We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Louisville North
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clarksville
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very nice stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We were looking for a hotel while driving thru for the night. This one was available for a reasonable cost.
Check in/out staff was friendly and helpful. A nice pool and work out facility. The hotel looked very nice and clean. Our room had a full size fridge/freezer, kitchenette with dishes, microwave, and stove top, all very nice. Bed was comfortable.
We brought along a pack n play for our daughter and it fit nicely as well.
The location is right off the highway. Its pretty much the last hotel on the road, so very quiet. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely be back.
Our only complaint (if we had to choose) would be that the ac did not have a fan only option. It was either hot/cold and we just wanted some noise for our baby.

Room Tip: This does have an elevator so strollers are not a problem! Bring a fan for white noise if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riverrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    24
    9
    9
    6
See reviews for
33
26
4
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Our room was comfortable, clean & roomy. My only complaint is that the shower / toilet / sink are all in one room, making it difficult for a family. Only one person can use it at a time. The staff was friendly. The full kitchen is a bit of overkill for an overnight stay, but then this place is designed for long-term stays.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BW_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

Sarah, the desk clerk when we arrived could not do enough for us. Our assigned room had previously been used by a smoker that obviously could not read that this was a non-smoking facility. Sarah immediately upgraded us to a better room and apologized that the staff assigned to check for smoking needed to do a better job. Sarah even helped us unload the car. She printed out a map for us to use to get to the funeral we were attending the next day and brought it to our room. I will definitely go back to this facility.

Because of back problems, I need a recliner. They are available there. This is a fairly new facility, about four years old so thefurnishings and appliances are in good condition with minor nicks. Housekeeping does a good job. The motel ws almost sold out but it was not noisy. We slep late and could not hear movement in he hallways.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

I stayed at this hotel many years ago. The hotel at that time was worn & tired but saw on the internet that is had been refurbished so thought it would worth a try again. Good location, restaurant on site making it convenient for a morning meeting. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sremstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel shortly after it opened and had a much more positive experience. At this point it has already become a bit dreary and sad, at least in the rooms (the lobby was fine). Also we had a bathroom door that would not stayed closed, even if "locked". Fun when there are two people staying! The room was the smallest room I've ever seen, laughably, called a "suite". Hotel was also a bit noisy. Pluses were convenience, ample parking, and a friendly front-desk staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAE4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Louisville North, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear KAE4,

I would like to thank you for your review and apologize that your experience with our hotel did not meet your expectations. We will follow up with our Maintenance staff to address the issue. Despite the challenges you faced we are pleased or Front Desk staff was able to off set this displeasure with great service. Also, I was pleased to note that you appreciated the location of our hotel, an aspect of our hotel that is preferred by many of our guests.

Regards,

Brenda J.
eMedia Coordinator
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We booked this hotel almost a year ago since hotel rooms over the Kentucky Derby weekend are sold out far in advance. My wife and I thought we were lucky just to find a hotel room anywhere within 25 miles of Churchill Downs. As soon as we checked in, we agreed that, for our needs, this was the best hotel we could have hoped for if we had our choice of Louisville area inns.

The hotel was easy to find. It is not right on the highway, but our Garmin led us right to it. The parking lot was very clean, the landscaping was nice and the hotel looked relatively new. The lobby was spacious and had a big flat screen TV and sofas to relax in. There was 24 hour free coffee available in the lobby and free newspapers. We are not big fans of 3:00 p.m. check in times, but it seems to be the norm these days. There was no line at check in and the staff throughout our stay was very friendly.

We did not know that housekeeping was only offered after a week long stay. We were in town for four days which meant the room would not be refreshed at all. We were told that we would be given fresh towels by bringing down our used towels and that we could either put our trash outside the room for pick up or bring it down to the front desk for disposal. As it turned out, we were able to spread everything out a little more when we were not expecting a maid to come in daily. Our room was extremely clean upon check-in and we did not miss daily maid service at all.

We were assigned a top floor (4th floor) room. The queen sized bed really looked more like a full size bed, but it was comfortable and we slept well. The room was very spacious and is set up like an efficiency apartment. We had a full size refrigerator, a stove, a counter, sink, microwave and cabinets. There was silverware and dishes in the room.

A multi-purpose dining table was located next to the kitchen area....perfect for watching the 42" flat screen TV and browsing the Internet at the same time. The wireless Internet only gave us "fair" signal strength and was little on the slow side, but it was free and got the job done. There was a huge cable selection....well over a hundred channels. There is a DVD player in the room. We had a good deal of business to tend to and the free wifi and the room setup made it easy to do everything

The closet is about six feet long and offered plenty of space for hanging clothes and other storage. The bathroom was spacious and looked brand new. The minor complaints are that the water pressure was fair, not great, and the hair dryer is a little pea shooter that gives a so-so performance. Unlike most hotel rooms, there were plugs everywhere which made battery charging for the computer, cell phones, tablets and cameras easy.

Even though no free breakfast was offered, we were able to keep milk in the fridge and cereal in the cabinets for an easy breakfast. We could store our dinner leftovers safely in the fridge for next day snacks. The hotel was very quiet. On Saturday and Sunday, we had the local paper delivered outside the door. There was a Kentucky Derby party on Friday night with a light buffet, soft drinks and beer in the lobby. We wish we would have known about the festivities before we ate dinner out, but it was still fun in the lobby as the excitement continued to build for the big race.

To our surprise, there were two souvenir mint julep glasses waiting in our room and a wooden plaque containing the logo print for Kentucky Derby 139. The freebies would have cost us $51.00 plus tax at the Churchill Downs Gift Shop, so they were really nice giveaways. The hotel is just a few miles north of the Ohio River. It is just a couple of blocks off of I-65 which zips you right into Louisville. Downtown Louisville hugs the southern bank of the Ohio River and Churchill Downs, our main destination, was only 8 miles away.

The Clarksville area is really nice. There was a mall less than a mile from the hotel and Best Buy, Kroger,Target and Walmart were all a couple of minutes away by car. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. You will feel like you are in an apartment.....which is a lot more like home than most hotel rooms. Our many thanks to the Candlewood management and staff for a great four day stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

I stayed at the Candlewood Suites on Saturday night and love the nice room we received. It was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The housekeeper was very friendly. I recommend this hotel if you will be staying in the area. From the staff to the rooms the hotel was great! Will be staying there again in the future!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoccerM14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Louisville North, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
SoccerM14,

Thank you very much for you kind review of your recent stay with us. Our housekeepers work very hard to make sure they are maintaining a very clean and organized hotel for our guests. We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Derek Smith
General Manager
Candlewood Suites - Louisville North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarksville
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Louisville-North/Clarksville
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Green Tree Inn
BEST WESTERN Green Tree Inn
#1 of 7 in Clarksville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
2.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel Conference Center Louisville North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Clarksville
3.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville North
3.9 mi away
Sheraton Louisville Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Louisville North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Louisville North

Property: Candlewood Suites Louisville North
Address: 1419 Bales Ln, Clarksville, IN 47129-8721
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Clarksville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clarksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Louisville North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Candlewood Suites Louisville North a 100% non-smoking hotel. We are located 4 miles from downtown Louisville and offer all of the comforts of home along with the convenience of having major businesses, retailers and restaurants nearby. We are located off exit #5- Veterans Parkway on I-65. Our all suite hotel is ideally located for visiting Norton Healthcare, Jewish Hospital and Clark & Floyd County Memorial Hospitals. The hotel is also close to the University of Louisville and the brand new Indiana- Purdue University campus. This brand new property has been designed with your needs in mind. Swim year round in our beautiful heated indoor pool, work out in our state of the art fitness center. Cook a meal in our fully equipped kitchens, grab a snack from the fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard or cook-out on our gazebo equipped with a gas grill. Or you can unwind after a hard day s work in our plush recliners while watching premium cable and HD channels on our 32 LCD TV s or grab a movie from our free movie library. If you prefer to work in the privacy of your living room we also offer wired and wireless free high speed Internet and an oversized work desk in every suite. All of our amenities will make you feel right at home and with all that downtown Louisville has to offer makes our Candlewood Suites the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Louisville North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Louisville North Hotel Clarksville
Candlewood Suites Clarksville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing