We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boringdon Arms Inn Restaurant

Boringdon Arms Inn Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Turnchapel
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
1 review
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Lovely little pub, nice friendly people and a great food. The room was a little bit of a let down. Disappointing not to have an en suite, beds were not brilliant. Not ideal for a long stay, one or two nights is enough.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    7
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lost identity”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We used to visit the Borrie on a regular basis when out and about. Whilst with some family the other week I suggested we call in for a pint and a bite. I now know that the previous owner has left. I real shame as the pub has lost it's way along with its identity. Although the beer was good the food was average. It didn't start well when we enquired about the fish of the day from the menu to be told it was Cod. Is it not normall practice for every coastal pub to have cod on the menu. The meal sizes have reduced and far to much use of the deep fat frier and microwave. The owner needs to take a look at what had made the Borrie popular before... Good old fashioned home cooked food. Far to many conversations of change from the staff. We are losing good old English pubs and I fear this will be another one. Stick to the simple rules good food good service good beer. Sorry disappointing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fullup1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IntTravelGuide, Owner at Boringdon Arms Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Fullup1

Thank you for your review. I'm glad that you popped in as we have had the pub for over a year. The fish & chips (which is the ale battered fish) is cod, however we do have a 'fish of day' which varies weekly. If you asked our staff what our battered fish was they would have correctly told you, Cod. May I add that although the owners changed, the chef's are still the same and one of our chef's has now been with the Borrie for 20 years. All our meals are home cooked and we are renowned for our pies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

What a shame, our favourite pub in Plymouth where we always had an excellent pub meal is no longer what it was. We made a detour to revisit our favourite haunt to see how the new owners were doing. First impressions were a bit mixed, an excellent selection of beers (which would have been great if we just wanted a drink), but little atmosphere, where have all the locals gone?

The food, to be frank, was dire, one of the worst pub meals we have ever had. Maybe we were just unlucky, I guess we will never know as we won't be hurrying back, unless its just for a few pints.

So of you want a pub serving good beer, the Bori still wins. If you want to eat, then I'd
Look at going elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IntTravelGuide, Owner at Boringdon Arms Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
We thank you for your comments and glad that you enjoyed our ale selection. I am not sure when you visited our pub so it would be hard for me to comment on the situation. If you had informed us that your meal was not to your liking, we certainly would not have charged you for it, in the hope that you would return. We have many excellent reviews regarding our meals which is evident from the amount of repeat bookings we get from our locals and regular visitors.

Dylane Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Service terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

The staff are all young kids doing pocket money jobs and there is nobody overakll to take charge. Very poor

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mum5035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IntTravelGuide, Owner at Boringdon Arms Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Dear Mum5035

We are really concerned that you did not enjoy your visit to our pub. I must however point out that your comments are a little harsh and untrue. Our youngest service staff member is 18 with all other staff members over the age of 21. You have not described why the service was terrible. Did you have to wait for food or beverages? We value criticism as this keeps us on our toes and helps us improve service but if we are not given the facts, this cannot be achieved. As owners myself and my husband are always on site and at least one of us if not both are supervising during busy periods. I would welcome any feedback so that any issues can be addressed in the future.

Dylane Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just popped in for a drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

We was down in the area on a diving tripod popped in for a quick drink.
Good service and good pint, price ok too.
Clean and tidy.
We sat outside at the back of the Pub great outside courtyard recommend this pub.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaveH801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boringdon Arms Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Boringdon Arms Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing