We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in a small town”

General Lew Wallace Study and Museum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The General Lew Wallace Study and Museum, a National Historic Landmark and 2008 winner of the National Medal for Museum Service, features General Wallace’s personal Study, a unique building situated on over 3.5 acres of park-like land; his 1870 Carriage House, now an interpretive center and exhibit hall; and original memorabilia from throughout his life and career as a soldier, statesman, and the celebrated author of Ben-Hur, the best selling novel of the 19th century.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Crawfordsville, Indiana, Usa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great find in a small town”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Visiting the Lew Wallace Study is informative and interesting about the life of a man who accomplished a great deal in his life, as a lawyer, general during the Civil war, a territorial governor of New Mexico, an ambassador to Turkey who became friends with the Sultan, an author of several books including Ben Hur, an artist , and an inventor. His study, that he designed as a pleasure place for the soul, is a wonder to visit. The last Saturday in August the "Taste of Montgomery County" takes place on the grounds of the Lew Wallace Study with food and entertainment. Since I live in Crawfordsville, I visit often.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    6
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burton, Michigan, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Visit to Lew Wallace Study”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

All six of us had a wonderful visit to the Study. We learned so much from the 10 minute video then the remarkable study itself. Every corner of it had some interesting fact and beautiful artifact. From the architecture to the paintings and collections of Gen. Wallace, there was a story to everything. We had just seen Ben Hur (both silent and 1959 movies) several months ago and to think it was written right on the spot. It's an amazing small museum and fascinating bit of history that was well worth the drive; the town is also interesting with the circular jail and beautiful Wabash College. But the Study took the prize for an interesting visit. The grounds were beautifully done on top of it all. A must-see!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JNH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great piece of history”
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Lew Wallace was an amazing guy, and his study is AWESOME!! You can see where he wrote most of Ben Hur the greatest book of the 19th century.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jacobtraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon IN
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Piece of History Right Here In Indiana”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

I recently attended a conference on writing books and one of the nationally known authors speaking at the conference commented on a handful of writers who had a great impact on the United States. I was surprised that General Lew Wallace was one of the authors he named, for his work, Ben Hur. He noted its importance as a fiction piece with a Christian theme that helped turn the moral climate of its time. I never knew how popular the book was, nor its impact, so I purposed to visit the site when I returned to Indiana.

Helpful?
Thank Hoosiertraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawfordsville, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“LIVING HISTORY”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The grounds are beautiful and the brick wall all around it! You can see where Lew Wallace wrote the book BEN HUR!

Helpful?
1 Thank Barb1155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed General Lew Wallace Study and Museum also viewed

 
Crawfordsville, IN
 

Been to General Lew Wallace Study and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing