We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant but Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lion Inn

The Lion Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Theberton B&B and Inns
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pleasant but Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We went to the Lion for an evening meal whilst on holiday in the area. Whilst the meal was fine it was nothing startling in comparison to what others serve in the area. Our companions did say that they had been there for Sunday Lunch and the carvery was excellent. It is worth a visit - the beer is good but the staff (on the evening we were there) a little disinterested with 'Non Locals' but don't rule it out by any means.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    16
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We only had one night in Suffolk and were looking for something comfortable but affordable. The B & B at the Lion Inn fitted the bill but we were not impressed by what we got for our money.
Things that I thought were below standard: dust under the bed, and powdered milk spilt down back of table that hadn't been cleaned up ( no wonder they had to put ant powder out around the cabin ); the tea ( instant in a jar or 'builder's tea with no alternative ); cheap instant coffee; view of a newly built wall directly in front of cabin with building site behind it! We were not told the neighbouring cabin would have a dog ( Andy turned out to be very well-behaved though and didn't bark ). Overall, we felt they didn't really care and that a few details ( like offering cereals as well as the fry up English breakfast and having filter coffee on supply ) wouldn't have gone amiss. Plus point was we asked for veggie sausages which they had. The wholemeal bread request was received with a wince and 'well, we've got half and half bread', which is what we got.
On a more positive note, the toilet/shower room was clean and a fan was provided ( it being hot in the cabin ). The cabins are next to a field and minimal traffic noise was heard from the main road ( a B road anyway ). Minsmere is really close by.
I am not sure what kind of clientelle they hope to attract, but we won't be going there again, sadly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 104SW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Within walking distance of Minsmere and set in a quiet secluded garden with good view. Own patio area with bistro table and chairs catches morning sun and small table with 2 chairs inside. So if you want early starts, take a box of cereal, make your own butties and you are ready to go twitching. You can come and go without disturbing anyone because the chalets are self contained. Michael and Caroline Jeffery will make you very welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Phillog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

Second visit to this delightful Inn. On arrival, our cabin was lovely and warm. it was a nice surprise to find the electric blanket, on our bed, already turned on. As before a pleaant welcome and good food made for an enjoyable stay.
Handy for Minsmere RSPB, the coast and good walking areas.
I am sure we will be back again.

Room Tip: Twin or double; only choice you need to make.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndyShand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

as soon as we arrived at the Lion inn we were made to feel very welcome :) the accommodation was excellent , we had everything we needed in the room, which was very cosy,& spotlessly clean We had the full English breakfast on both days and i must say it was delicious and very filling. Caroline and Michael the owners are a lovely couple and made us feel very welcome :) we will defiantly stay here again 10/10

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

A wooden chalet in the ground of the pub, complete with en-suite provided a fun place to stay while we were staying in the area. Comfy beds, freeview television, and welcome peace and quiet with the sound of sheep to wake you in the morning made us feel very at home.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank what_horizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

My Boyfriend and I stayed in the double cabin at the Lion and loved it. The cabin is spacious and has a really cosy feel. It is also great as you feel like you have real privacy to come and go as you please so perfect if you are up very early/back late.

They offer breakfast as an additional add on and we had it on our final morning. That and the food in general (as we ate several times in the pub) was all delicious. Really great quality and reasonably priced.

I would absolutely stay here again if heading back up to Suffolk and recommend it to others!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kate_steel86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Inn

Property: The Lion Inn
Address: Main Road | on the edge of the Minismere Bird Reserve, Theberton IP16 4RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Theberton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Theberton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing