We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Innkeeper”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bristol
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Murphy Guest House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Bristol B&B and Inns
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Innkeeper”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

No one will make you feel more welcomed and more at home than Ann at Murphy's Guest House. From the moment we arrived she was friendly and warm. She even made me gluten free snacks and breakfast when she found out I was gluten intolerant.

The inn is in a great location, nicely decorated and all at a great value. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: One of the rooms has a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
26
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Murphy Guest House has become a home away from home. We love the proprietor and her fabulous breakfasts and welcome baskets. Visits there always make us want to go back again. The theater in town offers wonderful productions. Worth going to a play.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We have "scrapped" with Ann multiple times and returned recently to catch up with her. The room was comfortable and very clean. The breakfast was enough to keep us satisfied through dinner. You can even request lunch boxes for a reasonable fee to take with you for your trip home.
The expanded tea shop and the addition of flavored sugars and other spices provided lots of taste tests and group discussions. Ann offers knowledge & suggestions for whatever you have in mind.
We've been to many weekend crops and Ann is very open to requests specific to our craft. She is tops! We plan to return with group of 7+ to scrapbook at the end of the month and are ecstatic to have her as host.
Thanks Ann!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Y2Kuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noblesville, Indiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

We were in this area for a wedding, and Murphy Guest House was recommended to us. We had only stayed in one bed and breakfast, and we were unsure of how we would like it. For starters, the home is lovely--high ceilings and original trim work (beautiful wood). The rooms were good-sized and comfortable. The proprietor's attention to detail is amazing: "Welcome" cheese and crackers, strawberries dipped in chocolate (with our initials on them), bed-side water carafe with ice water, turn down service with mints on pillow, coffee and a wonderful selection of teas, a frig outside the bedroom with water and ice cream, and a gourmet breakfast with an elegant table setting. The attention to detail was amazing!
Murphy Guest House exceeded our expectations. We were very pleased!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I love Chicago. I also love leaving Chicago. Murphy Guest House was the perfect escape from the city - it's reasonably priced, and the Victorian house is a beautiful setting for curling up with a good book or a game (thankfully, it isn't overwhelmed by frills and lace, like so many bed and breakfasts seem wont to be). Ann is an incredible host - it's clear that she loves what she does.

We were greeted with sparkling juice, chocolate-covered strawberries with our initials drawn in white chocolate, grapes, and a little plate of cheese and crackers. And our names were written on a chalkboard welcome sign outside of our room. What a welcome! We stayed in Jayme's Room, and the bed was a contender for The Most Comfortable Bed Ever. I kid you not, it really was that good. I'd be tempted to take it home, but my little car would never be able to hold it.

There's ice cream and bottled water in the fridge, a large selection of excellent teas downstairs (Ann also sells tea), and candy everywhere. We had a breakfast of waffles with fresh fruits and whipped cream, lavender bread, scones, ham, scrambled eggs, and Orange Julius. I tried valiantly, but couldn't even come close to finishing it all. Also: I will be reverse-engineering the Orange Julius. My boyfriend and I couldn't stop talking about it. (Ann was kind enough to list the ingredients for me, so experimentation begins tomorrow.)

Since we'd gotten into a conversation about how much we loved dogs, Ann also introduced us to Pixie, who promptly decided we were friends and demanded our attentions in the best way possible. (This may have been my boyfriend's favorite part of the morning.)

All in all, it was a fantastic, relaxing way to spend a couple of days. We're looking forward to coming back (hopefully for longer next time!).

Room Tip: There are only three rooms, but they all look lovely. They're all on the second floor, which may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming, Ohio
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay very much. Ann is an excellent hostess and has a fine eye for detail. The historic home has nicely decorated rooms, is tastefully finished and the breakfast was wonderful! She also has a very nice tea shop in the home. Highly recommended if you are in the Bristol or South Bend area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danjiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend. In
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

My husband and I went to the Murphy Guest House for my birthday. We were greeted by Ann. She had gone over and above to make sure that our stay was very special. The room was so pretty and the king size bed so comfy. The scones, the lavender bread, the lemon curd. and the devonshire cream were deicious.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraJSouthBend_In
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bristol
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
8.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Elkhart
8.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Elkhart
Red Roof Inn - Elkhart
#10 of 22 in Elkhart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Garden Inn
The Garden Inn
#12 of 22 in Elkhart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
12.7 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy Guest House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy Guest House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Murphy Guest House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 112 S Division St, PO Box 66, Bristol, IN 46507-9496
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 1875 Victorian Home. All 3 rooms have private baths. A candlelight full gourmet breakfast served each morning. Close to Amish Country, canoeing and kayaking, Bonneville Mill Park for hiking and cross-country skiing. There is a beautiful flower garden view from each bedroom window. Cable TV and wireless internet. Easy access to Notre Dame, 3 minutes off of the toll road. We offer a complete pampering experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing