We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the cheaper stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Decatur
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Decatur
Katy, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not worth the cheaper stay”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a family visit. Will never come back.
#1 the first room smelled of musty cigarettes. I was battling allergies already. This made it miserable to be in the room. When I went to tell the office that it smelled to make sure that at least we weren't charged for it, the staff told me that if it smelled like "fresh" smoke because they "can tell", that we would be charged in spite of my letting him know ahead of time that it reeked.
#2 there were bottle openers by the toilets. Yeah.
#3 there were cobwebs on the windows.
#4 the coffee maker had last customer's grinds in it.
#5 the continental breakfast was Quaker oatmeal packages (without bowls or milk), apples and oranges, packaged rice krispie treats and powdered sugar donuts, and white bread with a faulty toaster.
#6 the second room had a remote with no back on it. When i brought this up, the front staff implied that I had somehow lost it. Apparently after smoking a pack of cigarettes in the other room.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvi1033, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Decatur, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, we are very sorry that you had so many issues with your stay. We would like you to know that we are under new management now and are in the process of making many changes. There is never an excuse for providing our guests anything but a clean room and good service and we are extremely sorry that we did not do that. Please come back in the future to see the improvements we are making.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    4
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
5
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My family stayed here June 20th & loved our one night stay! The room was very clean and large. The beds were extremely comfortable! There were guests staying in the room next to us, but we could not hear them. The motel has a small pool and although we did not use it, it was immaculately clean. A continental breakfast of cereals, packaged danishes, fruit, milk & coffee was offered. The staff was extremely friendly. We couldn't believe the room was this great for the price of $56. I definitely recommend staying here at this friendly motel!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

There are nota lot of choices here in Decatur. This one is as you might expect for the price. The exception is that the room greets you with a case of the musties. You smell it when you walk in the door. With some minor adjustments to the toilet I was able to flush it just fine. All things concidered it's a safe place to sleep in a very small town

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Decatur hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed here for one night just prior to collecting our RV's at the Fleetwood Depot about 6 miles up the road. The rooms are basic but clean and tidy and had all the basics such as a fridge, microwave, comfortable bed. There was also a supplied continental breakfast in the morning. For $50.00 a night, it was a bargain. However, nobody told us that for this sleepy town of 12,000 residents, there are no taxis! What? In the morning we tried to get someone from Fleetwood to pick us up but they were unable to. The owner then offered to give us a ride to the RV depot. This was awesome. That is service. We suggested he start up a taxi business in Decatur. Thanks for the great service. Much appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MartyMan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013 via mobile

We pulled in late one evening when deep fog made driving difficult. There was space at the Inn. Our room was close to the office ground floor no stairs. Everything was clean and neat. A small vase of silk flowers on the table. A fridge and microwave were a nice touch. The room had a flat screen TV and free Wi-Fi It met all our needs and was great value

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshall
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Recently stayed here 4 nights on business on CLC card. Have no complaints.....internet was fast...flat screen TV w/cable worked perfectly, great color! Heat and A/C worked perfectly.Room was cleaned every day and it was fine. Did not bother with the free breakfast, so can't say good or bad......slept very comfortable every night..Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASMTSM04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2009

I can always find something positive to say about an accommodation, no matter what type or class, but not about the Best Value Inn in Decatur.

The front desk is set in a gloomy room, with a pretentious staircase in the back. There is no bell to call a receptionist, but a surly individual saunters down the stairs -- she must have seen our car arrive. The room was adequately furnished but the furniture was placed in such a way so that nothing was comfortable or relaxing. The bathroom was clean except for the old, used packet of coffee in the coffee maker. The exterior door into the interior hallway was so stiff that one had to put down each suitcase when we were unloading our car. We were loading the car and still had luggage in the room the next morning when the room attendant came in and started to strip the bed and emptyi the garbage -- this before 8 o'clock.

In short,drive on to Fort Wayne!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2DogsCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Decatur
1.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#2 of 3 in Decatur
28 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 3 in Decatur
141 reviews
13.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Bluffton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 4 in Bluffton
19 reviews
18.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Van Wert
Comfort Inn Van Wert
#2 of 4 in Van Wert
41 reviews
22.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Fort Wayne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Decatur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Decatur

Property: Americas Best Value Inn Decatur
Address: 1033 N 13th St, Decatur, IN 46733-1001
Region: United States > Indiana > Decatur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Decatur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Decatur 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Decatur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Decatur Indiana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing