We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very loud”
Review of The Garage

The Garage
Ranked #33 of 148 Restaurants in Columbus
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Low-key 21+ bar & grill offering tap beers, homey comfort fare, live music, trivia & karaoke nights
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very loud”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Ate here as part of a large business group. We had a room to ourselves, but it was still quite loud. The service was quite good considering the size of our group (30+). The menu is extensive and I heard no complaints about any of the food. Parking is on the street, and was difficult to find even on a Wednesday early evening. This is not somewhere I would return on my own, but since my company paid for it, I really can't complain.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gibb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    47
    17
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, Indiana
1 review
“Great Find in a small town.....”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great Atmosphere, clean and convenient get to. Staff was very friendly! Menu was surprising, offering your traditional bar food but so much more. We had the firecracker shrimp as an appetizer which was amazing along with the Homemade Kettle Chips with crumbled blue cheese...all I can say is Yum!
Everyone at our table had something different with no complaints. My husband had the Brisket sandwich with the sweet potatoes fries everyone was raving about and was not disappointed. I choose the grilled salmon and steamed veggies which I highly recommend. The beer drinkers were impressed with their selection and the bartender knew how to make the perfect martini. If you are looking for a locally owned business and not the traditional chain..Great place to experience the home town flavor.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Captiva24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Treated Horribly by Bartender”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We visited this establishment on a work outing. Within minutes of getting to the venue (mind you we had been there several times) we were told first we had to order food (which we had already told the waitress we would to bring the menu) or we had to separate the table because we were taking up "space they could be making money on", then one of the mentally disabled members of our party was threatened by a bartender if we didn't order (but refused to give us a menu) and then we were told we would have to leave all together if we didn't order. We had been there 11 minutes. We had had enough time put two tables together put in a song request, say hi to a couple of people and get back to the table. We had ordered drinks. We really felt that we were singled out as the place was fairly empty and there were several "regulars" were drinking nothing but water. I contacted them in writing to which we received no response and talked to the manager there who promised we would get a return phone call. Never happened and we will never go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbug4574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muncie
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nothing special, but fine”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The food was fine (and the outdoor seating was great) but nothing really memorable. Salads were on the small side.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachlover8307
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Went there for lunch with a group and had "The Natural" wrap and sweet potato fries. Some of the best sweet potato fries I've had. The wrap was very good too. I'll definitely go back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachlover8307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Garage also viewed

 

Been to The Garage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing