We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“toilet bowl”

Deep River Water Park
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“toilet bowl”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

if you like swimming with little kids pooping in there diapers next to you, then this is the place for you -- lazy river of septic.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jeff l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    39
    9
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun and the sun”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Lots of fun! We stayed all day from open til almost close. Will be back again. Family fun and fun for the kids too. Don't forget your sunscreen!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern indiana
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great, Clean Facility”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Deep River Water Park is a very clean, well organized, & fun attraction. Parking is free and there's plenty to do for small children through teens and adults. Food is available for purchase and you can also bring in a cooler. Menus are so-so if you're health conscious. Vegetarians only have pizza or cheese nachos to choose from, so we elected to pack a cooler. The staff was very friendly. The water slides are a blast, though the super steep ones are a little rough on the body since you get so much air, also, consider bringing along swim shirts to reduce scrapes on your back. I don't want it to seem like it's a dangerous place - it's not. It's just that the more hardcore slides bang you around a bit - though it's totally worth it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank GoddessOGeekdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible security !”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We took our family to the park this past Saturday and multiple fights broke out. They had two cops working at the park and some staff members with radios. The problem was that there were at least a hundred people around the wave pool at the time of the first incident and two police officers to control the whole crowd. With that incident barely under control the park was getting ready to close. As we exited the staff said to us to be careful there is another fight in the parking lot and someone may have a gun. They did not know what was going on. The security there is a joke. This is no place to take your family.

Helpful?
1 Thank mjk136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mokena, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not impressed and won't be planning to go back”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I realize we are a bit spoiled as last month we were in Sea World's water park in Orlando, which was fantastic. However, I was appalled by the many basic maintenance issues that were evident at Deep River Water Park. I would estimate about 5-10% of the chairs were broken. Why would they have these out for their guests? The restrooms were atrocious. In the women's bathroom near the entrance, almost half of the bathroom stalls were duct taped shut with out of order signs. On one of the lazy rivers, we were circling their large weed patch. The stairs up to most of the water slides needed a good cleaning and painting. Algae and rust were abundant. A number of slides had a strong smell of sewage. Not sure if the water park can control this, but it was overpowering, and even the kids complained about the smell. Last, there was nothing done to keep the concrete cool. By the end of the day we felt like we had sunburn on the bottom of our feet and they were a bit cut up from the lazy rivers. The kids did still have fun and liked most of the slides; however, for $23 a person, there should be some basic maintenance completed here.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank js612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Deep River Water Park also viewed

 

Been to Deep River Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing