pleased that you both enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We are a family of 4. Hosts were friendly, helpful and knowledgable. Gourmet breakfast was yum (highly recommend the mediterranean choice!) and totally tailored to your individual tastes. Rooms lovely and clean. Beds comfortable and heated. Children welcomed. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyJohnstone74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Hi Mandy, It was a pleasure having you and the family stay with us and we hope to see you back one day. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Tassie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed two nights and it was the most excellent place to stay and we would highly recommend it.
Janie and Brett were excellent hosts and were very helpful in directing us to where to visit around Launceston and we are glad we took their advice also on where to eat.
We also enjoyed the most delicious breakfasts, one could ever wish for.
We definitely will be visiting Trevallyn House again.
We give them a 10/10.
Neville, Leonie and Matthew.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neville O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Hi Neville, Leonie & Matthew, We really appreciated your great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and we always try to let guests know about the best things to see in Launceston and the Tamar Valley. We really look forward to seeing you all again. Janie & Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whyalla, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights when in Launceston recently, due to arrived our late flight into Launceston we made prior arrangements with Janie who was very happy to accomodate our travel plans, Janie even waited up to meet & greet us on our late arrival. This was our first stay at a B&B and we found it ecxcellent, the breakfasts we had were excellent. We even made mention at one point of our fussy 4 year olds breakfast appetite during a conversation the day before, the next morning we found Janie had made a special trip out to accomodate for him. This was well above of expectation and is a simple example as to why Trevallyn House has such a good rating on Trip Advisor. The unit that we stayed in was very spacious and extremely clean & comfortable. We would recommend Trevallyn House to anyone with kids or without. Nice views from over the valley looking towards the Tamar River. Thanks Janie & Brett for the fabulous level of service & accomodation that we received on our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackSmith26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
We always try to accommodate people's needs when they stay with us. We appreciate your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Stayed two nights during driving tour of Tassie. Picturesque location in a well appointed stately home perched above the Tamar Valley, close to, but not in, Launceston town. Our host, Janie, made us feel very welcome and provided excellent advice on where to eat and things to see. Room was well appointed with a large ensuite, including shower and spa bath. The guest lounge was very comfortable with a warming fire and complimentary Port. Breakfast was a standout and I wished we'd stayed longer than our two nights so I could try all the options! Trevallyn House is great value and a most enjoyable experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Many thanks for your great review. We would love you come back and try the other Breakfast options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverside
2.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
2.3 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
2.8 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
3.1 mi away
Ashton Gate Guest House
Ashton Gate Guest House
#2 of 31 in Launceston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kurrajong House
Kurrajong House
#1 of 31 in Launceston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trevallyn House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevallyn House B & B

Property: Trevallyn House B & B
Address: 83a Riverside Dr, Riverside, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trevallyn House B & B 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautifully appointed rooms with a blend of antique and modern furniture with queens size beds, luxury linen and a spa in each suite. 2 Bedroom Spa Cottage with lovely views.   5 Minutes from Launceston's City Centre,  the Cataract Gorge and the Tamar Valley Wine Route.  Offering an idyllic blend of comfort and convenience.  The Gourmet breakfast is something special. Guest Lounge with wonderful views.  Ample off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Trevallyn House B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing