We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at reasonable prices.”

George's Gyros Spot
Ranked #23 of 67 Restaurants in Chesterton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Greek, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable prices.”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Good food and good service. One of the better food venues in Chesterton. Worth checking it out. Great burgers and great Gyros.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tot450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    22
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterton, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great "go to" restaurant.”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

When the family chooses "take out" on Fridays it usually is George's we choose! From spot-on authentic Chicago dogs to Italian w/ au jus George's always pleases! Many other yummy choices too! If you want to eat in there are booths and a lovely aquarium to keep the little ones amused!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mizkmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Shores, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“THE PRICE IS RIGHT!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

When we are really in need of something like a CHICAGO HOT DOG or some GYROS this is the place to go!!! IF YOU ARE IN THE AREA!!! Not like a place to go to for a date!!! The HOT DOGS are really good and the SPECIAL, which includes TWO HOT DOGS and FRIES is really great!!! Cost on a Special is $5.09. The GYROS is standard and you get VERY LITTLE of the added extras, like onions, lettuce, hot peppers, or FETA!!! But the PITA is GOOD, ($3.89). Never did the burgers and stuff, but judging from the FRIES, they must be good!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porter, Indiana
Level Contributor
195 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“love the gyros”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I have never eaten inside so i can't rate this. I can say that take is ready within five minutes. my husband and i order often from here and split the gyro plate, comes with two pitas and enough meat to over fill two of them, i really like their cucumber sauce that comes with it. I have tried the lemon rice soup in the past it is good but i generally crave the gyro from here. recently tried some onion rings was hoping they would be more like the homemade kind but they were not. food prices are very reasonable and they serve large amounts of food from my expercience. They have a big menu to choose from.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterton, Indiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Losing their touch”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Georges has always been a favorite food burgers,hotdogs,gyros,soups and chili. Our family recently went on a saturday night august 24, 2013 and found the food to be sub par. The lemon rice soup that was always a favorite was runny and tasted bad. The chili was just down right
Bad - almost to hard to stomach. Quality of food coming out of the kitchen seems to be worse when Paul the owner is not there. I hope they get it squared away because I like the joint but one more meal like the one just had I will not go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed George's Gyros Spot also viewed

 

Been to George's Gyros Spot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing