We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Horseshoe Southern Indiana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Horseshoe Southern Indiana
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2007

Rooms were nice....Casino was clean. It was a very, very long walk from the rooms to the Casino but you can occasionally get a golf cart ride if you cannot walk the distance and there are moving walkways. Machines were tight and didn't pay out. Nice hotel gift shop. The Cesear shops were fun to look through. The $10.00 shop was a huge hit. You can choose from room service, a buffet, a couple sit down restaurants and there are a couple cafe's/coffee shops. Nice pool and hot tub with outdoor patio.

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lisab21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,505
    1,037
    494
    186
    109
See reviews for
684
1,393
405
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (784)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2006

Stayed here in December 2006 on a comped double/double room with my parents (in their 60's), who are the gamblers in the family.

We enjoyed this upscale hotel with comfy pillowtop mattresses and awesome feather pillows. The beds were double-sheeted. The room was smallish, but the bathroom was large and had the toilet area separated from the rest of the bathroom. The tv had a poor selection of channels (they want you to go to the casino!). There was no wireless internet access in rooms; wired access was $10.99/day (poor value — again, they want you in the casino). The indoor pool is located on ground level. There is a nice mile-long walking/jogging/exercise trail out back. The lobby has small coffee shop/bar, gift shop, and exercise room. There is an indoor shuttle from hotel to casino if you’d rather not walk (limited hours). The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Check-in was quick and easy. Some rooms have a casino/river view (probably not that scenic), and the rest face the hill and field behind the hotel.

My parents did enjoy the slot machines, although they complained that the slots were tight and lost a little money. (They pride themselves on usually coming away at least a little ahead).

The three of us had one quick and easy dinner in the casino snack bar where my mother and I enjoyed the grilled chicken wraps. They were large and tasty and we thought they were a good value for the portion size.

Breakfast the next morning was a comped buffet, so I'm not sure of the cost. We liked that the beverages were included with the buffet and got huge glasses of orange juice and chocolate milk to go with it. We also got bottled tomato juice, and coffee, and were pleased with the beverage service. The breakfast buffet had a lot of variety including an omlette bar (however there was only one station so there was a bit of a line).

This hotel is located outside out Louisville, so I’d say it’s not a good option if you’re attending events in town. But for a weekend getaway or a casino getaway, it’s nice.

  • Liked — The beds were great, loved the pillows.
  • Disliked — I was working in the room while my parents gambled, so I wanted a better selection of TV channels and free or cheap Internet access.
  • Tips/Secrets — Earn points while gambling to get comped rooms in the future.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Rae A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CINCINNATI OHIO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2006

caesars if indiana may have seen me for the last time

their slots are so tightt- one other trip advisor member said that their casino is for morons, i think i do agree now

you only see jackpots in the high roller

why dont they give you a chance if youre willing to play good money???

im going to Argosy and try the new French Lick

that will probably put Caesars out of business

  • Disliked — hotel is fine
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank LUCKYMAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2006

I took my 84 year old dad for the 4th of July weekend, and it was the worst trip we have ever had. The casino has to be a mile away from the hotel, and a shuttle is available only on weekends and not past 8 P.M. How do you enjoy yourself when it takes 30 minutes to get to the casino from the hotel, and then when you do get to the casino- you lose everything! I have never been to such a tight casino, and I have been to at least 30 different ones in the past couple of years. I will never go back, and I will advise all my friends to go anywhere but there!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2006

all though i never stayed there at the hotel i did do many many evenings gamming there, its my opinion its way better than any casino ive been to.its clean exciting, but there has been problems with some of the gamming employees, but as a whole it was way better than belterra and grand vic toria the slots were way looser ,then they, like bel terra and grand victoria tightened up the slots, i think ya cant get a dime from any of them without a blow torch ha ha, its true. the dealers at caesars were say not too honest but better than some at bel terra, personally im glad they sold out. the restaurants were great ,great service great food, great shops, great entertainment, its sad that caesars would hire people that wouldnt game right.sad realy. but as a whole its one of the better casinos .

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2006

Stayed at Caesars Indiana this past weekend. The hotel was ok, clean rooms and decent staff. The price we paid was a little more than I will pay again. For an average of $150 a night, you should get something more. However, there are not any other places to stay within 8-10 miles of this place, so its a supply and demand thing. At the Casino, there were no tables (BJ or Craps) under $10 bucks, which I thought was a little high, even for the weekend. I mean if your in Vegas, you can find a $5 craps game. That is the big thing to remember, THIS IS NOT VEGAS. If that is what your expecting then you will be disappointed. I would prefer to save $$$ and head to Vegas once or 2 times a year than go to this place, but I had to attend this past weekend. I did enjoy the Poker room, it was a good place to play for someone who has not played in a Casino before. All in all the dealers were friendly and I had a good time.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hakechrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2006

Hey.......you're likely a gambler to stay here. we got a great deal on room rates....3 days (wed-fri) for $120. a little removed from the city. yes the walls are paper thin...but are you a voyouer? 3rd year in a row we've vacationed here in conjunction with Churchill Downs events. Casino very liberal with their comps. very nice get-a-way. OK...it's not the Le Meredian in Budapest, but nice for a river town. We'll be back again next year.

signed

HORSEPICKER

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,737 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#26 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Louisville
#51 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horseshoe Southern Indiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Southern Indiana

Property: Horseshoe Southern Indiana
Address: 11999 Casino Center Drive SE, Elizabeth, IN 47117 (Formerly Caesars Indiana Casino Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Horseshoe Southern Indiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Horseshoe Southern Indiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Southern Indiana Hotel Elizabeth
Horseshoe Southern Indiana Elizabeth
Caesars Indiana Hotel
Caesars Indiana Casino
Caesars In Casino
Elizabeth Indiana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing