We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay.”
other travellers have booked this property
The garden and hot tub
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The garden and hot tub
A view down the street - a mix of old and new The lounge area with patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
The garden and hot tub
A view down the street - a mix of old and new
The lounge area with patio
The kitchen comes well equipped and includes  dishwasher
The dining area- space for six
The  king sized bedroom with views of the Cattewater marina, the Hoe and Smeaton's Tower
The second bedroom  has two slim singles (which can be arranged as a king) with cliff face views.
The house is 50 metres from the waterfront and marina
The outside of the house
The open plan lounge/dining area/kitchen layout
The kitchen comes very well equipped
The king size bedroom showing large mirrored wardrobe
The south facing bedroom - this can be set up as a double bed too
The bathroom is new and very clean - it comes with separate shower cubicle and bath
Another view of the bathroom
The bathroom is stylish with LED lights and smart basin
The bathroom window has views of the marina if you wish
View from Jennycliff to Drakes Island in summer
Watersports from Mount Batten
Sunset from the pub door down the road
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Turnchapel, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dave R
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay.”
Reviewed 17 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This as a great base to stay for our trip to Plymouth. We found the house to be very clean, comfortable and well equipped. The nearby Clovelly Inn serves generously portioned meals and has a good choice of local ales.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2017
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelsmi...
Nederland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful spot”
Reviewed 8 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We enjoyed the house with its nice characteristics. The atmosphere of Turnchapel with its harbour and lovely pubs is really great to experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2017
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M
2 reviews
“Amazing place to stay...such a lovely home”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

If you're after a chilled and relaxing place to stay then look no further. Nina's home was perfect. Everything you need..a real home from home. Turnchapel was a great base and we travelled around visiting different places. Pubs in the village are friendly warm and accommodating. Seriously I couldn't recommend more. We'd chosen a brilliant place to unwind and Nina's lovely house made it even better..thanks!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2017
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicbuz
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic accommodation”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Accommodation was just as described, in a lovely quiet village of Plymouth. Stayed with my husband and three children one being a baby. The cottage had everything we needed, was clean and tidy and presented well. Car parking not far from cottage and local pubs where lovely, laundrette nearby. Plenty to do in the local area. Nina was extremely helpful and made our stay perfect. We will definitely be returning soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2017
Thanks!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puteecat
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stylish, modern home from home in a great location”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We loved this clean, beautiful, relaxing home ideally located for exploring Devon and Cornwall.

Everything you could need was kindly provided by the lovely Nina who we were lucky enough to meet. Plenty of extra special touches like the use of a hammock, towels, luxury hand soap and moisturiser, dressing gown in the wardrobe, plenty of hangers, coloured lights in the kitchen and little lights in the bathroom mirror at night. The beds were very comfortable too! Just what we needed after a day exploring.

The kitchen was a dream - so large and modern and the bathroom brand new with very elegant decor and design. We loved the colour scheme in the open lounge diner which was very comfortable and relaxing. Views from the front master bedroom and bathroom were great over to Plymouth Hoe and the Barbican. The back view was equally as lovely all green and lush from the garden with no worries about being overlooked.

The little village of Turnchapel is a delight with 2 lovely pubs to choose from if you fancied eating out. Excellent food and service in both. Although we had to park about 3 minutes walk away everyday from our front door it was as Nina described 'a very pleasant walk' through the village. Everyone we passed on our walk in the village was friendly saying hello or good morning etc.

There were 2 play parks for the children nearby as well as beaches, coastal walks, leisure centre, ferry over to The Barbican/ Plymouth Hoe and Cawsand.

We all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves in our holiday home and were sad to go but hope to be back again next year! Thank you Nina :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling of home from home
Liked least: Parking our car where we couldn't see it
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2017
Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BJS1948
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable cottage in nice village”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Stayed for 4 nights in this charming cottage in Turnchapel, the cottage is very clean and modern with excellent facilities, the bathroom and kitchen have recently been modernised and we found the king size bed to be extremely comfortable. Wifi connection is very good. No parking at the cottage but we found the local car parks in the village to be safe as most of the villagers parked their cars in them.
Nina the owner responds quickly to any queries.
Turnchapel is a nice village with 2 local pubs, local people are very friendly and will chat to you if you are out walking, plenty of nice walks around the area, the village is close to Plymouth, about 4 miles, we used the local bus which runs every 20 minutes to go into Plymouth.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2017
Many thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bourne
Reviewed 2 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern facilities - new kitchen & bathroom
Liked least: Rather low sofas for us oldies!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Mar 2017
Thanks!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;