We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lion Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Theberton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Ate here twice during our holiday. No need to book table. Could have eaten in garden out the rear.
Did have to wait 30 minutes for starter then another 30 minutes for our main course.
The following evening we decided not to have a starter, only waited 20 minutes so better.
However, the quality of the food, taste, portion size, friendly barmaid far outweighed the wait, hence our return the second evening.

Room Tip: Did not stay in the hotel so cannot comment
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Matt3565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

The cabin was fine and although it was hot opening the double doors kept it cool and still retained our privacy. It was quiet and we weren't disturbed by anything except the local livestock. The pub food and ales (some good choices) were very good. The locals were chatty and friendly and the owners were very friendly and helpful. Ideal location for visiting RSPB Minsmere and some excellent woodland walks around the Kenton Hills (directed there by pub owners). We were there for two nights.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The Lion at Theberton has all the potential to be a very successful, affordable neo gastro-pub with rooms. It’s very close to being just right, and I’d humbly offer my counsel here on how to make it 100%

Good Points:

First off, the village location of Theberton is ideal for all those middle-class weekend trippers to Southwold, who, like us, might not quite be able to afford the centre-of-Southwold prices at The Swan or, say, Sutherland House. Theberton is about 11 miles south of Southwold itself, but also a good place from where to visit The Maltings at Snape, or the pretty seaside village of Dunwich, for example.

The log cabin style accommodation at The Lion is sympathetically appointed; it’s eclectic, novel, and quite affordable at £65.00 per night. The option of breakfast brought to eat in your cabin, at a time of your choosing, and even to eat on the patio outside, weather permitting, is very pleasant. It’s only £6 or £7 extra for Full English or toast / cereal / yoghurt option, and well worth it.

The en-suite cabins are very clean, tastefully furnished, and well provisioned with tea, coffee, hot chocolate, spare loo rolls etc. (Although we had to search for the supplies in the drawers, but all found OK in the end). A mini fridge for the room is a nice touch, but sadly ours broke down. They’ve promised to fix or replace it. Very comfy bed, too.

Super friendly Labrador dogs, Billy and Dolly, head of room service and security respectively, will welcome you to your cabin and sit guard outside it in your absence if you ask them nicely. They love breakfast leftovers, and this will cement the deal!

Room for Improvement:

Basically, we weren’t hugely impressed with the evening fayre. There are only two rooms at The Lion, so it’s never going to be heaving with residents. The location is in a very tiny village, which you’ll have to access by car. As a result, the amount of evening potential diners, I wouldn’t think, would warrant such an extensive menu, and that might be the issue the proprietors need to address.

There are all the usual pub staples on the menu, pies and mash, gammon egg and chips, lasagne etc etc, plus the more interesting options of whitebait, lamb shanks and fresh tuna steak.

I don’t know if it was the Chef’s night off, but unfortunately our pan-fried tuna seemed to have been microwave-thawed, but then not at all browned (I assume for fear of overcooking). We sent it back, as my partner likes Tuna rare in the middle, but, understandably, brown or even seared on the outside. It came back a little less ready to swim off, but not much!

My whitebait was fully battered as opposed to dusted, and a bit overdone, like crunchy oven chips. The lamb shank had obviously been somehow re-heated, as the meat was very drawn back across the bone and a bit dried out. Gravy was tasty though.

All in all, we thought the evening meal would have been great if we’d stuck to basic fish and chips or gammon and egg, stuff that can be cooked from fresh without the need to thaw or re-heat anything. Perhaps the over-ambitious offerings of the menu variety might be leading to this. If it was a one-off problem, I apologise!

All in all though, really friendly, hard working proprietors, obviously dedicated to providing a great service, and nice bar, cabins and super room-service English breakfast. We’d definitely go back. You get what you pay for, and this was perfectly good value. Recommended, but not for full-on ‘foodies’!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We went to the Lion for an evening meal whilst on holiday in the area. Whilst the meal was fine it was nothing startling in comparison to what others serve in the area. Our companions did say that they had been there for Sunday Lunch and the carvery was excellent. It is worth a visit - the beer is good but the staff (on the evening we were there) a little disinterested with 'Non Locals' but don't rule it out by any means.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We only had one night in Suffolk and were looking for something comfortable but affordable. The B & B at the Lion Inn fitted the bill but we were not impressed by what we got for our money.
Things that I thought were below standard: dust under the bed, and powdered milk spilt down back of table that hadn't been cleaned up ( no wonder they had to put ant powder out around the cabin ); the tea ( instant in a jar or 'builder's tea with no alternative ); cheap instant coffee; view of a newly built wall directly in front of cabin with building site behind it! We were not told the neighbouring cabin would have a dog ( Andy turned out to be very well-behaved though and didn't bark ). Overall, we felt they didn't really care and that a few details ( like offering cereals as well as the fry up English breakfast and having filter coffee on supply ) wouldn't have gone amiss. Plus point was we asked for veggie sausages which they had. The wholemeal bread request was received with a wince and 'well, we've got half and half bread', which is what we got.
On a more positive note, the toilet/shower room was clean and a fan was provided ( it being hot in the cabin ). The cabins are next to a field and minimal traffic noise was heard from the main road ( a B road anyway ). Minsmere is really close by.
I am not sure what kind of clientelle they hope to attract, but we won't be going there again, sadly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 104SW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Within walking distance of Minsmere and set in a quiet secluded garden with good view. Own patio area with bistro table and chairs catches morning sun and small table with 2 chairs inside. So if you want early starts, take a box of cereal, make your own butties and you are ready to go twitching. You can come and go without disturbing anyone because the chalets are self contained. Michael and Caroline Jeffery will make you very welcome.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Phillog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Second visit to this delightful Inn. On arrival, our cabin was lovely and warm. it was a nice surprise to find the electric blanket, on our bed, already turned on. As before a pleaant welcome and good food made for an enjoyable stay.
Handy for Minsmere RSPB, the coast and good walking areas.
I am sure we will be back again.

Room Tip: Twin or double; only choice you need to make.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndyShand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Inn

Address: Main Road | on the edge of the Minismere Bird Reserve, Theberton IP16 4RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Theberton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Theberton
Price Range: £60 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing