We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trevallyn House B & B
Ranked #1 of 3 Riverside B&B and Inns
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best place to stay”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Both my partner and i loved this place. Its close to shops and the Cataract Gorge,but once you get there you fell as if you are surrounded by peace and quiet.
The hosts Janie and Brett (i hope i got the names right) are very lovely people and her breakfasts are fantastic, her homemade fig jam was delightful. The view from the dining room was spectacular.
We stayed in the spa cabin and it had its own little kitchen, the beds were comfy and everything was spotless. Well done, would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Try and get the cabin, but having talked to fellow travellers who had stayed in the main house they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hi Christine, It was a pleasure looking after you both and we look forward to your return and we still have some of the fig jam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    18
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
93
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My husband and I stayed in the cottage (which fit up to 4 people) and the cottage was LOVELY! It is quiet, clean, had all the basic amenities, a very comfortable bed and a wonderful view.

The host Janie is extremely nice and the breakfast she prepared was superb!! Every question I had during the booking process were attended to promptly and patiently, and 1 night between 2 that we were away to Cradle Mountain, Janie allowed us to leave all our luggages in the cottage as we're lucky enough that night the cottage wasn't booked! That saved us a lot of packing hassle and enjoyed our vacation to the max.

The B&B is around 3-4 min drive away from the Launceston city centre and provides free parking. A supermarket nearby and with all the cookwares in kitchen.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janjantong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
We are very pleased that you enjoyed staying in our Cottage and had a superb!!! breakfast and we hope you had a great time touring and exploring Tasmania.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

If you want a good spot for a base to explore the Tamar Valley, Trevallyn House is a very pleasant B and B. the room we stayed in was spacious - really a bed- sitting room. We arrived very tired and were pleased to find we could easily nick down to the local supermarket to buy some provisions to 'eat in' for dinner. Basic kitchen crockery and cutlery were provided and we had a relaxing wine on the patio outside, overlooking the river flats. There was also a comfortable lounge for visitors that would have been lovely on a cold afternoon. The hosts were friendly and non intrusive, and the breakfast next morning was excellent. It's a short drive to Launceston and to local restaurants, so not really for those who want a city base, but great if you want an early start to the wineries or north coast. A barbeque for the use of guests would have been a good idea.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hello Susan, Thank you for your review and pleased you enjoyed staying with us. We have 2 BBQ's for Guests to use. The Cottage has a lovely deck area with a BBQ and then there is another one in the back Courtyard for the in house Guests. Hopefully you will be able to use it next time you are here. Cheers Janie & Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This was the last place we stayed on our Honeymoon and was our favourite. Extremely comfortable, a great place for a couple or I would come back with my sisters. The cooked breakfast was delicious and the hosts were wonderful. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LozMonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
So pleased that you were able to stay with us on your Honeymoon and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

As we had been here before, we booked again without hesitation because of our great memories of our first visit. We were not disappointed. We arrived way to early but was it a problem? No way! Our hosts came out in the rain to enquire as to why we were sitting in our car at that hour. When we explained, our host rapidly prepared our cottage with a smile. The crowning glory was the gourmet breakfast. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Brett & I are pleased that you decided to stay with us again and we were only too happy to help ut when you arrived early. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your tour of Tassie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Outstanding quality of room and a superb breakfast. I would thoroughly recommend it to anybody.

The choice at breakfast exceeded anything I have ever been offered before.

Location outside of the city centre - but only minutes by car.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKtraveller60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Pleased that you enjoyed our hospitality and were able to experience Brett's breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and could not have wished for anywhere better. The facilities are lovely - a great sitting room, a lovely bedroom and an outside seating area overlooking the Tamar river. The cooked breakfast defeated me, sadly. It was difficult to choose which option to go for. A great find.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JeffandLiz36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
It was wonderful to meet you on your trip to Tasmania and happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverside
2.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
2.5 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
867 reviews
5.0 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#5 of 30 in Launceston
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
362 reviews
2.3 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
866 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trevallyn House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevallyn House B & B

Property: Trevallyn House B & B
Address: 83a Riverside Dr, Riverside, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trevallyn House B & B 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautifully appointed rooms with a blend of antique and modern furniture with queens size beds, luxury linen and a spa in each suite. 2 Bedroom self-contained Spa Cottage with lovely views.   5 Minutes from Launceston's City Centre,  the Cataract Gorge and the Tamar Valley Wine Route.  Offering an idyllic blend of comfort and convenience.  The Gourmet breakfast is something specia. Guest Lounge with wonderful views.  Ample off street parking. Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trevallyn House B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing