We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant B&B”
Visting Wallabies
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Visting Wallabies
View from the private balcony Queen Bedroom 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Visting Wallabies
View from the private balcony
Queen Bedroom 1
Private balcony
Lounge
Visting Echidna
Early Morning Fog Lifting
Black Cockatoos
Queen Bedroom  2
View from the river
Balcony View
Backyard
Front View and Off Street Parking
River walk
River Reflections
Antiques
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Blackstone Heights, Launceston, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
djs680
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
“Brilliant B&B”
Reviewed 17 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We stayed here over Christmas which was perfect. Jane was extremely thoughtful (made gingerbread houses for our two kids!) and set up a tent on the deck for them to sleep in which made for a very special Christmas Eve!

The wildlife was terrific and we spent a lovely time there.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2018
The gingerbread houses seem to be a win each Christmas with the children, and the swag/tent on the balcony seems to be going well you were the first ones to enjoy the new swag/tent! I must try it myself going to bed watching the stars and watching the wildlife from bed can be an experience not many have had before. Many thanks for the review and all the best for 2018.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alia A
3 reviews
“Superb”
Reviewed 30 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Greeted warmly and shown to a beautiful guest suite with all mod cons and beautiful views over a river. The creatures that abounded in the area were visible from the extensive balcony. The hillsides opposite afforded views of more wildlife.The garden was a joy to look down into.Files and files available of information on the area. Live web cam of the wildlife was amazing. Lovely housing area. Tranquill and ideal for exploring. We hope to go back there one day

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2018
Hello Alia, Thank you for the review and it is lovely to hear that people have enjoyed the space and wildlife that call the retreat home.I'm always on the outlook for more information about Tasmania that can be shared with guests and i love hearing that guests are interested in fauna and flora and the history of Tasmania. I hope to see you back again one day and I hope 2018 brings you health and happiness. Regards Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel Q
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Unique wildlife experience and a homely stay”
Reviewed 6 October 2017 for a stay in August 2017

My family and I enjoyed a 3 day-2 night stay in this lovely abode. We enjoyed the unique experience of being up-close with wildlife (e.g. literally inches away from the possum). The place was comfortable (cozy, heated beds, lovely antique furniture etc.) and Jane was always at hand when we needed any extra help. We appreciated the special effort in creating an "Asian corner" which contained spices we used when we prepared our meals. We were also able to enjoy a full day tour with her partner who operates a tour service. Would definitely recommended this bed and breakfast over the typical hotel experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2017
Thank you Daniel for the review I am happy that you and the family enjoyed the retreat with the wildlife up close. The possums do like to get on the guests balcony and look around from time to time. Spring is here and there is a lot of activity with all the wildlife at present. I hope to see you all back again one day. Regards jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clairemda...
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Perfect getaway and lovely host”
Reviewed 4 October 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This is a perfect getaway. We stayed here in March with our young daughter and loved how homely and cosy it was, the quiet and peaceful location and most importantly, seeing the animals every night in the garden. It was so relaxing and we were very well taken care of. I can't recommend the B&B highly enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2017
Thank you Claire for the review. I am always looking to improve the surroundings for the guests. The balcony is about to have a roof put in it to make it totally rain proof and pull down blinds to keep the rain out making the stay even better. Guests will be able to sit outside on their balcony and enjoy the views and wildlife no matter what the weather is like. Regards Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R A
Rockville, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful B&B Surrounded by Nature”
Reviewed 2 October 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We apologize for writing this review so late. Things got hectic on our return to the US. I thought I had written the review already. This was a superb B&B! The setting is in a residential neighborhood overlooking the South Esk River. Had we known the setting was as beautiful as it was, we would have changed our plans and stayed here longer. Everything about this B&B was wonderful. It had WiFi, wildlife cameras in the backyard, all the food provisions we needed. Jane, our host, was very friendly, she explained what's to see, do and eat in the area. Plus, she was just a lovely person to have conversation with. Since my wife was on a Gluten-Free, soy-free and dairy-free diet, Jane made sure all the provisions we had were acceptable for my wife. I cannot emphasize enough what a tremendously positive impact this one small aspect had on the quality of our experience! On both nights, we saw plenty of wildlife....so no disappointment there. The town center was an easy few minutes drive.
If you're into wildlife, proximity to nature and hiking trails along with serene and quiet nights, then this is the B&B for you. If we get back to Tasmania, we will be sure to book a longer stay at this B&B. Thank you, Jane!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2017
Many thanks for the wonderful review, I do love to hear how guests enjoyed their stay and I'm please you enjoyed it enough to visit again one day. Being Spring at present we are woken up each morning to the sound of birds at this time of year they are in full force. We are about to install a large black water feature with huge bird bath just outside the BnB balcony so going forward the guests are going to enjoy watching the very colourful Tasmania green parrots taking a bath along with all the other birds in the area. Looking forward to seeing you is it again one day. Regards from Jane and the wildlife.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adetravel...
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing experience and luxurious relaxation”
Reviewed 29 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed for three nights and if I had one word to say it would be - Wonderful!
The rooms are decked out in luxury and comfort. The breakfast provisions cover all tastes and even supplies of food to feed the wildlife in the back yard. We had wonderful evenings watching the visiting wallabies and possums and in the daytime........the birds!! The accommodation is close to town without being in it and easily accessible to all major routes through Tasmania's lovely north. If you are a nature lover, a traveler, or just a lover of relaxing and enjoying the magical scenery, This is the best place to stay in Launceston.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2017
Thank you for the review Joy it was certainly lovely to catch up and its always welcoming to have someone in the retreat that loves nature day and night. I have many others say the same thing that relaxing a few days on a busy journey is important after all it is a holiday but at the same time the retreat is a great location to base yourself when exploring the north of Tasmania. I hope to see you back again one day. Regards Jane Oakley-Lohm
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tranquil b&b retreat in suburban Launceston”
Reviewed 13 March 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We loved our three nights in this beautiful home away from home, overlooking the tranquil North Esk River, with lovely gardens and lots of wildlife coming in at dusk to feed. A generous breakfast is provided, and the welcome pack has lots of ideas for activities in and around Launceston. You will need a GPS system or a phone with GPS to find it, particularly if you are arriving at night.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2017
Thank you David for the review, I glad you enjoyed the views of the South Esk River and wildlife. For people coming to the retreat if you keep following the signs to the Launceston Country Club Casino you will then see the sign to the retreat. I also can send out maps to show you the way in. Looking forward to seeing you back again David. Kind regards Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing