We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovations well done”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Indian Oak
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chesterton
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Renovations well done”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We have been staying at this Best Western for few years now. The management is always doing something new to make our stays better every time. On our this visit, we saw new furniture and carpets in the rooms with new decor. It is reasonably priced and just off of I 94. Breakfast has been always good with lot of options than just bagels and donuts.

Room Tip: They have onsite bar now.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil p, General Manager at Best Western Indian Oak, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel and I appreciate you taking the time to do so. I’m so happy to hear that you enjoyed our newly remodeled rooms. And yes sir we are always doing something new to our property and I thank you for noticing. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. My staff and I thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    132
    64
    17
    31
See reviews for
139
117
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We wanted to take a weekend away from home but not go too far so we decided Best Western close to home would be the best option. We were not wrong at all. Originally staying here was for the pools use only due to have two young children, but my husband and I had a great time also. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The rooms were very beautiful. Newly renovated rooms with comfortable beds was just what we needed for the weekend. The wildlife around the hotel was great! There also was not a shortage of places to go eat in the area. We will definitely come back here quite a few times before the summer is over!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cari D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil p, General Manager at Best Western Indian Oak, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel, I appreciate you taking the time to do so. Yes it is true we have an oversize pool and lot families like to stay here with us just for that reason. I am glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. My staff and I thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

the stay was comfortable, the breakfast was substantial, the room was clean and had everything necessary for a short stay, the hall looks cosy, the hotel is close to the lake michigan, a 10-minute drive.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vesna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil p, General Manager at Best Western Indian Oak, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel, I appreciate you taking the time to do so. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. My staff and I thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed here in March with a group of basketball player did we ever have the red carpet treatment! It was by far the most relaxing comfortable welcome home experience I've ever had. We were allowed to use not only the breakfast room but the lobby as well at our leisure. It was such a warm atmosphere the staff were superb I can not say enough but "Thank You"

Room Tip: lake view rooms great sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 180Sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil p, General Manager at Best Western Indian Oak, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel, I appreciate you taking the time to do so. I am glad you and your team enjoyed your stay with us, as brief as it was. We enjoy that our guests feel welcome at our property, and like to see them taking advantage of our oversized lobby. My staff and I thank you for your kind words and hope to see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beloit, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

First the rooms were clean and I noticed that they had just finished updating the rooms. The renovations were a great change from the other Hotels I have been in on my Vacation. My Husband and I enjoyed the view of the pond. Just sorry we didn't have a chance to walk to it because of the weather. We have marked this Hotel as a much return.

Room Tip: I would tell all my friends if you are ever in the neighborhood of this Hotel it I a must to stop in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil p, General Manager at Best Western Indian Oak, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for leaving us your thoughts about our property. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. My staff and I thank you very much for your review and encouragement and look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saline, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Husband & I stayed here on March 1, 2014. We called ahead as we were driving thru a snowstorm. Upon our arrival, late at night, we were greeted by huge rolls of carpeting in the lobby, a room on the second floor with no elevator (which we changed), torn furniture, stained carpeting, no pictures on the wall, and shower fixtures that were not secured to the wall. The manager claimed that they were "under renovation" but had not mentioned this prior to our arrival. Don't waste your time or $$ on this property!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil p, General Manager at Best Western Indian Oak, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for writing a review for our hotel. We value each guest’s feedback and greatly appreciate you taking the time to do so. I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy stay at my property. Yes it is true we are under a big renovation. We are replacing the carpet, furniture, painting the entire rooms as well as replacing our art work at the same time. And unfortunately the weather has not been nice to us and at the time we receive our brand new carpeting we were not able to have the carpet cut and store probably and the big rolls only fit in our lobby. It is my hope that you would give us a second chance and stay with us after all of our renovation is complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dwight, Illinois
Level Contributor
159 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I have stayed here several times before and it has always been enjoyable. The staff is very pleasant, the hotel is clean and the rooms are very comfortable. The pool/hot tub area is always enjoyable. Every other year an organization I belong to has their awards banquet in Chesterton and we always get a block of rooms at this Hotel for our group. This facility has always been very accommodating and my reservation is always there with no problems and the room is always very nice! Thank you Indian Oaks for helping to make this years Banquet weekend an enjoyable one!

Room Tip: There is no elevator - might want to stay downstairs if you have a lot of luggage or ask for help on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dasco474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil p, General Manager at Best Western Indian Oak, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very happy to hear that my staff made your stay with us very enjoyable. My staff and I thank you very much for your review and encouragement, and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesterton
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
0.1 mi away
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
#4 of 5 in Chesterton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
6.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Portage
Hampton Inn Portage
#3 of 10 in Portage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Indian Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Indian Oak

Property: Best Western Indian Oak
Address: 558 Indian Boundary Rd, Chesterton, IN 46304-1515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Chesterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chesterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Indian Oak 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Indian Oak! Our two story 61 room hotel is conveniently located off I-80 and I-94 near Lake Michigan, Valparaiso University, and only 5 MINUTES from the Indiana Dunes State Park. Plus Chicago O'Hare International Airport is only 65 miles away, and Chicago Midway International Airport is a brisk 51-mile drive. We offer an amazing location with a gorgeous lake, with lake-view specialty rooms and some of our rooms have fireplaces and whirlpools. Pick up a complimentary newspaper in the lobby before heading to a free full hot breakfast. Afterward, go for a swim in the indoor pool, soak in the hot tub, work up a sweat in the gym. Our hotel features unbeatable amenities including: in-room Wi-Fi, 39" flat screen TVs, mini-fridge, microwaves, and coffee makers in all of our rooms. We have a 24-hour business and fitness center. We also have the Indian Oak Pub where nightcaps are our specialty along with affordable rates. Whether you are the business traveler, traveling for leisure, or with your family, we are just the place for you! We look forward to seeing you soon!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Indian Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Indian Oak Hotel Chesterton
Best Western Chesterton
Indian Oak Resort Spa
Best Western Hotel Chesterton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing