We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre - Would not Recommend” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Indian Oak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Indian Oak
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chesterton
1 review
“Mediocre - Would not Recommend”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I would not recommend this hotel due to its lack of cleanliness and its mediocre breakfast and service. We stayed there one night. We did like the sitting areas in the room and in the lobby because we stayed with friends and we were able to visit. However, one night was enough. I was disappointed with the hotel which I now consider pricey for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank M193FGsusanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil p, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Indian Oak, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at my property. Yes it is true our rooms are oversized with a pull out couch in them, and makes it really nice to visit. Our spacious lobby is nice as well to have visitors come and visit with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    129
    64
    16
    31
See reviews for
134
117
28
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Hotel was clean, staff polite and professional. Parking was open and well lighted. Rooms was comfortable and A/C worked well. Breakfast was suficient with breads, cereals, boiled eggs, sausage and waffles.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rusty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil p, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Indian Oak, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for writing a review for our hotel. We value each guest’s feedback and greatly appreciate you taking the time to do so. I am happy to hear that my staff made you feel welcome at our hotel. My staff and I thank you very much for your review and encouragement and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, Mo, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This place was very clean, filled with friendly, helpful staff and has a great indoor pool, deck, fitness center and comfortable beds. We will definitely recommend this place to others! There is a beach about 8 min. from the hotel and the staff gave us many suggestions, directions and went out of their way to make our stay wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil p, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Indian Oak, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for leaving us your thoughts about our property. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. My staff and I thank you very much for your review and encouragement and look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

It had been awhile since staying at a Best Western but this one didn't disappoint. We took advantage of a discount from being a Harley rider and enjoyed our stay. You can tell the rooms must have been recetnly updated becasue everything in them seemed very new. They appeared to take their time and did the room up nice. The bathroom while having some new fictures looks like they could have used a little better painter but that's being picky.
We stayed here because it's just down the road (5 mins) from Indiana Dunes State park. Very nice place to visit and real close by.
Our breakfast was acceptable and plenty to eat, while not the best I've had at hotels more than enough to get you fill. The staff I worked with were both friendly and helpful. They even had the abiltiy to get a drink if you wished at a very small bar. I didn't use the pool but looking at it, it seemed clean. You have a great veiw of a small lake out back. Overall nice stay and if back in the area I would return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ret1sg82abn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil p, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Indian Oak, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very happy to hear that my staff made your stay with us very enjoyable. My staff and I thank you very much for your review and encouragement, and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterton, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I have stayed here on a regular basis over the past 5 years and have always enjoyed it. The owner has just recently completed an extensive upgrade in all the rooms. The location is great with easy access to I-80 and I-94. Plenty of excellent eateries in walking distance and Lake Michigan is only a few miles away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil p, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Indian Oak, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for leaving us your thoughts about our property. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. My staff and I thank you very much for your review and encouragement and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Very Clean in the rooms, entryway and breakfast room, balconies to watch the ducks & ducklings with a pond in the back where you could walk, along with a large deck, very good breakfast and the staff were very helpful. A great place to have a reception or conference.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 784dianew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil p, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Indian Oak, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for leaving us your thoughts about our property. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. My staff and I thank you very much for your review and encouragement and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokomo, Indiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here overnight on a business trip. I had a room facing the lake. The rooms have been renovated and are nice. The pool, hot tub, and sauna were decent and enjoyable. The location of the hotel is great and there are lots of food options nearby. I enjoyed the lake view and the many birds that were around. The only thing that needs some work is the breakfast. The eggs were rubbery and the food bland. Only other negative I can think of was the constant noise from trains going by which can be very loud. Overall this was a very pleasant stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank pawpoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil p, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Indian Oak, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for leaving us your thoughts about our property. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. My staff and I thank you very much for your review and encouragement and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesterton
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
0.1 mi away
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
#4 of 5 in Chesterton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
6.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
7.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Portage Hotel & Suites
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Indian Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Indian Oak

Property: BEST WESTERN Indian Oak
Address: 558 Indian Boundary Rd, Chesterton, IN 46304-1515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Chesterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chesterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Indian Oak 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Indian Oak! Our two story 61 room hotel is conveniently located off I-80 and I-94 near Lake Michigan, Valparaiso University, and only 5 MINUTES from the Indiana Dunes State Park. Plus Chicago O'Hare International Airport is only 65 miles away, and Chicago Midway International Airport is a brisk 51-mile drive. We offer an amazing location with a gorgeous lake, with lake-view specialty rooms and some of our rooms have fireplaces and whirlpools. Pick up a complimentary newspaper in the lobby before heading to a free full hot breakfast. Afterward, go for a swim in the indoor pool, soak in the hot tub, work up a sweat in the gym. Our hotel features unbeatable amenities including: in-room Wi-Fi, 39" flat screen TVs, mini-fridge, microwaves, and coffee makers in all of our rooms. We have a 24-hour business and fitness center. We also have the Indian Oak Pub where nightcaps are our specialty along with affordable rates. Whether you are the business traveler, traveling for leisure, or with your family, we are just the place for you! We look forward to seeing you soon!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Indian Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Indian Oak Hotel Chesterton
Best Western Chesterton
Indian Oak Resort Spa
Best Western Hotel Chesterton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing