We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
At Home In The Woods Bed And Breakfast
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Chesterton
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Chesterton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Chesterton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cool Springs Inn(Michigan City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
63
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteam showersmoky mountainb bindiana duneswooded surroundingsdelightful hostsmountain roomthe main housea wonderful stayenjoyed our stayfireplacefeedersvalparaisomichiganaccommodations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We enjoyed a fall evening at the "Home in the Woods BB" and found the accomodations very
comfortable and relaxing. The color was near peak and added to the enjoyable experience. We would highly recommend this bed and breakfast experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickSJM58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My son and I spent one night at the inn. We shared the Smoky Mountain Room, which has a king bed and also a small interior room with a twin bed. It was extremely clean. My only complaint was the room seemed slightly musty on arrival, but that was quickly remedied by opening a window. The beds were very comfortable and the steam shower was luxurious! Scott and Victoria are thoughtful and helpful hosts. A delcious dessert was provided in the evening and breakfast the following morning was wonderful. The inn is located on a quiet street and the grounds are beautiful. We genuinely enjoyed our stay and can easily recommend the inn to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The wife and I stayed here Fri. Oct 25th - Sun. Oct. 27th, 2013 - as we were attending a Gary Chapman "The Marriage You've Always Wanted" conference at nearby Liberty Bible Church in Chesterton. Victoria greeted us and gave us a tour, and prepared for us the most marvelous breakfasts each morning of our stay. She also gave us great local restaurant recommendations (Don Quitoes in Valparaiso and LaCreiza's in Chesterton). We met her husband Scott on Sunday morning and he was instrumental in making arrangements for my wife to get her coat back from the restaurant we left it at the night before! The room was very comfy. We especially loved the Rocky Mountain room large whirlpool tub. The bed was very comfortable - and the pillows were too (a tough thing for me to find). We highly recommend this place as a pleasant alternative to the ordinary hotels out there. Desserts were great at night too! We hope to return to visit the Dunes and local shops in Valparaiso!! Only downsides was our limited time to enjoy everything available there (treadmill, trails, pool in the summer, hot tub, steam spa - [we forgot our swimsuits - but they had some we could have bought!]) Thanks, Victoria & Scott!

Room Tip: double person sized whirlpool tub in the Rocky Mountain room!!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank russellherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I've stayed in a lot of B&B's all over the world and this is one is really amazing. The owners just go out of their way to address every detail possible to make it a quality experience. From the pool to the steam shower to the hot tub and jacuzzi's, you just have everything. We stayed in the downstairs room and the decor was lovely, homey and comfortable. The room itself was was plenty for us, but there was also a kitchenette and big living room just outside the door. We toured the upstairs rooms before leaving and found them charming as well. Dessert is provided in the evening (and left out so you can have as much as you'd like), gourmet coffees and teas available round the clock and a full breakfast in the morning where you have the chance to meet the other guests. It's also very close to the Dunes which is why we came to northern Indiana. Treat yourself....this is 'home' the way I wish it could be all the time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 32gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtHomeInTheWoods, Owner at At Home In The Woods Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thanks for such a nice review. We so much enjoyed having you here and getting to know you. Hope to see you back sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

At Home in the Woods was the perfect way to start off our month-long honeymoon roadtrip. Scott was an excellent host (after reading the other reviews, I'm disappointed we didn't get to meet his wife Victoria). Having a dessert for us each night was such a nice touch, and they were delicious! As the other reviewers mentioned, there was less boundary between innkeeper and guest then I am used to, but at no point during our stay did it feel intrusive. We stayed in the Smokey Mountain room and it was excellent, I loved being able to walk out our door and go into the hot tub. Having the game room and DVD library was a nice touch. The setting is beautiful, you really do feel like you are out in the middle of the woods, I'm disappointed we didn't get to take advantage of the hiking trail. Breakfast each morning was delicious, we loved sitting with Scott and hearing all of his traveling stories, we also really appreciated the time he took to show us around the house, print out a train schedule so we didn't have to drive into Chicago, and the burger place he recommended, Octave Grill, was excellent! Don't let the small amount of reviews dissuade you, this place is worthy of 5+++ stars! Thank you again for such a wonderful stay Scott. We will return!!

Room Tip: Smokey Mountain room was great, as we could walk right out our door into the hot tub.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil and Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews