We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service terrible”

Boringdon Arms Inn Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Turnchapel
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Service terrible”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The staff are all young kids doing pocket money jobs and there is nobody overakll to take charge. Very poor

Visited July 2013
Thank mum5035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IntTravelGuide, Owner at Boringdon Arms Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Dear Mum5035

We are really concerned that you did not enjoy your visit to our pub. I must however point out that your comments are a little harsh and untrue. Our youngest service staff member is 18 with all other staff members over the age of 21. You have not described why the service was terrible. Did you have to wait for food or beverages? We value criticism as this keeps us on our toes and helps us improve service but if we are not given the facts, this cannot be achieved. As owners myself and my husband are always on site and at least one of us if not both are supervising during busy periods. I would welcome any feedback so that any issues can be addressed in the future.

Dylane Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just popped in for a drink”
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

We was down in the area on a diving tripod popped in for a quick drink.
Good service and good pint, price ok too.
Clean and tidy.
We sat outside at the back of the Pub great outside courtyard recommend this pub.

Visited June 2013
Thank DaveH801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“This place is an inn. Nothing fancy but good atmosphere”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stayed at the Boringdon Arms for two nights. Actually there is nothing that is too much trouble for the landlord/lady. No complaints on anything really beer choices are exceptional food is good basic pub food and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Advise ear plugs if there is a band playing if you want to go to bed before midnight, but better plan is to go back down and join the mayhem in the bar. Liked the location, one drawback is that there is no parking actually at the pub, but there is ample free parking in the imediate vicinity.
I would stay there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Farang123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Can't fault the breakfast - or the service :-)”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

You could have anything and it was all delicious and plentiful. Great value and lovely service.
The pub dog seems to have free access to the bar and seating areas but is comical in that she never came in the dining area - a well trained a likeable feature of this lovely pub.

Visited June 2013
Thank Den50008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth UK
Level Contributor
190 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A whole bunch of special ales and an excellent cow pie.”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Visited on a cold evening in April, and found the whole experience well warming. Cheerful but not overly effusive welcome and knowledgeable staff got us a number of special ales - some, like the chocolate flavored beer, rather too exotic for most tastes to be honest, but plenty to choose from for all palettes. The food was fabulous. Maybe there wasn't an entire cow in the cow pie (and it certainly wasn't horse I might add) but it amounted to a first rate and filling meal. The atmosphere is that of a really good local: plenty of regular customers, but who don't mind newcomers enjoying what they value.. Top marks all round.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eric_the_Bish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boringdon Arms Inn Restaurant also viewed


Been to Boringdon Arms Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing