We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a try”

Taku Japanese Steakhouse
Ranked #13 of 143 Restaurants in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hope, Indiana
Level Contributor
176 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Well worth a try”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have always enjoyed the food and entertainment provided by Japanese steakhouses that offer Teppanyaki grills, so were thrilled when one came to our county. Last night we got the first chance to try it with some friends. We should have had reservations as they were quite busy, but after about a 50 minute wait we were seated and the fun began. We had a friendly waitress take our drink orders as well as our choices for entrees. We decided to try the Sea and Land Combination in order to have a taste of 4 meats. Soon the chef arrived and he was quite simply as skilled and entertaining as ant we have experienced. Our salad and our soup were what we expected--not great, but still quite tasty. As for the main meal...well we were very satisfied. We had the fried rice and the usual crisp and fresh vegetables along with excellent shrimp, succulent scallops, chicken, and New York Strip. All were expertly prepared. There is no doubt we will return! And our friends said the same. As far as we are concerned this is a terrific addition to Columbus.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    29
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Anniversary dinner”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Sushi that easily reminded us of our honeymoon and the wonderful sushi we had in San Francisco. Great food and great service. We will be here again regularly.

Helpful?
1 Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
208 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere, great location, tasty teppanyaki and sushi”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We experienced a very good evening from reservation to dessert. Wait staff and teppanyaki chefs are very friendly and help the "new to sushi" guest just as much as the regulars. Our large group of 12 was served a great dinner in under 45 min at the teppanyaki grill and from the sushi bar.
Prices are very good for the typical prices of this type of restaurant. Locally, this price is on the higher side for dinner. For the out of town traveler, this is great food at a good prices.
Parking is super easy on the street and next block's garage.
It's best to have a reservation. The seating is quite large...but the are a popular place! Our visit the month before was during a busy night and the wait was over 45 min for walk-ins.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greatfood4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachlover8307
Level Contributor
104 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent service!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Our server was one of the best we've had at a restaurant! We had a gift card, so we ordered a lot of sushi, including the lobster roll. Not sure it's worth $20, but it was delicious! We like the cooked rolls vs the ones with raw fish on top, so we were a little disappointed in the roll variety compared to other local sushi places. They may be more authentic though, so that could just be us. Everything tasted great though, prices were pretty reasonable, atmosphere is awesome and the service is great too!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beachlover8307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Asian Fusion”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Taku Japanese Steakhouse has a great atmosphere in downtown Columbus. They serve some of the best Sushi in town. They also have teppanyaki grills and several types of Saki. Great place for everyone!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewel0828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taku Japanese Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Taku Japanese Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing