We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“blackfriday "Work-Cation"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Columbus
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
“blackfriday "Work-Cation"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

I was very impressed with the professionalism with the management staff. Also the customer service in the restaraunt was outstanding!! We reserved a room for 2 days. Thanksgiving Thursday and Black Friday. I work across the street at Mattress and More. But I live in Bloomington Indiana which is a about a hour commute. So our family decided on a "work-cation". This enabled me to get to my business promptly at 5:30 am . We enjoyed the amenities especially the pool and hot tub. We checked out on Nov. 30th . I had to work that day as well. The complimentary breakfast buffet was very tasty!!.The room was very nice and wasn't cramped for a family of four. I would highly recommend this hotel to families and the business traveler as well. The location is right off Interstate 65 halfway between Indianapolis and Louisville.

Room Tip: The upper floors were quite quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tadams8, Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
We are very glad that you enjoyed your recent visit with us!

Our hotel is conveniently located right off of Interstate 65 between Louisville and Indianapolis and our fine city here has lots of great places to visit during your stay.

The hotel does offer great amenities--indoor pool, putting green, hot tub, game room, business center, fitness center, guest laundry and a full service restaurant.

We take pride in having great customer service and we hope that you will choose to stay at the Clarion Hotel and Conference Center again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    80
    66
    45
    30
See reviews for
111
55
8
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Very nice hotel, quite huge. It was easy to get turned around and loose your sense of direction, luckily they have maps onthe walls. Pool area is absolutly gorgious. Work out area was small but suited the purpose.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tadams8, Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at the Clarion Hotel and Conference Center.

Our hotel is quite large and it is easy to get lost, though we do provide maps at the Front Desk and there is directional signage throughout the hotel as well to help guide you.

The pool area of the hotel is very unique and the other amenities surrounding the pool (game room, hot tub, business center, pool tables, ping pong tables and miniature golf course) all help to add to that uniqueness of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We were very happy with how the staff worked to make us happy. When we checked in we discovered that the room we booked was one of on a dozen or so rooms that are not indoor access, but more what I think of as a "motel." We asked if it would be possible to just change to room inside the hotel, they put us pool side, which with 2 young daughters could not have been better. We also found out that the hotel does not offer free breakfast on the weekends, when I pointed out the site where we booked the room clearly says "free breakfast," with no exclusions mentioned we were immediately given free breakfast. We were very satisfied with our stay.

Room Tip: Saw several reviews that said to stay in the tower for a quieter stay, we were pool side on a Friday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom32565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tadams8, Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
We are so glad that our staff worked to make your stay with us an enjoyable one!

Our hotel was built 50 years ago and we do still have some exterior rooms, but we work to keep all our rooms clean and inviting for our guests to enjoy.

Apparently there are some websites that have the information about the breakfast listed incorrectly. We offer free breakfast Monday through Friday and then there is a cost for the breakfast on weekends.

The rooms around the pool can be noisy especially if the hotel is booked. Children and their families generally like to stay around the pool for the easy access to not only the pool but also to the hot tub, putting green, business center and game room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed here on first night of a road trip -- after 11 hours of driving. Made reservation thru Choice Hotels online, and got a darn good deal. First time stay at a Clarion. Check in was quick and friendly. Room was an exterior (never saw the tower) and was very clean. We were tired, so instead of going out, we ate in the hotel restaurant. It was o.k. Nice waitress. There are various specials on food and drinks on most nights. Price was friendly. Comfy bed. We had breakfast there too. It was as good as free hotel breakfasts get. Full buffet, eggs, meat, pancakes, fruit, and all the other usual stuff, and a waitress. We thought the pool area looked great, but didn't use it. Great addition if you're staying more than one night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephandjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tadams8, Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
We are glad that after your long day of traveling that you chose to stay with us here at the Clarion!

We do offer a great deal here with the various amenities that are available (on-site restaurant, lounge, pool, hot tub, business center, fitness center, game room, guest laundry etc.)

We do have drink specials Monday through Thursday for all of our guests and we have daily lunch specials and the prime rib and seafood buffet on Friday and Saturday nights. Our daily breakfast buffet is hard to beat with all of the items that are offered and we have a wait staff that is available to replenish your coffee and provide some early morning conversation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

The room was nice and the furniture was new looking, chairs were comfortable. The bathroom wouldn't close. The curtains wouldn't close all the way, there was about an inch open by the door where people could see in the room. We spent 2 nights and the first day there wasn't any wireless connection, I was told it was down. I went to take a shower and only got cold water. My wife wasn't very happy with the cold water. Every time the heat came on or went off there was a loud noise. Then we went to breakfast on Friday morning and they had a nice buffet. Eggs Sausage, french toast, home fries. All of it was cold..
Finally by Friday evening the wireless internet was working and we had hot water. The breakfast was a little better, it was at least warm.
If I had only stayed the one night on Thursday I would have given a zero rating.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tadams8, Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
We were sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience during your recent stay with us.

I do know that we were experiencing some issues with the boiler and that there was a brief time where there was no hot water but we were not aware of any issues with the wireless connection. We are in the process of updating all of our wireless routers, so this should not be an issue going forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

First impression of this hotel is that it a very nice upscale, unique hotel. The staff are supper friendy and accommodating. The main (tower) part of the hotel is really beautiful. They have done a really nice job of putting together a great experience. However, once you leave the main part of the hotel the experience begins to degrade a bit, things like worn carpets, exposed circuit breaker boxes with pad locks hanging on them and even a police officer walking the halls (made you feel safe but wondered why it was needed). I do have to say that even though I stayed in the back. My room was nice and clean and everything seemed to work as it should. The only downfall was the front door wanted to stick when opening it and the bathroom could use an exhaust fan. The only other complaint about the room was that the walls were incredibly thin so it was really I easy to hear what everyone else was doing even if you didnt want to. Nice Clarion stye hotel in the front, more of a super 8 in the back. Give it a shot if you have kids, they will have a blast.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank macdevousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tadams8, Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Our hotel here in Columbus is definitely unique.

Glad to hear that our staff was friendly and accommodating. Our hotel still has exterior rooms just like those hotels of the past, but we work hard to keep those rooms clean and inviting. Guests to our property either love or hate the exterior rooms.

We have a local police officer/security patrol the hotel grounds on the weekends. This is an extra added security measure for our guests. They help by responding to noise complaints and such.

The hotel offers a miniature golf course, swimming pool, hot tub, game room and ping pong and pool tables that are inviting for kids and families.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Booked thru priceline. Ya got good price but this is the ONLY hotel I have booked with priceline that would not put us in a room with 2 beds. I know, I know, I should not complain but.... come on man!

Room Tip: I you have more than 2 people going DO NOT BOOK THRU PRICELINE and expect a room with 2 beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chico121960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tadams8, Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
We were sorry to hear that your reservation was incorrect when you booked through Priceline.

The easiest way to make a reservation is to call the hotel directly and we will be glad to make sure that you are taken care of. The other option is to place your reservation directly through Choice.com as well.

As always, we are here to take care of the guests and provide them with a great stay and quality service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Columbus hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbus
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Columbus
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Lakeside
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Tipton Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Columbus Downtown
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus
Residence Inn Columbus
#4 of 10 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus / Taylorsville / Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Clarion Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 2480 W Jonathan Moore Pike, I-65 at Iindiana 46, Columbus, IN 47201-9254 (Formerly Holiday Inn Columbus)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Columbus Hotel Columbus
Columbus Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing