We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Highland, Indiana
1 review
“Best Hotel in the area”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This is not only the best casino hotel in the area but the best hotel in the area. The rooms are always clean and the beds are super comfortable. There is a huge soaking tub to get lost in for hours. The staff is friendly and willing to get whatever you need to make your stay comfortable (within reason, of course). I feel very safe in this hotel and casino even when traveling alone. I highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    80
    13
    7
    15
See reviews for
39
114
36
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dearborn Heights, MI
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This is a great place with upgraded room and good food. The staff is usually friendly and always acknowledge and smile. There was a glitch with check in this time, the person was rather rude and actually walked away and let a co worker finish check in without saying a word. The bellman can be rather pushy, otherwise great place and generous comps

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elvisfan1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
I'm so sorry to hear this. Your feedback certainly does not match the quality experience we want our guests to have while staying with us. We would like to follow up with you. If you send your contact information and details of your visit to Guest.Services@pnkmail.com, I will forward to the hotel management team for quality assurance training. Thank you for staying with us and we sure do look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I love staying here! I mostly come for the room, but sometimes play in the casino. Every time I come here I feel like I am rich! From the king sized beds to the modern upgrades in the rooms, it is always perfect and the staff always treat you so nice. If you need somewhere to escape, this is the place! They even have great views of Lake Michigan!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lavish_life_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beloit, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I have stay'd here many times and I absolutely LOVE the place. I believe they only have two smoking floors, 11 & 12. And the top floor 15 (high rollers and VIP reserved floor) I think is optional. I NEVER smell smoke when first entering a smoking room. They always smell fresh to me. The rooms are always VERY clean and well appointed. The picture reviews on this page truly do this property justice! Only CONS are the past few visits the wi-fi signal has been very weak and I depend on said for business connections when I am there. The other is that generally one HAS to book early as this place fills up FAST most of the time.

The food at the Buffet is EXCELLENT as far as I'm concerned. Well prepared, very tasty, and Beautifully Presented. They do not try to wow you w/ expensive cuts of meat or Flamboyant Over-the-Top Dishes that though might be "pretty" - never seem to taste right in a buffet setting. Instead they have GOOD, HARDY, TASTY food that makes you want to come back for more! Price? that is very reasonable too!

Casino? --
perhaps it is a little tighter than the other nearby local properties. But I win there enough to keep me playing there! And for the beautiful experience of staying and eating here, I do not mind giving them a little play.

Location? --
A little hard to get to until one learns their way around this heavily industrialized area of Lake Michigan.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REMnOKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thanks for being our guest and for sharing your experiences. We're so glad you enjoy your time at Ameristar and I'll definitely forward your compliments along to our staff. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

When winter weather shut down the interstates, travelers sought refuge and overbooked the local hotels. I had never thought of staying at a casino hotel before, but they were one of a few who had vacancies due to guests being unable to travel there. Parking and check-in was quick and without any problems, and my room was large and nicely appointed! The attention to housekeeping was superb, there weren't even any waterspots on the shower! The linens were clean and fresh. Temperature controls were within easy reach and reacted quickly to setting changes. (While I experienced no problems, one of the advantages of a casino hotel is that maintenance staff are available 24/7/365, whereas other hotels would have to wait to call an HVAC repairman.) While I did not gamble during my stay, I did walk around the casino, and noticed how clean it was and that the staff were pleasant and friendly.) I stayed long enough to eat 3 meals at the buffet and agree that it compares to anything I've had in Las Vegas. Wi-Fi connected effortlessly and was fast. Check-out was also effortless. All told, this was one of the best hotels that I've ever stayed at!

Room Tip: Rooms that face to the southeast have a nice view, rooms facing northwest overlook the marina and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hoosierhobbies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thanks for sharing your review and for being our guest! I’m glad you had a great time and I’ll be sure to pass your compliments along to our housekeeping team. We appreciate you posting your review and hope you can visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at this casino hotel. I was very frustrated in that we arrived at 4 p.m. check in time, got all the way to our room only to realize it was non-smoking. Back down to desk only to be told there were no clean smoking rooms that we would have to wait. So we checked our luggage with the bell boy. We returned 45 mins later and got our room, however the bell boy was not around. We had security page him but still took time. This just started our first visit off on the wrong foot. I have to say that our room was top notch and gorgeous. Every person at the front desk was very kind. I just felt like it was unfair to us to not have a room available until 5:30 p.m., we paid good money for this room as it was our first time to the casino.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank peace1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lemont, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
703 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Recently, visited the Ameristar Casino invited by a relative who is a regular. I had to write a review on their great buffet. Our party goes regularly, and is always telling us that it is the best in the area. Well, I can say we were very pleased with everything and I would compare it to the better buffets in Las Vegas. Prices are reasonable and everything was clean and tidy. The selections were fresh and a nice variety available. Distance from where we live is a bit far, but if you are near there or passing nearby, check it out.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandra n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago

Property: Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago
Address: 777 Ameristar Blvd, East Chicago, IN 46312-1806
Region: United States > Indiana > East Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago is a full-service luxury hotel that boasts a variety of amenities. Complimentary wireless internet In guest rooms and a 24-hour fitness center are available for guests to use throughout their stay. The 56,000-square-foot casino includes four spacious playing levels, with one of the largest selections of games in northwest Indiana. Ameristar East Chicago includes diverse selection of restaurants ranging from deli sandwiches to steaks and seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing