We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staff was not helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Indian Oak
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chesterton
New London, Indiana, United States
1 review
“staff was not helpful”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked a room for 2 nights and arrived on a Friday. On Saturday we had decided to go to the Dunes and put the "Privacy Please" on the outside of our door. We didn't want the staff coming in while we were gone. I had left my purse in the room with the peace of mind that with the sign on our door, nobody would be entering our room. We came back around 3:00 and the sign had been removed and our bed had been made and towels had been added to the bathroom. It unnerved me because they should have respected our privacy and not entered the room. We were back for about 20 minutes and someone on the staff had just let themselves in our room while we were in the room with out knocking or calling out "Housekeeping" or anything. She stated that she was sorry and that she didn't think that anyone was here. When my husband went down to talk to the manager he stated that unless we could tell him who it was then there wasn't any way he could address it. I was very disturbed by the whole situation. We were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary and wanted to be left alone and we had staff coming into our room twice without permission and with out calling out and nothing was compensated or done about it. It was inappropriate and we had felt violated by it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil p, General Manager at Best Western Indian Oak, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. First of all I would like to say congratulations on your ten year anniversary. After the manager on duty brought this to my attention, I went to investigate the intrusion that was done to you during your stay. The first housekeeper, the one that went to clean your room while you were out mentioned that she thought the sign on the door was saying that you wanted to have service. The signs look very similar so they can be easily confused. Especially during a busy weekend when they have many room to clean. I apologize about this error and I take full responsibility. As for the second housekeeper, she is my head of housekeeping and she was just checking rooms to make sure that were cleaned correctly. She mentioned that she did knock, but she used her key card to knock which makes it harder for you to hear her knocking. Since then I have gave her a heavy key ring to use to knock on doors making it easier for guests to hear her knocking. Although I understand that is no consolation to you, at least I know this will never happened again. My staff and I thank you very much for your review and encouragement. We hope that you will give our hotel another chance to prove that we provide a great service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    132
    65
    17
    31
See reviews for
141
118
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, United States
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

If looking for a hotel near the Indiana Dunes State Park then I would recommend this hotel. The rooms are thin on furnishings and decoration but they are very large and the balconies are nice. The lake view rooms overlook a very small lake that has a lot of resident waterfowl (swans, geese, and ducks) so that is fun for young children to watch. It's fairly peaceful. The rooms are fairly quite with the occasional train in the distance blowing their horns. I'm not sure why they choose to do this in the middle of the night but it's worth mentioning as it woke me up a couple of times during the night. The king bed in our room was very comfortable. The free breakfast is fairly low rent but is the usual fare for hotels similar to best westerns.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil p, General Manager at Best Western Indian Oak, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am sorry that the trains that are located close to the hotel woke you up in the middle of the night. Unfortunately there is not much we can do about the trains blowing their horns. The wildlife that surrounds our property is very nice and young children love to sit there and feed them. My staff and I thank you very much for your review and encouragement and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beech Grove, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The staff truely had a W.I.N. attitude: Whatever is necessary to exceed expectations. This is not the first, nor will it be the last time we stay at this hotel. The location is perfect, with easy access to the Dunes State Park, shopping and variety of dining establishments.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil p, General Manager at Best Western Indian Oak, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. My staff and I thank you very much for your review and encouragement and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

First I called to check on the availability of a king room. A gentlemen answered and told me that a double bed room was available but the king room with fireplace did not allow children. I got off the phone and immediately went to the website and reserved the room. The restrictions did not say anything about children not being allowed in this room. This was the first strike against them. We arrived and the attendant never said anything about the child in the room. The lake was more like a pond and very dirty. The room smelled moldy or smokey not sure but it did not smell good. The room was clean otherwise. The bed was horrible. It squeaked with every movement. Even my son commented how uncomfortable the bed was. I woke up with a stiff back. The breakfast was good but the room was was small and not enough seating. People were standing around the counters eating because of the lack of tables and seats.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil p, General Manager at Best Western Indian Oak, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for writing a review for our hotel. We value each guest’s feedback and greatly appreciate you taking the time to do so. I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at my property. It is our policy that in our Specialty rooms we do not allow children in those rooms. On days when we are busy there tends to be a wait in the breakfast area. We do keep it full and make sure that there is enough food for everybody. It is my hope that you would give us a second chance with us after all of our renovations are complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We got to Dunes and spent the night a perfect place to stay if you want to visit Indiana Dunes State Park. Pool was a nice diversion for kids and plenty of space in the upgraded room for all three of us to have our own bed. We would definitely spend the night here again. So we could spend the day at the beach on lake Michigan. I appreciated knowing ahead that the breakfast were the traditional freezer, microwave type meal decent but nothing exceptional. Tables were kept clean. Also appreciated a reviewer telling us ahead no elevators. Not that big a deal but nice to know.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherrisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil p, General Manager at Best Western Indian Oak, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am happy to hear that your children enjoyed their time in our pool. Our lakeside rooms are large enough to accommodate a family. My staff and I thank you very much for your review and encouragement and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

On a trip to Chicago we decided to stay overnight rather than continue driving home as it was late. We arrived without reservations. Rooms were large,with plenty of room and a hide-a-bed couch. Breakfast was hot and fresh. Eggs, biscuits, sausage, gravy, bagels, bananas, coffee, and juice . Proximity to train tracks make it necessary to have a white noise source for night., unfortunately the fan had an automatic shut off so my husband slept through the trains but I went home exhausted. The hotel itself was silent and tranquil but the trains kept coming throughout the night. Beds were comfortable and water pressure was good,.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil p, General Manager at Best Western Indian Oak, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am sorry that the trains that are located close to the hotel kept you awake all night long. My staff and I thank you very much for your review and encouragement and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My family and I stayed here over the 4th of July weekend. The rooms were really nice and really clean. The staff was very helpful when asking directions and to find other activities for my children. We had a room with 2 queen beds but still had plenty of space. Loved the view of the lake and wildlife. Pool was very big unlike most of the hotels these days and was very clean and looks to have been updated. Thank you for the great stay and will be back again.

Room Tip: If your going to get a room u have got to get one with the lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil p, General Manager at Best Western Indian Oak, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are always happy to hear when our guest has had a good stay at our property. Our lakeside rooms are bigger than average hotels. My staff and I thank you very much for your review and encouragement and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesterton
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
0.1 mi away
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
#4 of 5 in Chesterton
62 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
7.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Portage
Hampton Inn Portage
#3 of 10 in Portage
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Indian Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Indian Oak

Property: Best Western Indian Oak
Address: 558 Indian Boundary Rd, Chesterton, IN 46304-1515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Chesterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chesterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Indian Oak 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Indian Oak! Our two story 61 room hotel is conveniently located off I-80 and I-94 near Lake Michigan, Valparaiso University, and only 5 MINUTES from the Indiana Dunes State Park. Plus Chicago O'Hare International Airport is only 65 miles away, and Chicago Midway International Airport is a brisk 51-mile drive. We offer an amazing location with a gorgeous lake, with lake-view specialty rooms and some of our rooms have fireplaces and whirlpools. Pick up a complimentary newspaper in the lobby before heading to a free full hot breakfast. Afterward, go for a swim in the indoor pool, soak in the hot tub, work up a sweat in the gym. Our hotel features unbeatable amenities including: in-room Wi-Fi, 39" flat screen TVs, mini-fridge, microwaves, and coffee makers in all of our rooms. We have a 24-hour business and fitness center. We also have the Indian Oak Pub where nightcaps are our specialty along with affordable rates. Whether you are the business traveler, traveling for leisure, or with your family, we are just the place for you! We look forward to seeing you soon!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Indian Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Indian Oak Hotel Chesterton
Best Western Chesterton
Indian Oak Resort Spa
Best Western Hotel Chesterton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing