We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Stay Here! Better to sleep in your car”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Crawfordsville
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Crawfordsville
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't Stay Here! Better to sleep in your car”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I know this is a Motel 6 but the condition of this room & the property is unacceptable, somebody from the corporate office needs to come down here and look at this dump. We over-estimated the distance we could cover today & had to cancel our reservation at another hotel and stay here. This is the second to last leg of this trip, no money left or we would find another place.

PROS
Exterior of building has been recently painted and undergone some renovation

CONS
1) See photos of door and door frame - broken

2) See photos of back parking: property backs to within 50 yards of I-74, view of dumpster & broken hotel furniture. VERY noisey

3) See photos of bathtub - disgusting

4) See photos of water-damaged ceiling

4) Major road construction project near entrance to hotel and rear rooms - VERY noisy

5) Motel shares parking lot with a strip club & adult novelty store (if you care, I don't)

6) Lots of people living here, probably on monthly rate. Big group of them partying on back parking lot, hotel furniture taken from their rooms & moved onto the parking lot. These guests have lots of dogs running loose on the property, one pit bull

7) No security cameras or patrol

There are 6 other hotels within sight of this dump, I wish we could move to another hotel. May not stay, may just hit the road.

Don't go to the Cracker Barrel across the street either, it's terrible. I've been eating at Cracker Barrel my entire life and NEVER had a bad meal, not ever! Until tonight. Gross.

Room Tip: AVOID AT ALL COSTS! UNSAFE & DIRTY. I would give this place a zero if I could
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoraM264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    4
    12
    8
    9
See reviews for
11
7
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lees Summit, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

There a reason it's $39.99 a night (old dirty no coffee pot microwave breakfast of any kind no wi fi)just a cheap bed Shwr that ur not sure u want to be in I know company I work for just looked at price but think ill spend next two nites in my bus stay clear of this one I stay in motels 3 to 4 nites a week and this has to be the worst I've seen in some time holes I walls borders falling from walls did nt see any bugs but wouldn't be surprised

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Crawfordsville hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The person at the front desk is very friendly.

The room reeks like a smokers haven and the burn stains on the bed prove that as well. The bedding was just disgusting. Looked like someone had a fun night in the bed and the bedding was never changed. No bed bugs spotted but there was some particles of some kind between the comforter and the sheets.

Definitely not worth the money. Two queen beds, nasty bedding, and a smell to go home with for $65.

Go somewhere else if at all possible.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hula2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We checked in late on a Friday night after traveling on our motorcycle all day. I have never stayed at a Motel 6, but thought it was worth a try for a quick night sleep. One positive thing I have to say about this hotel is that the night clerk was very friendly when checking us in.

On the down side...he accidently checked us into a room that was already occupied. Apparently some people don't appreciate strange bikers barging into their hotel room while they sleep. I felt sorry for the occupant of the room...his line of profanity was quite impressive! I feel lucky he didn't shoot us!

That did not set the stage for a relaxing night sleep. When we did get checked into a private room
we found that the hotel is pretty rough. It was mostly clean, but we found a wet/dirty washcloth hanging up on the shower rod in the bathroom. The bed spreads were old and did not match. The room was was really old and outdated.

The hotel is located next to a seedy looking strip club. There are many other hotels in the area to chose from.

I realize this is a budget motel, but I still think there has to be better options in town! It would be worth it to pay a few more dollars for a nicer place!

Room Tip: The best room would be one at another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank couplenindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

I selected this motel for the price. I was only 4 hours from home, but it was already 8 p.m. and I was pretty tired.
I have never stayed in a Motel 6 before, and don't know if this place is "par for the course." All rooms had only exterior entrances, and I had to swipe my key several times before the door unlocked (each time I entered.....I had to make 2 trips with luggage, and then drove into town for dinner....each time, I had to swipe the key several times.) My room had been used hard over the years. The carpet was worn, torn in spots, and coming away from the walls. The TV remote was grimy. There was soap, but no shampoo. The sheets, sink, shower, toilet seat, and bedside table were all clean, which was what I would have expected for the price. One could probably compare this motel to a 1960's Holiday Inn that was top-notch in its day, but has had very little maintenance done over the years.
This motel is just off the interstate, which is convenient for travelers, but the closest business is a building with a big sign that says, "Girls, Girls, Girls." I stayed on a Saturday night, and I did notice a young man and young woman walking across the parking lot towards the Motel 6. Once I'd eaten dinner, I entered my room, locked it, and stayed there. But the property was very quiet all night. I did set the air conditioner to run (and make white noise) all night.
The evening receptionist was friendly. The morning receptionist was semi-friendly.
This motel was adequate for a full night's sleep and a shower. I would not walk on the carpet in bare feet, nor sit on the chair unless I were wearing long pants.

Room Tip: Good room? Stay somewhere else. 8 hours' sleep? This place is adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilma608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Crawfordsville is a halfway point to spend the weekend visiting Shades State Park. Maybe in years' past (when it was a Days Inn and not a Motel 6?), it was a nice place.. not sure what happened between the favorable reviews I read here from August to September, but we must've not been staying in the same hotel. And the pictures of the clean room, complimentary shampoo/conditioner and hair dryer? Where'd those come from? I wouldn't take pictures because I would be embarrassed for anyone to see where I stayed!

The location was great (right off two main highways), and the rate was very good - $50 for a king-size bed (no smoking - although the front desk clerk says "I can't guarantee there haven't been people smoking in there"). Well, there was definitely a reason.

When we first walked in we nearly passed out from the stench. It was horrible! The awful thing was that the windows wouldn't open (and the curtains were filthy) so all we could do was turn up our air and leave the door open for as long as possible - until the fly invasion. Our room was right off the parking lot so there wasn't much privacy in doing that anyway.

Getting past the stench, which would rank right up there with a decaying body, when we went to use the bathroom the toilet wouldn't flush. Hmm... Ok, we figured it out. Something that someone paying for a hotel/motel should never have to deal with. After the obvious problems we peeled off the bed spreads and blankets which we mostly always do because they are rarely ever washed, and they were just plain nasty. I got some blankets out of my car, and we went to sleep.

Everything about this place was gross. The remote felt like it had been soaked in grease prior to our arrival. The toilet was cleaner than the shower stall. The tiles were falling off the wall in the bathroom. The faucet basin was nasty. The freezer in the micro fridge was frozen over and appeared to have been for quite some time. Don't expect any complimentary shampoo or conditioner bottles and no hair dryer. We had to go buy our own tissues, shampoo and Oust spray to get the stench out and for a basic sanitization of the place. So much for saving on the cost of the room, huh?

Piece de resistance???? THE MAID SERVICE CALLED US IN THE MORNING TO ASK IF WE NEEDED ANYTHING!!! SERIOUSLY FOLKS!?!? DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY. Plenty of properties that HAVE to be better in this area. Ugh. One of the worst hotel/motel stays of my life. I'll never "bargain shop" for a hotel/motel room again!

Room Tip: Go to another motel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn Park, Mn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I chose to stay at the Motel 6 because they had their rate posted on the sign visible from the freeway, and I wanted just a basic motel for the night. The receptionist was very nice and friendly. If a person isn't looking for anything more than a place to sleep, take a bath/shower, and watch tv, this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawfordsville hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Crawfordsville
Ramada Limited Crawfordsville
#5 of 9 in Crawfordsville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 9 in Crawfordsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Crawfordsville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Crawfordsville
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Crawfordsville
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 9 in Crawfordsville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Crawfordsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Crawfordsville

Property: Motel 6 Crawfordsville
Address: 1040 Corey Boulevard/I-74, Ex 34, Crawfordsville, IN 47933
Region: United States > Indiana > Crawfordsville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Crawfordsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Crawfordsville 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY RENOVATED Motel 6 Crawfordsville hotel on US 231 easy on and off, Interstate 74 exit 34 All rooms renovated December 2013 with 32" LCD TV, new Phoenix furniture package with hardwood floors. Plan your day using our free Wi-Fi Internet access, we offer free truck and RV parking. All non smoking rooms, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult Pay a visit to the General Lew Wallace Study & Museum, where the famous author penned part of Ben-Hur, A Tale of the Christ. Built as a place of refuge, it is an eclectic mix of three different architectural styles and boasts a large skylight. Inside you can view Wallace's collection of books, paintings and sculptures, displays of violins and fishing equipment and other memorabilia. The Vanity Theater, home of the Sugar Creek Players, which stages musicals, dramas and comedies for audiences of all ages, just a five-minute drive from our Crawfordsville, Indiana, hotel. For a unique journey into history, visit a monument to American innovation at the Rotary Jail Museum and Center for the Arts, the first rotary jail built in the U.S. After your trip to the jail, experience the freedom of the open air on the Sugar Creek Trails, more than five miles of natural beauty along Sugar Creek. For a family outing, Feel your heart race along with the engines as daredevils whiz around the track in pursuit of a coveted prize at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, home of the famed Indy 500 and the world's largest spectator sporting facility, just 45 minutes from our Crawfordsville, Indiana, and hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel 6 Crawfordsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Crawfordsville
Crawfordsville Days Inn
Motel 6 Crawfordsville Indiana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing